We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Standard pub food and atmosphere”
Review of De Trafford

De Trafford
Ranked #14 of 36 Restaurants in Alderley Edge
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Standard pub food and atmosphere”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

De Trafford is nothing special but is a decent place if you are looking for a quiet beer in the evening. The menu is the standard type of pub food that you would get in most pubs and the atmosphere is slightly stale due to it being a chain pub. The surroundings are nice and the staff are friendly making this a solid pub if you are just looking for a casual evening.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank salopian86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    67
    32
    14
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Ok but could be better.”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We decided to meet here because it was equidistant for both of our parties, It's a chef and brewer so we knew what the menu would be and we knew it would be probably connected to a Premier inn hotel, Parking was a £1 but you could get this refunded off your food bill (we forgot).
The service was good and friendly and the food was quite nice for what it was, All of us enjoyed it but it didn't blow my socks off.
The first negative was the Stilton mushroom starters arrived cold and had to be sent back.
The mains were nice and well cooked and the puddings where ok, two of the cookie cups were quite hard and overcooked how ever one of our party had a pudding specially made for her which was nice.
halfway through our meal a huge crow appeared and took over half of the area we was sat in and made the rest of the meal feel "claustrophobic".

At the end of the meal we did feel like they was trying to move us on by harassing us a little and bringing the final bill before we had asked for it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelTerm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent value evening meal”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

The De Trafford is a great choice for a quiet evening meal for couples or friends. The food is good value and well cooked. We had the evening special of pan fried sea bass and cous cous salad with red chard and a salsa dressing, It looked and tasted delicious and well worth the £13 charged. There was a good range of beers and lagers available and waiting staff were pleasant, knowledgeable and efficient.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“"What a turkey!"”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Booked for Mother's Day (today).
£16.99 2 courses £19.99 3 courses.
Set menu but with selection of carvery meats including turkey and roast beef.
When ordered 5 roast turkey dinners was informed that there was a slight problem in that roast turkey was no longer on the menu as the chef had forgotten to order it!
For myself I therefore had to order half chicken which I could have got from the chip shop opposite for less than £5!
Wouldn't go here again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChooseyCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“The pub has a great buzz about it.”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Our first time at the De Trafford, we arrived last night Sat. 9th March 2013 at around 7.40pm.
You pay a £1 to park in the car park but get this back when you pay the bill, fair enough.
There is very nice undercover area at the back, with tables and chairs, very good for the smokers if you smoke. (we don't). We were impressed upon entering, at the very nice buzzy atmosphere, it was very busy, but shown a nice table near the wood fire by a very pleasant waiter.
My husband and I had the guest beer which was excellent and our friends had a bottle of wine, again excellent. Our starters, satay chicken and chiili prawns, again execllent, fresh and tasty.
However, there's always a BUT, my husband was looking forward to the venison, none left, same with the sirloin steak, gone, so we settled for the rump steak, cooked exactly as we asked, but we both found it tough and stringy, not the best. the other meals were fish pie, ok and gammon, which looked very good. All in all, we had an excellent evening, would return and thankyou to the excellent staff who in no small part, contribute to a good evening out.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Trafford also viewed

Alderley Edge, Cheshire
Alderley Edge, Cheshire
 
Alderley Edge, Cheshire
Alderley Edge, Cheshire
 

Been to De Trafford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing