We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but for me, not a special occasion restaurant.”
Review of Stag's Head Great Warford - CLOSED

Stag's Head Great Warford
Price range: $8 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Situated in the stunning cheshire countryside, The Stag is a family friendly traditional pub providing impeccable service, fresh homemade food and an excellent range of wine, cask ales & champagne to all that visit.Here at The Stag, we use only the best locally sourced produce enabling our experienced, Award Winning Chef and his team to deliver the best of British cuisine.Choose from our extensive menu or blackboard specials and enjoy your meal in one of our cosy dining rooms with open fires or out in the sun on our fabulous new decking area which overlooks our large, child friendly garden and beautiful Cheshire countryside.What better venue to hold a special event! we cater for all occasions with each event taylor made to suit your individual requirements.Come and visit us very soon and experience first hand why we are the talk of Cheshire....
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Good, but for me, not a special occasion restaurant.”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

My husband and I booked a table for last Saturday at this restaurant as we had tried to book at The Bridge in Prestbury but were disappointed when they were fully booked. I checked Trip Advisor and found this restaurant was rated as number one in Alderley. We had great expectations due to the glowing reviews on Trip Advisor.

I can only be honest and give my impression of the restaurant and my first impressions were not good. I was disappointed to find that this was not a pub with a restaurant but a pub turned into a restaurant. This meant that we were shown to a small room containing four tables with the normal bench seating found in most pubs. The atmosphere was lacking and the decor stark with normal 'pub like' accessories. The service I have to say was excellent and the staff were very friendly and efficient. My only criticism would be that the service was a little too quick with little time to 'rest' in between courses. I had a steak which was..... okay, but nothing special; however, my husband thoroughly enjoyed his large portion of fish chips and peas. The sticky toffee pudding for desert was delicious!

I would not call our visit a 'dining experience' and I would not go there again for a special occasion but I would go for Sunday lunch or a mid week treat. There is a really nice decking area outside for al fresco dining that we noticed on the way out and I would imagine that this would be lovely on a nice warm evening. All in all this would not be the number one restaurant in Alderley for me as I have visited nicer restaurants with better food buit I suppose it all depends on individual taste.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    37
    8
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“NOT JUST PUB GRUB, RESTAURANT STANDARD FOOD & SERVICE”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Called into the Stags Head after completing the 10 mile Great Warford Run, and we are glad we did, they didn't have a table for us when we first arrived as they were booked up, they said it would probably be around 3pm before a table was free but, would let us know when one became free, we ordered a drink and thought we would wait until we had finished it to see if a table became free, we hadn't taken the first sip when the gentleman came to tell us that a table of people had decided to eat outside, therefore, there was a table free, the food was served, home made spicy meatballs with warm crusty bread and the best chunky chips I have ever eaten, with home made sticky toffee pudding and ice cream for desert, gorgeous, didn't want it to end it was so good, my partner had Poughmans Salad with warm crusty bread and the best homemade chutney he has ever tasted they should sell it by the jar behind the bar, with ice cream cake to follow, again gorgeous.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gad_Ab0ut_The_W0rld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely tip top”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Visited the Stag a couple of weeks back and the food, the service and the beer was magnificent. The outside decking on a warm sunny evening was idyllic. Thoroughly recommended, well done to all.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service, we shall return”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We've driven past the end of the road and seen The Stags Head for a number of years but never ventured in until yesterday evening - now we're wishing we'd visited sooner! The service was excellent, being seated on arrival and our drinks order brought to the table. Another plus was the food order being taken at the table. The menu was seasonal with a wide selection of foods, plus a specials board and when our food arrived it was delicious - freshly prepared and full of flavour. My only disappointment was that I didn't have room for dessert! We would definitely recommend and shall be visiting again soon.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SnJCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Our 1st visit the Stag's Head”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

After reading an article some time ago, about this delightfull pub/restaurant, we had every intention of giving this place a visit!! Whilst having a "run out" last Sunday, we drove passed a
sign reading "Stag's Head" so we literally stumbled across it!! Wow and what a place...and this was only the outside! It caters for every need! Beautiful views from the beer gardens, very spacious, fantastic outdoor facilities with the table and chairs being weatherproof and extremely comfortable, decking throughout, which made it easy and accessible for wheelchair users, smoking area (under a canopy) and an outdoor area for children which was totally safe! The floral displays were beautiful, pets were allowed also (with the usual care of course)! This place is well worth, a visit! The service was top notch from extremely polite and courteous staff. A varied menu for all! Go and see it for yourselves especially on a lovely summer evening.

We will be returning very soon, for an evening out with friends!! P&J Wilmslow

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pattipoppins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stag's Head Great Warford also viewed

Alderley Edge, Cheshire
Macclesfield, Cheshire
 
Alderley Edge, Cheshire
Alderley Edge, Cheshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing