We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely meal”
Review of Giovannis

Giovannis
Ranked #8 of 193 Restaurants in Crewe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $32
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A lovely meal”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

This restaurant has a very Italian feel about it, and all the staff are very friendly and attentive, without being overbearing.

The food was excellent, and well presented, which made for a very pleasurable eating experience.

Although certainly not cheap, the prices were reasonable taking into account the quality of the food.

We did not sample any of the wine selection, but the prices again appeared reasonable. One of my guests is a real ale enthusiast and was pleased that a bottle of real ale beer from a local brewery was available.

The Gamberi Golosi starter was excellent, and one of the nicest I have tasted. My two guests had homemade soup which apparently was equally as good.

The main courses of Pepperoni pizza and Spaghetti Marinara were also very enjoyable.

We were visitors to Crewe, so unfortunately are not likely to be able to make another visit to this restaurant in the near future, but we would certainly recommend it any other visitors or locals who are more fortunate !

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    139
    57
    31
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Cheap lunch”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Went there for Lunch, the staff were friendly,the atmosphere was ok. The service was well paced. The price was great you don't get many lunches for £5.

The only thing I felt let it down was the pizza, the pasta looked ok. The pizza was a good size for £5 just not a great taste. This resaurant has got good reviews so people must like it, maybe it was just not for me.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jonnysh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“well priced good food and service”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

This was my first visit to Giovannis and I was very pleasantly surprised at the standard of both the food and service. Out of our party of 7 we chose 3 different main courses, the most popular being the sliced fillet steak in red wine and mustard sauce, which everyone agreed was delicious. I chose the pasta marinana which was one of the nicest pasta dishes I have had in many years. The third choice of lasagne was also very nice. We all agreed that we would definitely visit again. It was agreed by all that the meal was value for money and reasonably priced.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hanley37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding Value”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

A lunch dish with a glass of lager or wine for £5.00 - you can't beat it!! Food is fab and staff are great.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank HodsSusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A pleasant discovery!”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Ate here with a couple of friends early Saturday evening before a gig. We were given a warm welcome, service was efficient, and we all really enjoyed our meals. I had a chicken calzone with chillies added - it was delicious, and reasonably priced at £9 something. Would definitely visit again when next in Crewe.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank G_and_T_drinkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giovannis also viewed

 
Nantwich, Cheshire
 

Been to Giovannis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing