We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding A*****”
Review of The Grill on The Edge - CLOSED

The Grill on The Edge
Price range: $19 - $76
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Private Dining, Reservations
Devon, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding A*****”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Absolutely fantastic, one of the best places to eat. I now find myself here a couple times a month. You can never fault the food, staff or atmosphere in this place. Nothing is ever to much trouble and the cocktails are out of this world!!
Keep up the good work

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jackiechesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LivingVentures, Public Relations Manager at The Grill on The Edge, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Jackichesh,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review- it has been wonderful getting to know you over the past few months and we look forward to seeing you again very soon for a BIsongrass Cooler or two!

Many Thanks,

Sarha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    72
    51
    27
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent atmosphere, brilliant staff”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

I visited here last week and have to say it was one of the best dining experiences I have had recently. The food was good, perhaps not excellent, but what made it for me was the exceptional service and atmosphere. Our waiter was genuinely interested to see that we had a good time and and was friendly and chatty, but without being over to the top or too familiar. Will definately be returning for more!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LivingVentures, Public Relations Manager at The Grill on The Edge, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear John S,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We work hard with our staff to ensure that our guests receive the best possible service and it is always nice to hear that this has been received!
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Grill on The Edge very soon!

Kind Regards,

Sarha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great food & staff :)”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

I recently visited the grill and had a fab time. The food was great, especially the bang bang chicken skewers, my husband loved the duck spring rolls also.
Apart from the food though I really enjoyed our visit, we have a four year old little girl and the waitress was so good with her, she didn't make us wait for anything and had colouring bits waiting for us. Our little girl even keeps asking to go back again. Trust me we will be returning and I can't wait to try a Saturday night with just my husband as I love the setting and environment.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jess B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LivingVentures, Public Relations Manager at The Grill on The Edge, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear JessB,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit with us- the duck spring rolls are definitely a firm favourite here at The Grill!

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back very soon.

Kind Regards,

Sarha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Empty restaurant and we still got ignored”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

We went with our two young children to grill on the edge as it was my birthday and thought it would be nice not to cook. We booked a table for 4pm as children are only young. We arrived to a empty restaurant and were seated however no one gave us menus for about 10 minutes. When we eventually did get them it then took 10 more minutes to get drinks. When the food came mine and my husbands food came first it then was about 5 minutes until the children's food arrived as the restaurant was empty I have no idea what the delay was and there was no apology.
When the food was cleared I asked for the children's puddings however this again took 20 minutes to arrive as it was a apple and a ice cream I have no idea why. We had to ask for the bill 3 times at which point I complained. The manager was nice and did knock some money of the bill however it was the worse service I have ever experienced. I have eaten at lots of the grill on the chains and am normally very happy with food and service however this venture seems to have gone down hill. I dread to think what the service is like when restaurant is full.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CheshireHoneymoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LivingVentures, Public Relations Manager at The Grill on The Edge, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear CheshireHoneymoon,

I can only apologise for your recent dining experience with us. As a frequent diner at Blackhouse, you will know that the service you received is not what is to be expected.

I would appreciate if you could contact our General Manager Andrew to discuss your visit further on 01625 599872 or email grillontheedge@blackhouse.uk.com.

Kind Regards,

Sarha Thornton-Brookes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
746 reviews
335 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 349 helpful votes
“Lovely meal for the family”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Popped in on the off chance, had a lovely meal with wine. The waiter was happy with some great advice on the steaks on offer and the choices of reds. I image this place will be lovely to sit outside with a pint on a summers evening

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brattyhands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LivingVentures, Public Relations Manager at The Grill on The Edge, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Brattyhands,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us- you're right, in the Summer sitting outside and enjoying a cocktail or two is a wonderful way to spend an evening!

We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Kind Regards,

Sarha Thornton-Brookes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grill on The Edge also viewed

Alderley Edge, Cheshire
Alderley Edge, Cheshire
 
Alderley Edge, Cheshire
Alderley Edge, Cheshire
 
Alderley Edge, Cheshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing