We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tried And Tested”
Review of Giovannis

Giovannis
Ranked #8 of 193 Restaurants in Crewe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $32
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
cheshire
Level Contributor
233 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Tried And Tested”
Reviewed May 16, 2012

My wife and I have been going here for years. Whatever is said it has been there and traded successfully for over 20 years so there must be something about the place.

The restaurant has always been the choice for the people of Crewe who like Italian style food, largely because there are no others. The location is not the best. the front overlooks the busy Nantwich Road just West of Crewe Station whilst the back overlooks a large car park

The food has always been generally good with decent pizza choices, and wholesome pastas but dont expect steak or fish with veg and chips/potatoes because they never have been included on the menu. It is worth noting that the garlic mushroom starter is the best we have tasted anywhere.

The place has changed ownership recently and has, in our opinion, become even better, The menu has expanded, specials are more frequent and varied and the upstairs has been renovated to make it a more atmospheric area although we still prefer the downstairs area. Prices remain commendable and there is a decent choice of wines and sweets.

Service is good and generally carried out by youngsters who can at times lack a bit of confidence but we have all started out somewhere.

One big improvement from the previous ownership is that bizarrely without exception the food would arrive before the cutlery. It doesnt happen now.

Good value restaurant for most occasions

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cheshiremike09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrGiovanni, Owner at Giovannis, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Hi cheshiremike09,

Thanks for the kind words. It's always great to hear that the changes we are making keep on improving our guests' experience. That's what it is all about. We'll take your point on board about the younger servers.

Thanks,

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    139
    57
    31
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not bad for what you pay”
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Average food and service - not bad for a cheap bite to eat

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank TanyaCheshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrGiovanni, Owner at Giovannis, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Hi TanyaCheshire_UK,

Thanks for taking the time to review. We would really appreciate it if you could send us an E-mail suggesting what we need to do to improve (info@giovannisuk.com). It's important to us that we are continually improving so we exceed the expectations of our guests.

Thanks,

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Been coming here for years !”
Reviewed May 10, 2012 via mobile

I have been coming to this restaurant for years usually with a large group of friends. If you like garlic you'll love this restaurant. The garlc mushrooms are legendary. I love a pizza with a tuna and egg side salad. Rarely make the pudding ! Very reasonably priced, quite cheap in fact. Nice atmostphere and they dont rush you. You could sit there all night if you wished. Wise to book but i have dropped in and got a table. Hope it never closes.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wendy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrGiovanni, Owner at Giovannis, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Hi wendy w,

Thanks for taking the time to review. We're really pleased you like what we are doing and we hope it never closes also ;)

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England
Level Contributor
186 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Nice pizza, good service.”
Reviewed May 10, 2012

The food is fine, nothing special, but ok for the price.

The service is really good.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joolsleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrGiovanni, Owner at Giovannis, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Hi joolsleeds,

Thanks for posting a review. If you could spare a further few minutes we'd really appreciate it if you could send us some more detail regarding your meal so we can see where we need to improve. Our E-mail address is info@giovannisuk.com. Many thanks,

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
1 review
“let down”
Reviewed March 8, 2012

i'd been before in a lunch time a couple years ago, but this time was very let down, my other 2 friends meal came, for the waitress to tell me she got mine wrong, and was going to be cooked... how you can cook ravioli in 3 mins is beyond me, as is came out hard. there was quite a few people that that seemed to enjoying there meals, so maybe we just got unlucky, as it seemed to take the staff a long time to take a desert order and also to take our payment. unfortunately wont be going back any time soon.. if i do maybe i'll stick to a Margarita next time.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank l s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrGiovanni, Owner at Giovannis, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
Hi l s,

We seem to have let ourselves down on your visit and a series of simple and avoidable mistakes have ruined your evening for which I sincerly apologise. This review has been fed back to the team so we can look at our failings and what we can do to ensure it doesn't happen again.

Thanks for spending the time and sharing your experience with us.

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giovannis also viewed

 
Nantwich, Cheshire
 

Been to Giovannis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing