We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“would visit again”
Review of Merlin

Merlin
Ranked #13 of 36 Restaurants in Alderley Edge
Price range: $13 - $19
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“would visit again”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

stayed at the merlin on 5/5/13, we found the service prompt, and friendly, the food was of high quality. the room we stayed was comfortable and clean. all the staff were attentive,I would reccomend this hotel/restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank philip w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    132
    69
    46
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
warmingham
Level Contributor
49 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Food not what it was!!”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I have been eating at the Merlin for years and always had good to excellent food, however in the last 6 months I have noticed a considerably drop in the standard of the dishes. A shame as the location and service are excellent.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oliver r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A Fantastic Evening”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

The Merlin hosted my daughter's 18th meal last Friday (26/4/13) and we found the food, service and helpfulness of the restaurant to all be of the highest order. I can't praise Carmen enough for all the work she put in to making our night a success. Thanks Merlin!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“GREAT STAY”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

My boyfriend & I were going to a 30th birthday party at Bubble Room in Alderley Edge centre so needed somewhere close by to stay the night. The Merlin was great nice & intimate with 10 rooms and only 5-8 minute walk into town. The staff were lovely very friendly & helpful especially Gary & Carmen. We had a nice comfortable clean room with a modern ensuite shower. The pub is really nice and the food was great we had dinner before we went to the party very reasonable prices (especially considering the location) even the small portion was a good enough size to feed a greedy piglet like me!) The breakfast was lovely too good selection for the standard continental but again being a piglet I had the full English breakfast which was delicious. We would definitely stay here again. Thank you to the staff for making it a very enjoyable stay. x

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank babyethan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilmslow,cheshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“saturday night out.”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We have been many times for meals and until the last 3 visits were very satisfied by the food and service but on the last 3 occasions both the food and service have gradually become worse until last night , besides the food being of very poor standard ,one of the meals never arrived and it took 4 requests for a pint of cider before it arrived.On the last 3 occasions they appeared to be either understaffed or badly managed, probably both.We would think twice about returning even though it is convenient for us and the ambience is good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank meyden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Merlin also viewed

Alderley Edge, Cheshire
Alderley Edge, Cheshire
 
Alderley Edge, Cheshire
 

Been to Merlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing