We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fit for Royalty”
Review of Crewe Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crewe Hall
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Crewe
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Austria
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fit for Royalty”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

It is like entering a different world when you come up the driveway. This is a Manor House, and unless you knew already, you would not think that this was a hotel. While your suitcases are taken to the room, you are already being informed about specific details of the house; in general, all personnel is well informed, and obviously very proud of the place.
The room (3109) turned out to be Victorian style, with ample space, and period furniture - even with a four-poster bed.
The house also has a chapel with delightful stained-glass windows. The tea room to the right of the entrance is of special beauty, and the Library was a splendid location for our formal conference dinner - compliments to the chef!
The conference area is located in the new complex west of the original building (although I assume that also period rooms will serve as conference rooms, depending on the size of the meeting). The farthest structure to the west also houses the restaurant and bar area - stop before you reach Wales! Buffet breakfast and meals offer a great choice of superb food.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lykos1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CreweHallOps, Manager at Crewe Hall, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Lykos1,
Thank you for taking the time to review Crewe Hall.
I'm delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and had the opportunity to explore our wonderful hotel. Our team have a genuine pride to showcase the hotel in the best possible way and will always take the time to show our guests around the historic original hall should they wish.
I do hope based on your experience you will visit Crewe Hall again in the future and I very much look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards
Martin Heap
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,133
    595
    240
    120
    69
See reviews for
342
861
30
340
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (463)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Crewe Hall. What can I say? It has it all. Booked a last minute relaxing break recently with friends. The approach to this hotel is magnificent. A Jacobean Mansion House at the end of a long driveway. The reception area is the most magnificent I have ever seen. Steeped in medieval history the detail is stunning. To the rear of this grand reception area , is a beautiful preserved chapel. The hotel not only has accommodation in the original building, but has more modern rooms in a newer addition to the hotel, linked by a glass corridor.
Staff in all areas were friendly and helpful. Food in the hotel is good with an excellent choice both at evening and at breakfast- time. A revolving bar is an unusual feature in the brasserie. A more formal drinks experience with waiter service, is available in the original part of the hotel. Leisure facilities were fine. Enjoyed our time relaxing in the jacuzzi, swimming pool, steam room and sauna. Not crowded even on a weekend day.
The outside grounds were beautiful. The details on the old building were just awesome. Fabulous photograph shots. Woke up one morning to snow covered gardens, really picturesque.
Perhaps the only negative, was a minor problem with loud noise that woke many residents very early on Sunday morning, apparently from a large party of people staying in the newer part of the hotel. The other days were quiet. This would not detract from staying again. Can't wait.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ella020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CreweHallOps, Manager at Crewe Hall, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear ella020,
Thank you for taking the time to review Crewe Hall. I'm delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and had the opportunity to explore Crewe Hall and the wonderful architecture it offers. I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards
Martin Heap
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I was in this hotel for a conference and stayed in the old part of the hotel--which is a misnomer. I stayed in the original part of Crewe Hall...a historical building that has been turned into a hotel. It is a great place to stay, have a conference, high tea or a wedding. the staff is quite efficient and the Welsh gentleman at the door--and all over it seems--deserves a great pat on the back for his friendliness and genuine concern and assistance. I can highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the original part of crewe Hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JWehrle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CreweHallOps, Manager at Crewe Hall, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear JWehrle,
Thank you for your review.
We are very proud of Crewe Hall and do our upmost to maintain the building to its original condition. I'm pleased that you enjoyed staying in the original building. I will be sharing your feedback with Gwill in due course who is a great asset to the hotel and has a natural caring nature to ensure all our guests are looked after.
Kind regards
Martin Heap
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

The old part of this hotel is lovely to explore and view. Staff where welcoming and friendly. We (family of four) where given two rooms in the new part of the hotel which is some distance from front car park. Room was normal modern hotel room. It was quite during night so sleep quality was fine.We decided to go for a swim before dinner to find the pool was a long way from the rooms. Pool is run by outside company so hotel guests have complementary use. So not a relaxing swim as there are too many people using pool, and lanes shut of for training.Spa is only big enough for two at a time so no use of that as wait would be too long. We dined in hotel dining room to save driving out for dinner, and the meal was excellent full marks to the chef.Wait staff where attentive and friendly. Breakfast was fine. Summing up I would stay here again, but not bother with pool/spa.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynn123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CreweHallOps, Manager at Crewe Hall, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear lynn123456789,
Thank you for reviewing Crewe Hall. Although I'm pleased that you enjoyed your overall stay with us I am sorry that you found our swimming pool to be busy. The leisure club at Crewe Hall is open to all our residents on a complimentary basis as well as to our leisure club members. Whilst our facility has been built to accommodate large numbers we do sometimes find that the pool does get busy over a weekend when lots of our guests with children want to take advantage of the great facilities we have. I have shared your feedback with our leisure club manager and have asked him to monitor the entry levels for the pool to help ease congestion. I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Crewe Hall soon.
Kind regards
Martin Heap
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent
2 reviews
Reviewed March 12, 2013

My wife and I attended a conference last weekend. The rooms and especially the staff were first class. The gallery and the chapel are particularly striking.

We asked for a particular newspaper to be delivered on both mornings of our stay. On the first morning it was not at our door. (another guest may have helped themselves), Reception, after offering their normal complimentary paper then organised for a member of staff to pick up a copy of our requested paper and it was delivered to our room with no charge - that is service!

Our only complaint was about the lack of a lounge. My wife was not a delegate to the conference and together with a number of other non-delegates had nowhere to sit and talk, apart from a very cold corridor in the conference centre. The main lounge in the hotel would have been ideal, but it was unavailable as it was being prepared and then used for afternoon teas. The coffee lounge was not a companiable space for sitting, talking, knitting etc.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CraneFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CreweHallOps, Manager at Crewe Hall, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear CraneFlyer,
Thank you for reviewing Crewe Hall following your recent attendance at the TATOC conference. I'm really pleased that our team looked after you well and that we got you the newspaper that you requested. Crewe Hall has plenty of meeting room space and should TATOC be returning in 2014 then we will definitely be able to convert some of these rooms into lounge areas so that delegate partners have somewhere to relax as the corridor is definitely not ideal. I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards
Martin Heap
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Last weekend (March7-10) I attended a conference at Crewe Hall, The event was made particularly enjoyable due to the excellence of this hotel. Facilities etc were all good; but the overwhelming satisfaction factor was the quality and excellence of staff.

From a brilliant reception through to bar/restaurant service and room attention my stay was a delightful experience and would recommend the property for both business and pleasure guests.

Thanks you Crewe Hall for making a good weekend great.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CreweHallOps, Manager at Crewe Hall, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Colin C,
I'm absolutely thrilled to read your review, especially with your mention about the quality of our employees and service. Our team has a natural desire to look after our guests and they will always seek to go above and beyond our guests expectations. I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Crewe Hall soon and do hope we have the opportunity to welcome the TATOC conference back in 2014.
Kind regards
Martin Heap
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I spent our first wedding anniversary here and had a fabulous weekend. We mentioned to the hotel in advance that we were celebrating and the hotel arranged some lovely celebratory touches for us during our stay which made us feel extra special. The original part of the house is stunning and we thoroughly enjoyed exploring the diff rooms and the grounds.
We opted to stay in the new part of the hotel as had read they were nice and quiet and we certainly weren't disappointed - we couldn't hear anything from our room and we had two really peaceful nights sleep. I had a lovely spa treatment while I was there and the spa facilities were nice, although the pool was a bit more set up for sport than relaxation.
The brasserie food was nice, service was a little slow and the setting could have been a bit more atmospheric but was nice nevertheless. We also ate at a local pub called the crown which I would thoroughly recommend.
The service we received from the hotel staff was faultless and they couldn't do enough for us and were extremely friendly which ensured we had a really positive experience.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yasmineb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CreweHallOps, Manager at Crewe Hall, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear yasmineb,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
Congratulations on your first wedding anniversary and thank you for choosing to spend it at Crewe Hall. I'm really pleased that you had a lovely time with us and that the team looked after you well. Our Brasserie restaurant will be benefiting from a soft refurbishment later on in 2013 and I hope that these works will have been completed ready for your next visit to us.
Kind regards
Martin Heap
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crewe
18.4 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
1,537 reviews
4.7 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
19.1 mi away
The Park Royal
The Park Royal
#1 of 3 in Stretton
1,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
8.9 mi away
De Vere Cranage Estate
2.1 mi away
Wychwood Park Hotel
Wychwood Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Weston
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crewe Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crewe Hall

Property: Crewe Hall
Address: Crewe Hall Weston Road, Crewe CW1 6UZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Crewe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Crewe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crewe Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A superb 17th century hotel located in Crewe in Cheshire. This Grade I listed building has been attracting refined guests since the 17th century, including our current monarch Queen Elizabeth II. This hotel is a fine mix of historic Jacobean and sharp 21st century architecture. The magnificent history oozes throughout the hotel from exquisite marble fireplaces to stained glass windows. Yet the contemporary edge of Crewe Hall can be found throughout the hotel from the revolving bar in the brasserie to the state-of-the-art leisure club. The hotel has 117 spacious, comfortable bedrooms, some are located in the historic old building but majority can be found in the new contemporary wing. Just minutes from the M6 motorway, Crewe Hall is only 24 miles from Chester’s sights and shops and close to Liverpool and Manchester.Crewe Hall is home to a modern conference and events centre. It is very impressive with both it's facilities and service that we offer you. Modern facilities, free Wi-Fi, extensive grounds and a meetings package that gives you total piece of mind, whether you’re brainstorming with the team or delivering an important message, Crewe Hall makes meetings easy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Crewe Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crewe Hall Hotel Crewe
Hall Hotel Crewe
Crewe Hall England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing