We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fab stay in a lovely cottage”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Floor Plan
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Floor Plan
Summerhouse
Friends and family meeting room available at no extra cost
The Hosts
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Cheadle, Staffordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
2018emmaf
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fab stay in a lovely cottage”
Reviewed February 5, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Had a fantastic stay in the Diary, Vivian and Derek are lovely and couldn’t do enough for us. The cottage is really well equipped with everything needed for a very comfortable stay. Added bonus of a brilliant games room which kept the kids occupied for hours.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 7, 2018
Thank you for your kind words, it is gratifying that we are providing a service that is appreciated. The games room is currently undergoing major improvements including the addition of its own kitchen and toilets. We work hard to provide a brilliant guest experience and will continue to do so, resting on our laurels is not the Birchenfields way.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BazHudson
2 reviews
“FANTASTIC! The play barn is an absolute god send!”
Reviewed August 28, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We have a 12 week old son and a 2 and half your old daughter and trying to find suitable accommodation is always very hard but the set up at Birchenfields is fantastic. The cottage was beautifully presented with a cot, highchair and baby bath already in place on our arrival plus tea and coffee to get us going which was a lovely touch. We stayed for 4 nights and spent lots of our time on the premises as it was so nice spending time together and we couldn't keep our daughter out of the play barn, playing with all the toys, singing and dancing to her favorite CD's it was wonderful.
Thank you to our wonderful hosts as they explained everything on our arrival and were always happy to help. We will be back!!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 28, 2017
Wow! It is so nice that our efforts are appreciated so much, we do try very hard to provide a good experience for our guests. The Play Barn is particular useful if the weather decides not to cooperate, very soon it will have its own loo and kitchen so that the attached meeting room will be even more useful for larger groups.

We hope to see you again as yet another set of regular returning guests
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laobhise
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed July 12, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Recently enjoyed a 2 night stay with 2 kids aged 3 and 6. Convenient location for Alton Towers. Lovely pub with great food at the end of the road. Very private with friendly owners. Kids particularly enjoyed the play barn. Facilities in house were good. Wouldn't hesitate to stay again if visiting this area or returning to Alton Towers

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 21, 2017
Many thanks for your comments we would love to host you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GBL2015
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect family stay”
Reviewed May 31, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

I needed to find bank holiday accommodation for 14 people and a dog...not easy but Birchenfields Farm was perfect. The accommodation is extremely clean and very well equipped with every thing you could need for a self catering break. We took over all three cottages and made use of the sofa beds too.

The best and unexpected thing was that in the "play barn" there was an enormous table where we could all sit together to eat which made it very sociable. The play barn itself worked brilliantly for us as it included air hockey, table tennis and snooker which kept the youth in our party occupied.

The area is very rural and beautiful and we had some fantastic local meals. The only thing that let us down was the weather - but that's England!

I'm sure we will be back...

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 2, 2017
Thank you for your lovely comments. The meeting room is new this year and we are pleased it added value to your stay at no additional cost. We look forward to seeing you again when there will be even more improvements
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richens96
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
“last minute short stay”
Reviewed August 25, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

we had time for a short break holiday and at the last minute we were able to book in at the Dairy cottage. Eveytthing was 5 star with all amenities of the highest order. The setting is very private and of a relaxing atmosphere. Nothing is too much trouble for the owners. They made our stay so special

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everthing, especially the comforable beds
Liked least: there were none
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 26, 2016
Thank you very much for your kind comments, it was a pleasure to accommodate you and we hope to see you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julesprie...
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
“Friendly and very comfortable”
Reviewed June 4, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We spent 3 nights at Birchenfields and thought it was excellent value for money. Apartment was really well furnished with everything we needed. Hosts were friendly and helpful. And a great games room we would have liked to have had more time for. Would happily recommend and hope to go back again soon

How easy was it to book the property?
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 5, 2016
thank you for your review, we are very happy you enjoyed your stay, and enjoyed the games room, perhaps we will see you again in the future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeeCrossB...
Hyde, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ideal for young families”
Reviewed May 31, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We have just returned from Birchenfields Farm (we stayed three nights over the bank holiday weekend). We are a family of four with two young children (ages 6 and 3) and found this to be a nice place to relax in the country. My eldest son was particularly amused by the chickens and thought it was great to help to feed them and to collect fresh eggs for breakfast. Derek and Vivian are very welcoming and friendly and will accommodate your every request. The farm is approx 1 mile from the Huntsman pub which is an easy walk along the country road and has a small beer garden with a play area. We also managed a walk through numerous fields to another pub called the Royal Oak which did a nice Sunday lunch. We had glorious weather and spent most of the day on the Saturday relaxing on the farm with a BBQ and some drinks. The boys were able to go in and out of the play barn to play table tennis/pool etc, which kelp them entertained. We also spent an evening in the summer house playing cards and board games. The cottage itself if smaller than others we have stayed in but is good value for money and has everything you need. I would recommend this place without hesitation.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 3, 2016
thank you for your lovely review, and your recommendation,, it is much appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing