We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our custom wasn't wanted!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Yara Restaurant

Yara Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Our custom wasn't wanted!!!”
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

We purchased a groupon for this restaurant and were very much looking forward to trying it. It went downhill from the moment we tried to book. I phoned on 3 different occasions and they were fully booked (silly me mentioned the groupon) until finally they "squeezed" us in on Sunday.

When we arrived the place was almost empty, we were greeted by a waiter that struggled to find our booking and finally seated us at a table for 2 next to the cellar door against a badly stained wall. Not the best start, I had already written the place off for lying to me about being fully booked but hubbie was determined to give it a go.

Starters were ok nothing to complain about, hubbies main was dripping in oil but he said it was tasty. I had the mixed kebab, two were nice but the 3rd the lamb was tough as old boots. The deserts saved the day, I had baklava (very small portion) but very nice and hubbie had the Turkish delight which he enjoyed. The drinks were cheep which is another plus point but over all the service was sullen and it was sadly lacking in atmosphere.

To me the point of a groupon is to entice you to go back, they failed miserably. For this type of food (although not Lebanese) I would choose Marmaris in Heaton Moor every time! Sorry Yara but you let yourselves down!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Moose_Hunters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    86
    21
    8
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Generous portions of deliciousness”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Visited last night on a Groupon deal £17 for 3 course for 2 people.
I was pleased to find that we could choose any menu options and only incurred the occassional supplement for prawns/seabass etc.
We opted for the cold starters although they all looked amazing. The hummous (£4 normally) and a feta style dip called Keshkeh (£4.50) were both delicious and served with warm fluffy pitta.
For the main with both opted for the mixed kebab (£13) and shared a side of greek salad (£4). The portions were very generous, three full sized kebabs of chicken lamb and shish kebab, all cooked to perfection.
Now by this point we were both rather stuffed but as dessert was included we went for it.
I had ice cream (£4.20) and my friend had the Mulhalabieh - a milk pudding with blossom water (£3.50). Again no compliants.
The resturant had a good atmosphere, it was rather busy for a wednesday night and I'd reccommend booking in advance. The music was, I imagine, lebanese style and was pleasnat background music for you still to be able to chat easily.
I'd definitely return and would take a bottle and happily pay the £1 corkage fee. I had a bottle of the lebanese beer with my meal and it was really refreshing.
All in all a brilliant Groupon deal but without the discount it would still be great value for money.
I'll definitely be going back again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank evertheoptomist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
124 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great food and excellent value”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We picked this up on a Groupon and thought we would give it a try. They already have place in Altrincham but the restaurant in Alderley Edge opened recently. We visited on a Wednesday night and it was full (recommend a reservation), which is always a good sign. The food is a little different, with a varied menu, and I enjoyed the subtle flavours. The ability to bring your own wine for a £1 corkage charge is a nice touch. The only criticism was the deserts. They were tasty, but these were the smallest baklava I have ever seen, hardly a mouthfull each and overpriced at £4.50 for three. The restaurant is compact and has a good atmosphere and, coupled with the friendly staff, I'd be happy to go back again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mjpartridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Disinterested”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Tried on several occasions to book to use a groupon voucher, Monday, Sunday and Wednesday evening. Each time they were 'full' but prepared to take a booking without the voucher. Clearly not interested in attracting new custom in a very competitive area.
Think well take our custom elsewhere!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jem999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great food and good value”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Really nice Lebanese and Syrian restaurant in stylish Alderley Edge. Great choice of hot and cold starters, plentiful mains and half a dozen sweets to follow. The food was well cooked and nicely presented, service was good without hovering over you, and you can take your own wine for £1 corkage...excellent. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TerryB94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yara Restaurant also viewed

Alderley Edge, Cheshire
Alderley Edge, Cheshire
 
Alderley Edge, Cheshire
Alderley Edge, Cheshire
 

Been to Yara Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing