We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”
Review of The Wheatsheaf

The Wheatsheaf
Ranked #8 of 22 Restaurants in Cheadle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $19
Cuisines: International, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Visit on a regular basis for steak night. Exceptional value, good service and good food.
Friendly staff make all the difference.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    47
    21
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sharpthorne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“excellent meal”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

we spotted a special curry deal on a board outside this restaurant and my husband couldn't resist. We were surprised at the generosity of the portion. Two lovely crisp popadoms, nan bread, chicken jalfresi, rice and mango chutney. All excellent, only comment there was a bit too much!!! Well done.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kathy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergele, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“horrible food”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

ate here as we were staying in the area. wish we hadn't bothered as the food was unedible. staff didnt ask how i wanted my steak cooked, steak came to me rare. partner ordered bbq pulled pork and it was too soggy. it was that bad we just walked out as we were distusted. weatherspoons in stone is 100% better

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Carly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwich
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Ok for beer,just dont eat there!”
Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

Ate here regrettably as staying at the excellent Park View guesthouse for Alton Towers visit. The beer choice is good and as Wetherspoons very cheap. Food was almost unedible - you get what you pay for but Hungry Horse down the road similar price but much better quality.my son's medium steak was charred and tasteless. my sausage and mash apparently award winning - the only award I'd give it is the worst Ive ever had! will not eat in a Wetherspoon again!

Helpful?
Thank forest4theprem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Much improvement since my last visit!”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Much improvement had been made to this establishment since my last visit. There is more selection on the menu, the food is of a better standard than before. There is a good selection of drinks available. The outdoor seating has been extended with a proper smoking area, there is still a bit more room for improvement I think though, as in the winter months there has at times not been enough seating for people to sit down to have a meal! The staff are great and friendly, the toilets are still in the great condition they were. This is one of the better Wetherspoons I have been to although on a down-side there doesn't seem to be anything else to come to Cheadle for as there is nothing else to see apart from a boarded-up pub across the way there and the signpost for Alton Towers. Great place to pop into on the way to the Towers or Blackbrook Zoological Park at Winkhill - just a few minutes drive up the road!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank carlingnblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wheatsheaf also viewed

Cheadle, Staffordshire
Cheadle, Staffordshire
 
Cheadle, Staffordshire
Alton, Staffordshire
 
Cheadle, Staffordshire
 

Been to The Wheatsheaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing