We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Manor Cheadle
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$119
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Best Western Stoke East(Stoke-on-Trent)
$84
$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crown Hotel(Longton)
$43
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Premier Inn Uttoxeter Hotel(Uttoxeter)(Great Value!)
$95
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent(Stoke-on-Trent)(Great Value!)
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Hart Hotel(Uttoxeter)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (223)
Filter reviews
223 results
Traveler rating
123
67
18
7
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
123
67
18
7
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsalton towersbeautiful gardeneggs benedictnext morningmain buildingguest houselovely guesthousehard workfeed the fishfull englishannual tripbeautiful place to staylocal wetherspoonsbed was comfortabletheme parkother guestsfamily room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
130 - 135 of 223 reviews
Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night in October 2013 because we were visiting Alton towers. Our room was small, very basic and clean although very dark and dingy, not helped by the brown colour scheme. The windows are single glazed (downstairs) and the lamps are not very bright near a mirror, so not good for getting ready to go out. The radiators warmed the room up nicely but although we had the radiator off all night, it clicked continuously throughout the night so we didn't sleep very well. I had wanted a shower in the morning and there was no hot water. So I waited half an hour and tried again... Still no hot water. I gave up. The breakfast was really good, we had a full English and it was delicious and the breakfast waiting on staff were very friendly. Upon checking out the owner didn't ask how our stay had been and seemed to want us out quickly. Overall, not a bad place but not a great one either. Definitely not worth £88 a night to stay here though.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Skybluepinkfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foxsenior, Owner at The Manor Cheadle, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

We are really sorry you had an issue with hot water. On investigation we had some faults with our boiler. This has now been rectified.Other guests mentioned this to us the same day and we gave a partial refund. If you do read this response please contact us and we will gladly do the same with you. On the plus side we are very pleased you enjoyed breakfast.

Ann and Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

This is our second visit to the Manor. Again Peter, Ann and all the staff made our family feel welcome. The room very clean and comfortable and the food at breakfast and dinner was excellent. Would highly recommend families staying at the Manor if wanting to go to Alton Towers.
Many Thanks Ann & Peter for another lovely stay.

The Mitchell's

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clive M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foxsenior, Owner at The Manor Cheadle, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

It was a pleasure to welcome you back. Grace drew us another picture and we still have it posted up in our hallway.
Looking forward to welcoming you and Ali back Clive, Grace and Lucy too.

Ann and peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in a family room .
Rooms rather basic but fine for the money you pay .
The breakfast in the morning was very nice .
Husband was rather worried about the car park as very dark .
Very handy for alton towers okay for the price you pay

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kelly201020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We booked three rooms for a family stay during a visit to Alton Towers, we received a very friendly welcome on our arrival by Ann and Pete, room was very comfortable, clean and pleasant decor. Breakfast was perfect, hot and freshly cooked to order.
Only downside was inconsiderate guests staying in two rooms on our corridor, playing music loud with door wide open, obviously they thought we were part of their party !!!!
Pete very kindly left a note in their rooms asking to consider other guests but sadly they obviously had no hotel etiquette or manners when arriving back at their rooms after a night out. Next morning they had the cheek to knock on the wall when I was using hairdryer..... You won't be surprised to hear that I ignored the bang on the wall and left the hairdryer on a little longer.
Thank you to both Ann and Pete who do a marvellous job to provide an enjoyable visit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrws73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foxsenior, Owner at The Manor Cheadle, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Hello Lee. Thank you for your very kind remarks. We are only sorry you were disturbed by other guests who clearly did not appreciate being nicely asked to keep the noise down. So pleased you enjoyed your breakfast and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Ann and Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Unaccommodating Staff
Check in isn't until 3pm, we asked if we could call in earlier & leave our cases, we were told no in no uncertain terms, we asked if there was a bar or a coffee area and we were told to go to the café up the road!

Rude Letter
We were a group of mid 30s ladies away for a friends birthday (hardly teens on a crazy weekend) & when we got back to our room after going to Alton Towers someone had been into our room where we had left our belongings & had left a note in front of the tv basically saying please make sure we were quiet & didn't disturb other guests! I was appalled firstly that we received the letter & secondly that it wasn't just posted underneath the door. Once I have paid for a room I do not expect the owners to be nosing around in it!!

Bathroom
The bathroom had a woodlice on the towel and there was also a spider in the room.
The bathroom floor was filthy, the sink unit covered in dust and the shower was grimy, no power to it and the holder for the shower head was loose and swung around. The bathroom fan stayed on noisily for a very long time after the light had gone out.
There was only 1 roll of toilet paper, no spare so we ran out in a 3/4 person room quickly nor a loo brush. (essential items!)

Room facilities
There weren't any free plug sockets near to the desk to use a hairdryer & the room was way too dim to do your make up.
My bed was right under the window & I was woken up by the draught throughout the whole night.
We were only given 1 pillow - this is a problem for me
The floor boards creak terribly so I dread to think how it sounds to the people underneath

Car Park
The car park was very dark, secluded & uneven & I wouldn't have felt safe should I have been on my own.
When we got back to the hotel there was a very obvious smell of marijuana!

Breakfast
We were called on by a member of staff to see if we were going down for breakfast - which is only between 8 & 9am even on weekends! We are parents away from our children, if we wanted a wake up call we would have asked for one, we were looking forward to the lie in!
Apparently this is the time of breakfast everyday so if you were a business worker it would be too late & its too early for weekend stayers.
Check out is 10.30

Overall
I found the owner rude & standoffish, I cant understand why other reviews have said they are friendly!
Please don't be fooled by the pictures, they have shown the best of the accommodation which yes does show a lovely old house & garden, but this is not where you stay! You are led through the garden to a 2 storey building that I can only describe at Butlins like accommodation. In fact Ive stayed in nicer Travel Inns than here.
I will NEVER return.

Positive, the rooms were nicely, well plainly decorated.

Room Tip: Don't book here!!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank toptrout2203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foxsenior, Owner at The Manor Cheadle, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

In a small guesthouse such as ours, we believe it is important that everyone has a good time. Not just one group.
We use the time between check out and check in to go out on errands and fetch supplies and get jobs done that we can not do when hosting our guests. This was very politely explained to this group, well in advance, yet they chose to arrive just after mid day when we were just about to go shopping.
We have no issue about playing music in rooms everyone watches telly but when other guests tell you the volume even during the day was unbearable it does make you wonder what it would be like at night when they returned after a good night out. So to reassure our other guests we put again very polite notes in the rooms saying have a good time but please make sure others have a good time too!
As they had not come for breakfast by 9.00am and as they had not mentioned they would not make it, one of our team knocked on gently to say if they were almost ready we would wait for them. In the event we just took them extra coffee.
We do have beds next to our windows which were all replaced with double glazed units last summer. So maybe shutting the window was the answer. Equally we are very happy to provide extra pillows and there are invitations to request these in each bedroom. We are sorry not enough loo roll was provided but this could easily have been fixed had they let us know.
The bathroom extract fan does stay on longer than the light for good reason, not unusual.

All our guest rooms are in our garden wing. This should be no surprise as full details of our accommodation and indeed check in and check out times and breakfast times are freely available in the website and other internet booking services such as Booking.com.
So why we are wondering with all this information freely to hand, did they choose to come here when it clearly did not suit them?
As they say you cant please all the people all the time!
The last line of the review is a no brainer really!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews