We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quirky pub/restaurant”
Review of The Botanist

The Botanist
Price range: $11 - $20
Cuisines: Barbecue, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Formally No.15 Wine Bar, The Botanist offers a well stocked cellar of cask-conditioned ales, more than 70 bottled beers and ciders from around the world, a selection of finest Champagnes and an intriguing cocktail menu. Food comes in the form of a deli-style menu with rotisserie and barbecue. Owned and operated by the New World Pub Company, The Botanist is unlike anything else.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“quirky pub/restaurant”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The Botanist is a really atmospheric pub/restaurant full of really trendy Alderley Edge type folk. Food was quite good, but drinks were a little on the expensive side.Best to book a table.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank cdunn_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lindsey p, Guest Relations Manager at The Botanist, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for your positive review. We aim to create something a little different in Alderley Edge! Glad you like our decor and theme :-)) and we hope to see you soon. X
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    270
    182
    64
    36
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ickleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
199 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Quirky Bistro”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

A really interesting and quirkily designed bistro in the lovely village of Alderley Edge. Not surprisingly, centred around a horticultural theme. Good atmosphere, good selection of beers and nice but un-imaginative menu. Nice touch was projection of an old movie on the wall outside

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JonG371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bloomin Marvellous”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We absolutely love this place, well done Living Ventures for creating yet another fabulous venue. The food is original and awesome, you must try the hanging kebabs oh and the bar snacks, all of them. The staff are without doubt some of the friendliest people around and always make us feel truly welcome. It can be a place to go for a quite drink and sit amongst all the amazing artefacts they have around, or somewhere to snuggle up to when its a cold wintry day by their roaring fire or somewhere to throw your glad rags on and dance to the live music they have on most evenings. This place will not disappoint what ever the weather.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LisaMather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lindsey p, Guest Relations Manager at The Botanist, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Wow - blown away by this review. You have us down to a T! Thank you for such amazing feedback and we hope to please you again soon! X
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Nice But Room For Improvement !”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

My wife and visited here whilst staying in Alderley Edge. Whilst wandering through the village on a monday afternoon we popped in and asked if a reservation was needed for that evening ,of which we were told it was but when returning at our allotted time the place was very quiet and could sit anywhere. Anyway, we enjoyed refreshing drinks at the bar before sitting down to dine. The decor of this place is quite unique and trendy with a modern menu to match. The food, whilst extremely flavoursome was average in portion size. I know its about quality not quality but this place could offer a bit better. The waiting and and bar staff are very young and do their best to provide a good service. I don't know who he was but the guy they had providing the entertainment playing the guitar and singinging some great songs was very good and helped build the ambiance. So a nice place, quite pretentious but i don't think you will leave there having to put an extra notch in your belt !

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jadfran1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lindsey p, Guest Relations Manager at The Botanist, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Many thanks for your review. We do ask everyone to book due to being a busy venue but it appears on your occasion it wasn't needed which is great when a choice of seats are available! Glad to hear you enjoyed the musician and hope to see you again soon x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
72 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great little pub / restaurant, service attentive but a little disappointing on this occasion.”
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Eaten and drank here several times now, really like the place. Good food, great atmosphere and staff very attentive. Was a bit disappointed tonight though as when we arrived on time for our table we were told it was fine to have a drink in the bar first. When we did then ask to be seated the waitress whose 'area' we were sitting in made a point of telling us that we only had so long before our table was booked out again, so just think the staff need to be a little more joined up, hence my mark of 3 for service on this occasion. Other than that, another enjoyable evening with the added benefit of live music.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Botanist also viewed

Alderley Edge, Cheshire
Alderley Edge, Cheshire
 
Alderley Edge, Cheshire
 

Been to The Botanist? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing