We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great but not perfect” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Botanist

The Botanist
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $20
Cuisines: Bar, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Drinks, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Formally No.15 Wine Bar, The Botanist offers a well stocked cellar of cask-conditioned ales, more than 70 bottled beers and ciders from around the world, a selection of finest Champagnes and an intriguing cocktail menu. Food comes in the form of a deli-style menu with rotisserie and barbecue. Owned and operated by the New World Pub Company, The Botanist is unlike anything else.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great but not perfect”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Like the bar. Great cocktails. Food was lovely but there wasn't enough in terms if portion size. One veggie kebab is a tad poor. It was delicious though. And for pudding I had the banana and again got one skewer. I'm certainly no glutton but can't say I left overly full. A couple more veggie options would also be good too ;)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Twistedapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    252
    172
    61
    36
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Little gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

This was booked by my son who lives locally ,he told me how good it was and that we would like it ,he was right .When you arrive you know it's going to be a bit special by it's decor.Whoever designed and furnished this restaraunt has vision. We had booked and were shown to our table by very friendly and informed staff.The menu is not vast but interesting,I had a burger which is unusual but I hoped it would somthing special and it was. My wife had a kebab,son and fiancée had steaks.All of the meals were excellent and not overly expensive.
The BOTANIST is a real find ,when I am in the area again I will make a point of going back as it is that good.I could not fault it in any way.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Clive441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach Island, New Jersey
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lucky Find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

My wife and I had justed landed in England and were driving to the Cotswolds from Manchester. Our route took us through Alderley Edge because of stopping at a bank for some money. Luckily, we walked into The Botanist for our first meal in England and were very impressed with everything....the decor, the staff and especially the food. The serving was extremely timely and the staff was extremely friendly. We liked The Botanist so much that it was also our last meal in England before flying home.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jhersh1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bramhall
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Shabby chic”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Visited for lunch today with a friend & enjoyed pleasant service & surroundings.
Quite busy though no problems getting a table - our food was fine though consider a Caesar Salad at £9.50 (average size) rather expensive and wasn't partial to the chicken (odd taste) noticed another table had ordered a rather tall gimicky contraption which turned out to be a dangling kebab - seemed to enjoy it, though the presentation didn't appeal to us.
Yes would agree the chips are rather over seasoned as mentioned by another reviewer, but service was with a smile & atmosphere nice - pleasant

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kate J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Wonderful place to eat. Fun, Vibrant, Excellent service, Lovely quirky food and reasonable prices!
Very busy booking a must

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EmmaP16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Botanist also viewed

Alderley Edge, Cheshire
Alderley Edge, Cheshire
 
Alderley Edge, Cheshire
Alderley Edge, Cheshire
 
Alderley Edge, Cheshire
Alderley Edge, Cheshire
 

Been to The Botanist? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing