We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice. Staff very pleasant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Merlin

Merlin
Ranked #10 of 35 Restaurants in Alderley Edge
Price range: $12 - $19
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Very nice. Staff very pleasant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

I enjoyed my visit, the food was good but not excellent, my friends had the early diner menu which was great value and good quality. Staff were friendly but a little keen and the food courses came a bit too close together. I would say the main menu is a little overpriced for the quality of the food but presentation was excellent. An enjoyable evening overall

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarahinwilmslow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    127
    67
    44
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chester
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very poor service and overpriced for portion size.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Came here with my wife and children for lunch. It was very busy inside, with the staff running around. Our waiter was z very pleasant lad who took our order pretty quickly. We waited for about 25 minutes then the waiter came back and asked if he could take our order again!! He was obviously embarrassed and kept on apologising. He asked as we were waiting did we want some more drinks which we accepted. We waited a further 20 minutes for our food. The food was of s good quality, but the portions were very small. I had a spit roast chicken, which was initially brought to me as the roast chicken dinner. It came with fries and Asian coleslaw, both which were really small portions. We decided not to stay for dessert as we were now running late. Only on leaving did we realise that the round of drinks that we thought were free as we had waited were charged to our bill!! Disappointed to say the least - we won't be going back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CheshireFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food fit for the knights of the round table!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Spectacular service by Adrian the other night. He hosted and served our party of 26 without any hesitation whatsoever. Courteous and charming, he managed to get everything just right. We have been visiting the Merlin for the last 3 years and have seen the place going from strength to strength. Thank you to Kim and the whole team xxx

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SpandexWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“would visit again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

stayed at the merlin on 5/5/13, we found the service prompt, and friendly, the food was of high quality. the room we stayed was comfortable and clean. all the staff were attentive,I would reccomend this hotel/restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank philip w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warmingham
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Food not what it was!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

I have been eating at the Merlin for years and always had good to excellent food, however in the last 6 months I have noticed a considerably drop in the standard of the dishes. A shame as the location and service are excellent.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank oliver r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Merlin also viewed

Alderley Edge, Cheshire
Alderley Edge, Cheshire
 
Alderley Edge, Cheshire
Alderley Edge, Cheshire
 

Been to Merlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing