We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A local favourite ”
Review of The Wizard

The Wizard
Ranked #10 of 40 Restaurants in Alderley Edge
Price range: $13 - $66
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Local cask ales, fresh local produce, pub classics, sandwiches, set menus and an ever evolving A La Carte menu. Dogs welcome. Bookings strongly advised on Sunday to avoid dissapointment.
Reviewed August 5, 2017 via mobile

This is one of our local inns. They do classics like burgers and pies as well as finer dining type of dishes (the latter are a bit pricey). Good selection of ales and friendly service. Located conveniently next to National Trust's Alderley Edge Countryside walk. Has a tea room in a separate annex.

Thank Devrim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacey W, General Manager at The Wizard, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2017

Thanks so much for leaving a review.
We hope to see you again soon.

Stacey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (597)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 95 of 597 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2017 via mobile

Enjoyed a quick bite to eat. A mixed platter which was very nice. Child's risotto which was very tasty and a mini ploughman's which was also very tasty. Waiter was very well mannered. We will be returning for a bigger meal.

Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacey W, General Manager at The Wizard, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2017

Chris L,


Thank you for leaving a great review. I am glad you enjoyed your meal and thought the staff were good.
We look forward to your return visit.
Kind regards,

Stacey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2017 via mobile

Pub is ok food is average i personally think you can get nicer food elsewhere cheaper. Bit disappointed as it's my first time at Alderley Edge expected it to be better quality food and service. Would i go back? Probably not.

Thank jadecampbell1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacey W, General Manager at The Wizard, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2017

Jade,

I am sorry that you think we are only average. I wish you could have said something on the day and I certainly could have made your experience more than average. Alternatively, please email me with your comments as we do like getting feedback so we can improve in the future. My email is Wizard@ainscoughs.co.uk
Thank you,

Stacey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2017

Lovely, quaint and friendly! Good food and nice selection of drinks. Staff and service very good. Near the beginning of some great little walks and in lovely surroundings!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Callyscross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacey W, General Manager at The Wizard, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2017

Thank you for your fab review. It is always nice to get good feedback. We hope to see you visit again soon.
Kind regards,

Stacey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2017 via mobile

Kids had a burger and chips and fish and chips respectively from the kids menu. Reasonably priced. They enjoyed it which means we enjoyed it! Friendly and efficient service too.

Thank jffukhhmhuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacey W, General Manager at The Wizard, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2017

Great thank you for your great review. I hope to see you all again soon.
Kind regards,

Stacey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wizard also viewed

Alderley Edge, Cheshire
Alderley Edge, Cheshire
 
Alderley Edge, Cheshire
Alderley Edge, Cheshire
 
Alderley Edge, Cheshire
Alderley Edge, Cheshire
 

Been to The Wizard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing