We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sunday lunch at The Wizard”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Wizard

The Wizard
Ranked #13 of 36 Restaurants in Alderley Edge
Price range: $13 - $64
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Local cask ales, fresh local produce, pub classics, sandwiches, set menus and an ever evolving A La Carte menu. Dogs welcome. Bookings strongly advised on Sunday to avoid dissapointment.
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sunday lunch at The Wizard”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We had friends over from Canada and were excited about taking them to The Wizard - we'd experienced great food and atmosphere here before, and as locals, were proud to showcase your Pub.

The food was good, although a long time in coming but sadly the service let you down, badly. The Lady who served us clearly didn't want to be there. When my (14-year-old Canadian) Nephew asked for 'pop' he was told 'it's called lemonade in this country'! Unbelievable!...welcome to England! Asked what desert she would recommend, the response was 'all', asked again it was a clearly annoyed 'all'!

We're just customers!...and my family were just after a relaxing and fun experience - this was far from that - arrogant and condescending. We left apologising to our family members.

What a shame.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 743michael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    122
    49
    50
    55
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A Place of Character”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Two of us shared a lunch here today and found a warm welcome on a bitterly cold morning. The atmosphere is extemely pleasant - a superior pub but with restaurant facilities - and there was plenty of room. An excellent Thwaites "Big Ben" ale went down well with a "Nibbles" dish of bread, hummus and tomatoes with oil or butter for the bread. This was followed by a substantial (but not "door-step") ham sandwich with triple cooked chips and salad and a decent cup of coffee. Service was immediate and attentive; the waitresses were polite and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. A total bill (including two pints each) of £28.50 seemed very reasonable for what we had. A place to visit again soon!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
556 reviews
308 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“This Wizard needs a new spell book”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Positives: Nice location and pleasant restaurant. Good menu choices

Negatives: poor service the waitress was very surly. Our Sunday dinners were cold,with little beef we sent them back and this seemed a hassle. When it returned we were sure it had been mircowaved as the Yorkshire pudding had the same bite out of it. Our friends daughters dinner didn't come at all until I asked. In fact I had to go up 4 times to ask for drinks and the bill.

Overall

Might have been a bad day, but didn't inspire confidence and was expensive for a mediocre experience and food. Wouldn't go back which is a shame, it's a lovely place.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Superally2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corfu, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Warm Welcome”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

This place is a real gem. It's cosy, friendly with great food and a nice choice of real ales together with bags of atmosphere.
On a bitterly cold day, it was a welcome refuge after a walk with friends and their pooch. The Inn is dog friendly, so if you are not a dog lover, this may not be your kinda place. There's a little garden at the back and a car park hidden away (if you are a National trust member you can use the next door car park and enjoy a stroll along The Edge).
The menu was not too large which suited me as I can never decide what to have and I shared a fish platter which was a perfect lunch, fresh and light.
Would certainly return to The Wizard Inn when revisiting Cheshire.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank attheminute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Pleasant lunch with good service”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We went into The Wizard for lunch after walking on The Edge. Although the pub was busy the manager was polite and efficient, and found us a table within about 10 minutes. The service from the other staff was also good. We enjoyed tasty burgers and a drink, before resuming our walk. Would recommend for a break when visiting the area.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EagleEye55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wizard also viewed

Alderley Edge, Cheshire
Alderley Edge, Cheshire
 
Alderley Edge, Cheshire
Alderley Edge, Cheshire
 

Been to The Wizard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing