We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic building and architecture, not so fabulous service”
Review of Crewe Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crewe Hall
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Crewe
Certificate of Excellence
Accrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic building and architecture, not so fabulous service”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Booked a one night stay as a surprise for my husbands 50th birthday along with 4 other family members and as we approached along the driveway we were most impressed with the hotel, its a stunning building with beautiful gardens. Stayed in a four poster room which was very nice but a little bit tired, especially the bathroom which was outdated to say the least. Went down to the bar area to wait for the other family members and we were surprised at how small it was, very limited seating area for such a large hotel. We ordered champagne and sat outside to the front of the hotel which was lovely however the waiting-on staff werent particularly helpful or polite. We ordered lunch and were told by the waitress that she didnt think that our food would be served outside because they werent supposed to do that and that we would have to go inside to collect it when it was ready? On questioning this (considering the price we had paid for this stay) she said she would make an exception.......? The young barman could have done with breaking out into a smile now and then, made us feel that we were keeping him from being elsewhere, not very welcoming and the drinks prices were expensive to say the least. Had booked a table for dinner which I have to say was delicious, the dining room was more like a cafe though, tables far too close to each other and the room lacked atmosphere, not warm and welcoming or romantic in any way. After the meal at around 10pm we went back to the bar area only to find it closed and with no staff in sight so we sat in the corridor and waited, after 20 minutes we were told that there was a wedding party on that night and that they were very busy, hence the reason for the bar being closed which we found astonishing, surely there should be adequate staff to cover all areas of the hotel at all times? We were told to order drinks at reception and wait in the afternoon tea lounge which we did and our drinks were brought to us some 30 minutes later. This room is a beautiful example of the history and architecture of the hall and in my opinion should be used as the dining room instead of the cold, characterless one where we had just eaten. Breakfast the following morning was good but once again the service was disappointing. I had to ask the stern looking waitress for coffee 3 times, our family members on another table had finished their food before I'd even had a brew! On checking out, we were given the final bill which seemed quite steep and when I asked the receptionist to double check it I was told that there had been a mistake and we had been charged for 6 evening meals even though I had paid up front when I made the reservation however this was swiftly corrected. All in all, Crewe Hall is a magnificent hotel with stunning features and beautiful gardens but I doubt very much that we would stay there again. Although we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves, we have stayed in other 4 star hotels that have provided exceptional, first class service and considering that we paid just under £1000 for a one night stay, I feel it should be a 3 star at the most.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerryjane104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CreweHallOps, Manager at Crewe Hall, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear kerryjane104,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am really sorry and most disappointed to read the issues you encountered with regards to the service levels experienced. We have a great team at Crewe Hall and really pride ourselves on the high levels of service we provide. I can assure you that your feedback will be discussed with our departmental managers in due course so that they may further investigate and put right the shortfalls you have encountered. I do hope your experience will not deter you from using Q Hotels in the future.
Kind regards
Martin Heap
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,114
    587
    233
    119
    67
See reviews for
336
847
29
335
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (458)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
warwickshire
Level Contributor
83 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed for the third time in a year and enjoyed our stay. We found our room to be lovely and clean as usual. We stayed in the new wing which is situated conviently for the gym and spa and also the brassiere.

The food was lovely, staff friendly, we will return again. We have joined the breakaway club and booked to stay at the hotel in York at the end of this month.

Room Tip: we like the NEW NEW rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susan1warwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CreweHallOps, Manager at Crewe Hall, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear susan1warwickshire,
Welcome back. I'm really pleased that you are becoming a regular visitor to Crewe Hall and that you have joined the Q Hotels breakaway club. I hope you had a great stay in York and I very much look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards
Martin Heap
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a two night stay. Had a lovely time. Very relaxing. Enjoyed the pool and leisure facilities. Didn't think the experience shower was an experience just a normal shower with fancy lighting! We ate in the brasserie both evenings food delicious. Service seemed a little slow both evenings but didn't mind as we were in no rush. The only down side to the stay was the breakfast. Although what we had was very nice the choice seemed a little limited in the continental section. I asked what yogurts flavours were available and all that was offered was a bowl of natural yogurt. The selection of fruit was ok, but didn't seem a lot there. I could only see a choice of two juices and little choice of pastries. A couple sitting nearby had to ask three times for coffee before it was brought to their table. I am probably being critical as we stayed in a premier inn only two weeks ago and the breakfast was definitely a higher standard. Overall had a good time and would go back.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kat091078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CreweHallOps, Manager at Crewe Hall, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Kat091078,
Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Crewe Hall. Whilst pleased that you enjoyed your overall stay I am really sorry that you found breakfast to be a disappointment. As part of Q Hotels we adhere to a standardised breakfast offering to achieve consistency across the company. Your feedback will be shared with our Head Chef so that he may further investigate your comments. I do hope this issue will not deter you from visiting Crewe Hall in the future and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards
Martin Heap
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stay here a lot and it's always fantastic. Staff cannot do enough to help you and it does make a difference. Staff have become friends which says a lot about the hotel. Even when the chefs and waiting staff had problems with the grill room, they pulled out all the stops and it made no difference to the quality of our meals. Well done everyone!

Room Tip: They are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phyll F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CreweHallOps, Manager at Crewe Hall, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Phyll F,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
I'm delighted that you continuously enjoy your visits to Crewe Hall. Whilst it was not ideal having to operate our kitchen from another area of the hotel I am really pleased with how the team worked together and that it did not affect our guests in anyway. I look forward to welcoming you back to Crewe Hall soon.
Kind regards
Martin Heap
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

I will always be biased to my first stay here, but the second didn't disappoint either! If was bonfire night so after visiting a local bonfire there were fireworks at the hotel which were lovely too! I was a but disappointed we wanted to eat at the restaurant, which we were told we could go up until 10pm but were turned away at 9pm which meant we had to get room service!! The food was lovely though, to be fair. The rooms are lovely and clean very spacious and quiet. The breakfast was one of the nicest I've had, there was such a large choice, cooked breakfast, cereals fruit and pastries available offering fantastic value for money. Would recommend it to other friends and lived it all!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barney1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CreweHallOps, Manager at Crewe Hall, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Barney1985,
Thank you for your review and welcome back.
I'm really pleased that you enjoyed your second visit to Crewe Hall. I am sorry that we were unable to accommodate you in our Brasserie restaurant at 9.00pm. This was due to the large number of bookings we already had however I am pleased that you enjoyed your room service. I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Crewe Hall soon.
Kind regards
Martin Heap
Operations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

From the minute you drive through the gates of Crewe Hall you know it's something special. We came to stay for 2 nights over Easter and from the moment of stepping out of the car I knew we were in for a treat. Stepping through the doors you enter the most spectacular reception area, truly beautiful.
Check-in was fast, efficient and very friendly (James was the gentleman who check us in). We were in a room in the newer pasrt of the hotel but this is no less stunning we were in room 4203 and over looked the sculptures in the garen area - it was lovely & quiet. It took us a little while to get our barrings but the wrong turns just added to the exploration factor this hotel has to offer!
There is just a lovely feel to this hotel and the staff are welcoming and helpful nothing is a problem for them and everything is done with a smile.
The restaurant is well staffed and the food is deliciuous, the menu is limited but for me this is better as then i'm not struggling to decide. The bar area is very modern and even has a revolving bar (it was not switched on which we were a little dissapointed with but that is just becasue we are big kids).
We decided on our first night to have a drink in the other bar in the hotel which is next to the reception area which I believe they serve high tea in most days - this is a stunning wood carved room with another grand fireplace and lovely high ceilings it did have a romantic feel to it - so much so that my boyfriend proposed whilst we were in there (I said Yes!).
Chester & Chester Zoo are about 30 minutes in the car which is where we headed the next day I would say it is worth a trip.
We didn't experience the spa or pool facilities (maybe next time)
If you are looking for a romantic hotel with lots to offer then this is the hotel to choose, we will be back again (maybe even for our nuptials!)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sel_Bol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CreweHallOps, Manager at Crewe Hall, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Sel_Bol,
Thank you for taking the time to review Crewe Hall and CONGRATULATIONS on your recent wedding proposal. I'm delighted that you loved your stay with us and that you got to explore around our original building. Crewe Hall is a stunning venue for any occasion and we are only a phone call away should you wish to discuss wedding plans!!!
I look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards
Martin Heap
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

The driveway leading to Crewe Hall is amazing, as is the reception area and historic rooms off of the reception. Staff and food are first class. We had an upgrade to a four poster room which was worth every penny.
However, unlike other Qhotels we have stayed in, there is no relaxing bar/lounge for a pre-dinner or indeed coffee after dinner. The restaurant is more cafe/bistro which is quite brightly lit and tables within a foot of the next one. No romance or privacy at all! Wine list is very limited (unlike other Qhotels) and expensive. I can however recommend the carafe of Rioja - as long as you don't want a whole bottle! It is very moreish.
The modern side of the hotel is not quite so stunning and doesn't fit in with the history of the original Hall. The restaurant is in the modern side which you access through a cold glass corridor. I believe the spa is also in that direction. We wouldn't stay again but we had a great time. I think more an excellent 3 star hotel than a four star - the standard of towels was appalling! All bounce, whitness and pile had been obliterated long ago which was such a shame. The bathrobes however were lovely.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a four poster but the ground floor corridor can be very noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hampshirehog22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CreweHallOps, Manager at Crewe Hall, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear hampshirehog22,
Thank you for your review.
Whilst pleased that you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed one of our feature bedrooms I am really sorry that you did not find our Sheridan Lounge from which to enjoy an aperitif or after dinner drink. Our Sheridan Lounge is open daily from 6pm for our guests to relax and enjoy a beverage before partaking in their evening plans.
Your comments about the towels have been shared with our executive housekeeper who will monitor the quality and cleanliness from our linen company.
I do hope you will return to Crewe Hall in the future.
Kind regards
Martin Heap
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crewe
18.4 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
1,516 reviews
4.7 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
19.1 mi away
The Park Royal
The Park Royal
#1 of 3 in Stretton
1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
8.9 mi away
De Vere Cranage Estate
18.9 mi away
Rowton Hall Hotel
Rowton Hall Hotel
#5 of 44 in Chester
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crewe Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crewe Hall

Property: Crewe Hall
Address: Crewe Hall Weston Road, Crewe CW1 6UA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Crewe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Crewe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crewe Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A superb 17th century hotel located in Crewe in Cheshire. This Grade I listed building has been attracting refined guests since the 17th century, including our current monarch Queen Elizabeth II. This hotel is a fine mix of historic Jacobean and sharp 21st century architecture. The magnificent history oozes throughout the hotel from exquisite marble fireplaces to stained glass windows. Yet the contemporary edge of Crewe Hall can be found throughout the hotel from the revolving bar in the brasserie to the state-of-the-art leisure club. The hotel has 117 spacious, comfortable bedrooms, some are located in the historic old building but majority can be found in the new contemporary wing. Just minutes from the M6 motorway, Crewe Hall is only 24 miles from Chester’s sights and shops and close to Liverpool and Manchester.Crewe Hall is home to a modern conference and events centre. It is very impressive with both it's facilities and service that we offer you. Modern facilities, free Wi-Fi, extensive grounds and a meetings package that gives you total piece of mind, whether you’re brainstorming with the team or delivering an important message, Crewe Hall makes meetings easy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Crewe Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crewe Hall Hotel Crewe
Hall Hotel Crewe
Crewe Hall England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing