We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect every time”
Review of Bombay Restaurant

Bombay Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 193 Restaurants in Crewe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $26
Cuisines: Asian, Indian, Fusion, Balti, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect every time”
Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Been eating here for a long time,certainly the best Indian in south cheshire by a long shot. Exceptional service without fail,great value for money and excellent quality of food. Simply sublime

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe_Railwayman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    25
    11
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
260 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Have been eating at the Bombay since their earlier days in Mill St.”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Since the restaurant has moved back to Mill Street from High Street, we think it has lost some atmosphere. That said, the food is consistently good, and you'll always need a 'doggy bag'. Add to that the fantastic cheerful service, and you can't fault the place. Where the Bombay scores over other establishments in Crewe / Nantwich / Alsager, is the variety of dishes. No other Indian restaurant offers so many different fish dishes. Most of the others only give you prawns, if you want fish. If you haven't eaten at the original Crewe indian restaurant, do it now. You know you want to. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nigel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Went for my birthday. Atmosphere was great, food top notch and service friendly and prompt.

Strangely quiet for a Saturday night, seeing how food is so good and also strangely ran out of draught beer - this did not bother me, had a bottle instead, but one customer cooked up a right fuss about nothing !

The waiter found out it was my birthday and generously offered us a free round of drinks.

Looking forward to my next trip.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChubbyCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Food & service was excellent, delivered promptly too”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Not had a curry from here before and called to see if they had a menu online. Spoke to Murad who was very helpful so I ordered a Tikka Masala and Chicken Jalfrezi. It was delivered within approx 20 minutes and they had added a free starter too. My daughter said the Tikka Masala was the best she has had and my Jalfrezi has just the rights amount for spices.
So based on the whole experience I am ordering again tonight!
Karen B

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen1B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“PERFECT END TO A GREAT EVENING”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I made my way to this establishment following Brentford FC's crucial win against Crewe at Gresty Road, wishing to avoid those on the main road and having seen the sign from the crossroads.

Now I admit I was in good spirits and that it was10pm and I was the only customer but it was absolutely brilliant.

Lamb Tamarind was superb, Pilau rice and Onion Bhaji also, large portions and the biggest Peshwari nan I've ever seen in my life'. Plus draught Kingfisher and the bill was less than £20.

The waiters were very friendly and I stayed until 11.30pm chatting with them and walked the half mile to my Hotel with a smile on my face.

Opened in 1959 it's the Oldest in Cheshire, go and try it, I will again for sure whenever I'm anywhere near.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bombay Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Bombay Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing