We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Fish and Chips” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of fosters fish and chip shop

fosters fish and chip shop
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast Food, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Manchester
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Fish and Chips”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

Great meal, the Cod was exceptionally good, mushy peas and curry sauce excellent, chips can be replaced if they go cold and a pot of tea took me to heaven. Only drawback service was a little hit and miss, the poor waiter was on his own but did his best. Can't wait to go back

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MPMHale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    64
    16
    10
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent Fish & Chips”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

We have visited Fosters many times over the last few years and the fish and chips are always high quality, fresh and the portions large. There is usually a choice between several different types of fish, which is unusual for some fish and chip shops. The service is usually prompt and helpful. Prices are reasonable.

The only negative aspect is that there is a large TV in the eating area, tuned to BBC News or to a local commercial radio station. When I am paying extra to eat in, I don't want to listen to constant loud local radio adverts during the meal. Even worse, when we visited last year on 11 Sept, the TV news channel was entirely devoted to to the 9/11 attack on New York's World Trade Centre. With all due respect to the people who died on 9/11, it seems tactless to have a TV in the eating area showing a programme entirely devoted to the attack. I did ask if it would be possible to change channel, but was told that it wasn't possible. I cannot imagine who would consider the 9/11 attack to be suitable viewing to accompany a meal!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BrianStevenson2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellesmere Port, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Not good”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

We tried a takeaway. The chips, allegedly twice cooked were poor, they were placed in the trays, the fish on top, we went back to where we stayed, about 100 yards away, the fish batter on the underside was soaking and unbelievably soggy, the fish 'cod' was solid and chewy, totally disappointed, I will never eat here again personally.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Oh my Cod!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

Fosters do very good fish and chips, they're always fresh and hot. Love the battered sausage as well! They have a nice selection of canned drinks

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FrancescaN3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brillo!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

Live round the corner. Ate out and in literally hundreds of times. Consistently excellent. Follow them on Twitter for superb Tuesday offers. Remember fine diners, it's an superb chippy, but it is a chippy!

Helpful?
1 Thank Giles G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed fosters fish and chip shop also viewed

 
Alderley Edge, Cheshire
Alderley Edge, Cheshire
 

Been to fosters fish and chip shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing