We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best country pub around”
Review of The White Lion Inn

The White Lion Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Barthomley
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Good Pub Guide Unspoilt Pub of the Year 2016
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best country pub around”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Worth a visit just for the fire! The beers are kept extremely well and there's always a good selection. Food is only served at lunch times but is always excellent!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank tecork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    44
    10
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Prices”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We have been regulars at the lion before the fire and have enjoyed each visit. However, since the re-opening we have been twice and the prices have shot up. We will not go back again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank IMP58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A must visit if your in the area.”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

The White lion is a place I have to visit when I'm in the area. I travel up and down the County with my work. But always make a B line for this place. Friendly staff. Great food. Spotlessly clean And the atmosphere is fanatic. I would highly recommend .5★★★★★..

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank docdray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“BACK TO ITS USUAL WONDERFUL STANDARD”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

The restoration after the fire has been brilliantly done. No doubt there has been plenty of advice from English heritage. The redecoration is spot on.
At present there is only a limited (but excellent) menu. Normal service in mid-August. As usual the friendliness and service is impeccable.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Driver_in_Europe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Just re opened after the fire”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Opened last Tuesday after the fire of 1st April, which destroyed the thatched roof.

They have done a wonderful job of restoration, the new thatch is a work of art. Inside is no different really, just 2 new fireplaces, been redecorated in side, thankfully that was all it needed.

This is a great Olde world pub, in a sleepy hamlet, set in lovely countryside, don't think it will be any different now from when it was built many hundred of years ago. open fires rustic seating and tables, a joy to find a pub so unspoilt.

They only do food at lunchtime, which is good wholesome food at reasonable prices, the landlord informed me last Tues, they are starting the food again sometime in August. My favourite pub!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JoCheshire10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The White Lion Inn also viewed

 
Alsager, Cheshire
Madeley, Staffordshire
 
Alsagers Bank, Staffordshire
Alsager, Cheshire
 

Been to The White Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing