We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic - Oasis!”
Review of Crewe Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crewe Hall
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Crewe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed for one night on a business trip. This beautiful hotel was an oasis of tranquility in the midst of a busy city. Fabulous, sumptuous surroundings, great room, wonderful restaurant and the staff were very pleasant, efficient, friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandraSStAndrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CreweHallOps, Manager at Crewe Hall, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Dear SandraSStAndrews,
Thank you for your review. I'm really pleased that you enjoyed your recent business trip to Crewe Hall and hope that should you be in the area again you will consider a return visit.
Kind regards
Martin Heap
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,254)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,533 - 1,539 of 2,254 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2013

We planned to stay just one night at the Crewe Hall Hotel but liked it so much we stayed an extra night. We booked a feature room with a four poster bed and it was fabulous. Super high ceiling with a lovely bathroom. The old part of the hotel is stunning as is the drive in to the hotel very impressive. Food in the hotel is very reasonable you get an allowance if you get the DBB deal very nice and service excellent. Had a nice treatment in the spa too. Would definitely go back there . Also a trip to Chester is a must if you have not been you can do a full walk around the Roman Walls for free takes about 45mins.

Room Tip: The rooms in the old part are well worth having.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank curtbrooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CreweHallOps, Manager at Crewe Hall, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Dear curtbrooke,
Thank you for you lovely review. I'm delighted that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and I very much look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards
Martin Heap
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I visited Crewe Hall for a Spa day with my friend, it was 2 for £99 and I have to say it was brilliant. We both had a treatment which lasted an hour, my friend a full body massage and me a facial. Both treatments were fabulous and a real treat. We had use of the facilities all day and a 2 course lunch in the Brasserie which was lovely. We also explored the hotel, which is a fantastic old building with a small chapel located near the main reception. We had a latte in the lounge where afternoon tea was being served and this again looked fabulous and if we hadn't eaten lunch we would have tried that experience too. I booked the day directly with the hotel and it was really good value for money. We have both already told our other friends and we intend to go back again soon.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Car J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CreweHallOps, Manager at Crewe Hall, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Dear Car J,
Thank you for taking the time to review Crewe Hall. I'm really pleased that you both enjoyed your spa day experience with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards
Martin Heap
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This hotel was booked due to a wedding invite, and wanting to stay over.
Because of the wedding, we got a discount on the room rate. Two 'Q' rooms were promptly booked for my son and myself.
The rooms were lovely and roomy. Mum had already booked and stayed in (I'm guessing) a standard or deluxe room which was also lovely.
The bathroom in the 'Q' room was nice and roomy. Two sinks, a Walk in shower and separate bath.
There was a nice seating area. We were also informed that the hospitality tray was complimentary, as was the mini bar. Te hospitality tray consisted of the usual tea/coffee and a jar of nuts!
The mini bar had a bottle of beer, a bottle of wine and a couple of bottles of water. It's the thought that counts I guess. And the morning paper was complimentary too.
The modern part of the hotel is more appealing to me that the old, but I'm sure that to a lot of people the character of the old hall would be a draw.
This is close to where I live, so probably wouldn't stay again. But I would recommend it to anyone that is visiting.

Room Tip: 'Q' rooms are a little more expensive, but I felt worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CreweHallOps, Manager at Crewe Hall, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Dear JayneF,
I'm really pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and found our Q Star bedroom to meet with your expectation. I appreciate that you live locally and may not return but please do consider staying at one of Q Hotels other properties in the future.
Kind regards
Martin Heap
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We recently stayed at this beautiful listed building. Wow factor!
Upon arrival we were greeted by the best receptionist ever. More than helpful and willing to make our stay enjoyable and stress free!
We had a superb lunch in the brassiere which was value for money and very tasty.
We decided to go for a swim before our spa treatment.
The towels we were offered were tatty and not worthy of being used on my dog!
It may also have been a nice option if we were offered the robes at this point, so we didnt have to keep getting dressed and removing our clothes for the spa.
The robes we were offered were also looking a little tired and should be upgraded!
Evening dinner, we had high expectations. A gentleman now known as David Hutchings, manager kept refilling our glasses with wine and placing bottles of water on our table. A nice gesture until we left the restaurant and was not allowed to leave the bar area until we settled our account immediately. Shock horror! Awful service, so embarrassing and intimidating!
Once again Sunday morning, once we had checked out the staff were rude and not very accommodating! We were waiting to be picked up and had no where to sit and wait as they were setting up the lounge room for tea. Not welcome as we were not planning on staying!
Beautiful venue, but the staff really need to work on customer service.
We are not criminals but paying guests! Without us you have no job!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shanny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CreweHallOps, Manager at Crewe Hall, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Dear sharon g,
Thank you for your review.
Whilst pleased that you enjoyed the setting of Crewe Hall I am most disappointed and alarmed to read your comments with regards to the friendliness of our staff. We pride ourselves on looking after all our guests and I can only apologise if, on this occasion, we have failed to deliver to our high customer care levels.
Kind regards
Martin Heap
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We were excited to go to Crewe Hall and see the hotel. We had a 'Feature Room' which came with a four poster bed and was excellent however there was an issue with noise and the hotel kindly offered to move us to a suite which was also excellent.

The main hotel had a lot of character and retained/restored a lot of the jacobean style. While there we used the Spa which was good however the spa complex and restaurant, bar etc are all in a modern annex which did not fit the style of the main hotel at all. The pool and jacuzzi facilities are relatively small but steam and sauna rooms were nice.

The restaurant was very much a business hotel type style and did not fit the hotel style. We felt like we were on a business trip which was disappointing. We would have loved to have a restaurant in the main hotel in the original style.

So overall it was a great place - almost.

Room Tip: Stay in the main (old) hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CreweHallOps, Manager at Crewe Hall, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Dear jim4minal,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
Whilst pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us I am disappointed that you found the modern extension out of kilter with the rest of Crewe Hall. We are trialling a monthly opening of our fine dining Ranulph restaurant which is located within the Old Hall. Please do refer to our website for more details and maybe on your next visit we will have the pleasure of serving you in the original building.
Kind regards
Martin Heap
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We held our wedding reception at Crewe Hall in April 2013 and could not have asked or planned it any better than the day went, not only was the weather perfect but the day ran smoothly without a htich as well. Food wise we had a number of dietary requirements from some of our guest and again these were dealt with perfectly and without problems. The evening reception food was plentiful and with many people saying how nice the building, staff and the day was. we stayed over in the tower suite with a number of guests sating over in the newer part of the hotel and our room was amazing with views to die for and all of our guests enjoyed their stay and breakfast the next morning we would definaltey reccomend this venue to any of our friends or family

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gareth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CreweHallOps, Manager at Crewe Hall, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Dear Gareth S,
Congratulations on your recent wedding. I'm really pleased that you and your guests thoroughly enjoyed the occasion and very much hope you look back on the day with great memories. I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back when you celebrate your first anniversary if not sooner!!
Kind regards
Martin Heap
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crewe
4.7 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
18.4 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
1,636 reviews
22.4 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
De Vere Cranage Estate
17.0 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
4,134 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Hunters Lodge
The Hunters Lodge
#3 of 9 in Crewe
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crewe Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crewe Hall

Address: Crewe Hall Weston Road, Crewe CW1 6UZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Crewe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Crewe
Price Range: $116 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crewe Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A superb 17th century hotel located in Crewe in Cheshire. This Grade I listed building has been attracting refined guests since the 17th century, including our current monarch Queen Elizabeth II. This hotel is a fine mix of historic Jacobean and sharp 21st century architecture. The magnificent history oozes throughout the hotel from exquisite marble fireplaces to stained glass windows. Yet the contemporary edge of Crewe Hall can be found throughout the hotel from the revolving bar in the brasserie to the state-of-the-art leisure club. The hotel has 117 spacious, comfortable bedrooms, some are located in the historic old building but majority can be found in the new contemporary wing. Just minutes from the M6 motorway, Crewe Hall is only 24 miles from Chester’s sights and shops and close to Liverpool and Manchester.Crewe Hall is home to a modern conference and events centre. It is very impressive with both it's facilities and service that we offer you. Modern facilities, free Wi-Fi, extensive grounds and a meetings package that gives you total piece of mind, whether you’re brainstorming with the team or delivering an important message, Crewe Hall makes meetings easy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crewe Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crewe Hall Hotel Crewe
Hall Hotel Crewe
Crewe Hall England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing