We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WAY OVER PRICED, SERVICE DIABOLICAL”

The Duke of Gloucester
Ranked #14 of 193 Restaurants in Crewe
Price range: $5 - $21
Cuisines: British, Pub
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
sevenoaks
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WAY OVER PRICED, SERVICE DIABOLICAL”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

WE came as a party of seven for a Sunday lunch,staff were very friendly and came to our table to take our order for drinks.THIS took only a few minutes to get our drinks. then we ordered our food
we waited just under an hour for our food to arrive, some meals were warm. the plates were cold,
and the kid's meals were over portioned. the quality of the food was poor... pub has just been re-furbished which is why everything is over priced. . cost of food (one course only each) for 5 adults and 2 kids, was £65 considering in another pub only a few hundreds yards away, this total could have been halved. and the food just as good if not better... never going again...

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SevenoaksPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    108
    44
    34
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Always good food!”
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

We have always had good food when we go although it is quite pricey sometimes for the simplest dishes. The staff are always friendly and helpful although some seem to be going through routine without the personality, usually the younger ones. The atmosphere it great unless there is a group of uni students being quite loud in the bar as there is not much of a noise barrier between that section and the more relaxed dining area.

Will continue to visit as we really enjoyed it :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amber E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Always a pleasure!!”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Great food, staff brilliant, chatty, helpfull and can always have a good laugh with them! been many times in the past and will continue to go, I suppose you could call it our local!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank neil w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Over rated”
Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

This place ok if u want a quiet drink but is way over priced 4 both drinks and food for what u get. staff dont care either rather have a chat about what they did the nite before

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank clair_lou2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Level Contributor
70 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“nice pub”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

this is a reasonable priced pub for drinks and food gets very busy the staff are very nice and polite it is handy if you are staying in the travel lodge oppisite

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank patmersyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Duke of Gloucester also viewed

 

Been to The Duke of Gloucester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing