We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every way possible. Very satisfied !!!!”
Review of Crewe Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crewe Hall
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Crewe
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Perfect in every way possible. Very satisfied !!!!”
Reviewed November 22, 2011

had an amazing stay here, would definetly recommend and certainly revisit in the future, food was completly perfect, we didnt have one concern throughout the whole of our stay, staff was very freindly and helpful. look forward to returning. thanks

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chill64633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartLouwerse, General Manager at Crewe Hall, responded to this review, December 15, 2011
Dear Chill64633,

Thank you for your review on your recent stay at Crewe Hall.

It was great to hear that you didn't have any concerns throughout your stay and that you would recommend the hotel to others.

As always we look forward to your return to Crewe Hall very soon.

Best regards

Mart Louwerse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,144
    599
    242
    122
    69
See reviews for
343
875
30
341
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (469)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Booked this hotel after seeing the description on web site for 2 nights d.b. and b. hoping for a relaxing stay.
On arriving saw beautiful old hall but it didn't take long to realise thats all there was to this hotel.The staff in reception were very sharp certainly not welcoming. I'd asked for a room in the hall after reading on tripadviser that the extension was not very nice. Told we were booked in the new part, we looked at the room, nothing special so asked again at reception if there was a room in the old hall.Requested a king size bed, told the rooms were all 'standard double'. Looked at two, quite nice then the showed a third four poster bed room looking out over the front of the hotel and had a huge king size bed, lovely. Why weren't we offered this room in the first place. We unpacked then asked at reception where the restaurant was so we could book dinner. Told restaurant was only for weddings and functions but could book in Brasserie so went on a very long root march down ' glass corrider; into the 'butlins part'. Basic and poor service not very comfy.Returned to reception to ask where the lounge or bar was for residents, told yet again 'closed to residents and general public, only for functions and there was a wedding this day. Oh , so no place to sit and relax, returned to our room. Later returned back to the brasserie to eat, I had a sandwich and it was horrible couldn't eat it even though by now we were feeling fed up and hungry. My husband had a packet of crisps and class of 'wine'. Four poster looked lovely but soon realised not very comfy and we woke several times during the night. Decided we'd had enough of this awful hotel shame because it looks so magnificent from ouside, the hall is steeped in history and the chapel off the hall must be a beautiful place for a wedding.
We cancelled the second day and checked out to look for a different hotel.
I would imagine this hotel is lovely for a wedding and also business functions but if you are a couple , like us, hoping for a relaxing week end then forget this hotel. It does not care at all for people not at a function. The only polite person we met was the young porter who showed us the rooms. Very disappointing experience and a complete and total waste of money.

Room Tip: Do not stay at this hotel unless its a wedding or corporate event
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spernak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2011

Really nice hotel, clean rooms, friendly staff and good food.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pug306d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartLouwerse, General Manager at Crewe Hall, responded to this review, December 15, 2011
Dear Pug306d,

Thank you for your great review on TripAdvisor in relation to your recent stay.

As always we look forward to your return to Crewe Hall very soon.

Best regards

Mart Louwerse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
337 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Stayed here for one night for my birthday treat, We were checked in by a nice friendly receptionist and were staying in one of the modern rooms, they are lovely with nice comfy beds
Used the pool and steam room but there seemed to be a couple of parties of ladies in there who tended to stay in the jacuzzi a long time so didn't get to use that.
Dinner in the Brasserie was really nice,starters were mushroom pancake and fishcakes, main meal was serloin steak so didn't have room for a dessert. Service was nice in the Brasserie.
We then had a seat in the lounge just off the reception area which is part of the old hall, its beautiful it also has a little chapel.
Breakfast in the Brasserie again a good choice of everything.
Check out was done by a nice young man.
We would definately return to Crewe Hall.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Northernlass13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartLouwerse, General Manager at Crewe Hall, responded to this review, December 15, 2011
Dear Northernlass13,

Many thanks for taking the time to write to us with your feedback in reference to your recent birthday treat with us at Crewe Hall. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your time at the hotel and making the most of the facilities on offer.

I will share your comments with the team and I hope it will not be too long before we welcome you back to Crewe Hall.

Best regards

Mart Louwerse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2011

Stayed for a conference and really enjoyed it. It's my second stay here, the first time in the 'new part' this time in the 'old part'. Fabulous room (photo attached) and I'd DEFINATELY recommend asking for a room in the old part.

The main house itself is a staggering piece of history and is worth the visit just for this. Health club and conference facilities were, as you would expect, modern and good. I have to say, also, that the staff were great - really helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JGX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartLouwerse, General Manager at Crewe Hall, responded to this review, December 15, 2011
Dear JGX,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Crewe Hall whilst attending a conference.

I am glad to hear you enjoyed your time and that you got to experience a stay in the Main Hall.

I hope it will not be too long before we welcome you back to Crewe Hall.

Best regards

Mart Louwerse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2011

stayed here for one night on business and experienced a very pleasant visit from a very smooth check in process through to checking out. The room was fab in the old building and had a great character with a huge bed and plenty of space. The bathroom was modern and had a bath and a seperate shower. All the usual facilities were in place and the hotel and grounds were well signed and easy to navigate around.
The grounds were well kept and the whole estate was very peaceful.
The food was spot on with a great menu and the breakfast was to a high standard.
The conference facilities was to a high standard and nothing was too much trouble.
Would definately recommend and use again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartLouwerse, General Manager at Crewe Hall, responded to this review, December 15, 2011
Dear Ishable,

Thank you for a great review with regards to the hotel and quality of both the food and service.

As always we look forward to your return to Crewe Hall very soon.

Best regards

Mart Louwerse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
2 reviews
Reviewed November 11, 2011

My husband.myself and another couple spent a two day break at Crewe Hall and what a wonderful place it is . While walking around and enjoying the amazing architecture there was one word which constantly came to mind and that was Awesome ,and with the subtle lighting at night there was such an air of mystique about the place a place which just has to be explored .Away from but attached to the hall there is a very modern building where there is a spa ,conference centre and bedrooms. The walk between the old and new building is very pleasant
We had breakfast and evening meal twice and found the food very enjoyable with plenty of choice and the presentation was excellent
We found the staff were very pleasant and helpful at all times
This is a place I would love to visit again

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosemarylim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartLouwerse, General Manager at Crewe Hall, responded to this review, December 15, 2011
Dear Rosemarylim,

Many thanks for your kind review about your stay here at Crewe Hall. It is greatly appreciated and I am glad that you had such a good time whilst visiting the hotel and making the most of the facilities we offer.

I hope it will not be too long before we welcome you back to Crewe Hall and you can experience one of the other many fabulous rooms the hotel has to offer.

Best regards

Mart Louwerse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crewe
4.7 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
18.4 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
1,564 reviews
19.1 mi away
The Park Royal
The Park Royal
#1 of 3 in Stretton
1,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
De Vere Cranage Estate
2.1 mi away
Wychwood Park Hotel
Wychwood Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Weston
926 reviews
22.4 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crewe Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crewe Hall

Property: Crewe Hall
Address: Crewe Hall Weston Road, Crewe CW1 6UZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Crewe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Crewe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Crewe Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A superb 17th century hotel located in Crewe in Cheshire. This Grade I listed building has been attracting refined guests since the 17th century, including our current monarch Queen Elizabeth II. This hotel is a fine mix of historic Jacobean and sharp 21st century architecture. The magnificent history oozes throughout the hotel from exquisite marble fireplaces to stained glass windows. Yet the contemporary edge of Crewe Hall can be found throughout the hotel from the revolving bar in the brasserie to the state-of-the-art leisure club. The hotel has 117 spacious, comfortable bedrooms, some are located in the historic old building but majority can be found in the new contemporary wing. Just minutes from the M6 motorway, Crewe Hall is only 24 miles from Chester’s sights and shops and close to Liverpool and Manchester.Crewe Hall is home to a modern conference and events centre. It is very impressive with both it's facilities and service that we offer you. Modern facilities, free Wi-Fi, extensive grounds and a meetings package that gives you total piece of mind, whether you’re brainstorming with the team or delivering an important message, Crewe Hall makes meetings easy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Crewe Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crewe Hall Hotel Crewe
Hall Hotel Crewe
Crewe Hall England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing