We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good staff, rubbish TV and internet”
Review of Ibis Styles Crewe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Styles Crewe
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Crewe
GreenLeadersSilver level
Holyhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good staff, rubbish TV and internet”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Nice hotel, food OK compared to the price asked for it. Not restaurant quality but then again it's not restaurant prices.

The only downside was the internet - it was absolutely dire. It was so poor that even a radio station had to continually buffer. In this day and age, in an urban area, I expect internet in the rooms fast enough to support live TV streaming. Certainly of the 3-4 hotels I have used in Chester that is the case. Even on ferries on the Irish Sea. But not in a Crewe hotel room apparently.

The TV was also dire. Very poor selection of channels. Again in this day and age full freeview is the very least you should expect.

Big plus to the guy on reception - Jordanian guy called Jouhad(?). Very friendly, very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy 'Red Willy... W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    243
    147
    54
    37
See reviews for
104
215
49
200
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Briisbane Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Booked in here a cheaper alternative to some of the more expensive hotels in Stoke-on- Trent and were very delighted with what we got. Room was very large and a big sized shower. Plenty of parking and a very short trip to Stoke-on-Trent. Standard buffet breakfast serve yourself. We ordered room service evening meal which we were slighty dissapointed to get salad drowning in dressing as the rest of the meal was well cooked and presented. Staff work very hard to to present a clean and comfortable ambience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denjudfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I stayed at the hotel as we were up for a friends wedding. The price for the room was great value compared with all others nearby, and having parking was great. The room was larger than expected and the bathroom, complete with a powerful shower was better than some of the more expensive hotels I have stayed at.
Breakfast was good, buffet all you can eat and the bar was reasonably priced.
Will look to stay here again as was fantastic value for money, bright and cheerful and felt new.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nater_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wishaw, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

This is a lovely clean and bright hotel serving nice food.Very pleasant and helpful staff, can't do enough for you. Only down side is location. Would be ok if you were driving and using this hotel as a base but I was with coach party. there was no entertainment at night and local bars to far away

Room Tip: room 401 at end of corridor no one walking past
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ambersgran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

The hotel looks exactly as is appears in the photographs, but as is often the case, looks are deceptive.

The plus points:
The staff a friendly.
The hotel is clean.
If you're lucky enough to find a good rate, the hotel is cheap.
Room service is available, unlike any of the other low-cost hotels in the area. Food was pleasant enough, but my starter was almost cold when it was delivered. Blanco Rioja unexpectedly palatable.

The minus points:
Those nice big comfy-looking sofas in the bedrooms are like sitting on covered rocks. Whoever picked them doesn't know that they're meant to be SOFT furnishings.
The rooms have wooden floors and nothing to deaden sound, so feel like they are unfinished and even the slightest noise echoes around the room. If you know what a room sounds like when you empty it out to decorate, this is exactly the same.
The bathrooms are all "wet room" style, which looks good in pictures, but as they're too small to be wet rooms you end up with the whole bathroom covered in water when you take a shower.
The complimentary "High speed internet" in the rooms manages 0.21Mb download speed on speedtest.net even in the middle of the night when it should be quiet. Yes, that's right, high-speed internet that's slower than the modem you had 15 years ago. Business travellers can forget about working from this hotel.
It's on a business park, so local amenities consist of, well, nothing. But rooms do offer a nice view of the hotel car park or the main road past the business park.
The desks in the rooms are narrow and not very good to work from. They're not narrow enough to be unusable, but just narrow enough to be not quite big enough to be comfortable to use. Also, the TV stand is far too large for the TV that is actually installed and covers about half of the desk, so you feel like you're actually working on a bookshelf.
There are no individual room temperature controls and no air-conditioning beyond opening the window, which is a major surprise in a hotel that was only built a few years ago and means you can find yourself having to choose between being hot and uncomfortable or hoping there isn't too much noise outside.

To sum up, like most budget hotels this is somewhere to sleep and not much else. I stayed here on business, so my company was picking up the bill, I would not stay here by choice for a personal trip unless I could get a rate of less than £20/night and even then I would probably look at one of the local independent hotels first. This hotel is slightly more expensive than the Travel Lodge about 300 yards away and has better quality furnishings, but manages to be slightly less comfortable to actually stay in.

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same, but lower floors can be prone to noise (particularly if there is a large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dog_Solitude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

placed here by Crewe Hall for a conference as Crewe Hall had run out of rooms.
In the middle of an office complex. Asked three times for the sticky coffee granules all over the floor to be cleaned (not my doing but there when I checked in). First request resulted in an improvement but not properly cleaned. Nothing came of the second and third requests made to a 'manager' at reception. Broken light fitting for bedside lamp, lamp head and bulb hanging off. Passable food and no obvious local alternatives. Overheard people saying it wasn't bad for £15 per night, frankly i wouldn't stay here again even at that price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kinlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidTucker1, General Manager at Ibis Styles Crewe, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Kinlondon,

Thank you for your feedback. I apologise about your experience.
I will ensure your comments and issues are addressed and make maintenance aware of the broken lamp in your room.

Kind regards,

Ilona McNeil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Crewe hotels

Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel on my own and found it very comfortable, clean and adequate, staff very helpful and pleasant.

However, I made a reservation for the two of us recently and we ended up having a very uncomfortable night. The room was up to a very good standard but the bed was too small for 2, the duvet was winter weight, we were boiling hot and there was only 1 pillow each (no spares, apparently only on demand) and they were too small and rather like a ball, guaranteed to give neckache. The shower room and toilet were excellent but Never Again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Crewe hotels
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Crewe Hotel
1.0 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#1 of 9 in Crewe
2,123 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Crewe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Crewe Arms Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Hunters Lodge
The Hunters Lodge
#4 of 9 in Crewe
275 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Waverley Hotel
The Waverley Hotel
#8 of 9 in Crewe
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Styles Crewe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles Crewe

Property: Ibis Styles Crewe
Address: Emperor Way | Crewe Business Park, Crewe CW1 6BD, England (Formerly Ramada Encore Crewe)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Crewe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Crewe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Styles Crewe 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Styles Crewe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Encore Crewe Hotel Crewe
Ibis Styles Crewe England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing