We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Style above substance : overpriced for insecure types”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Panacea - CLOSED

Panacea
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Style above substance : overpriced for insecure types”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

For people who want to show off Panacea is the place to go. For people who like nice food, try somewhere else. I went with four friends for lunch and was amazed at the poor quality of the food. It was beautifully presented, but that is not my idea of good taste, the taste of the food is! Of the five of us only my friend who had a club sandwich was not disappointed, and really if a club sandwich is the best they can offer, you might as well pick something up in the local bakery. Selling itself as a high-end venue, it may take in the insecure and inexperienced, but as a place to have good food, try elsewhere.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank caroline b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    11
    3
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
48 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Probably the best food in Alderley Edge!”
Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

You may not think its your scene, but if it's good food you are after and great service from friendly staff then give it a go and you won't be disappointed. The food really is the best in the area along with The Wizard in my opinion.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1Bramble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Feel like 1million dollars”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

WAG wannabe central bar and nightclub! but do not be put off as its my favorite night out, ambient Ibiza house music in a busy restaurant bar with beautiful people everywhere, great for couples or a girls get away. Fabulous menu of food and champagne, you will really feel 1million dollars even if you are not a millionaire x

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank dwatson4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
662 reviews
400 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“this is the one i'd missed”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

After several years following new ownership, rebadging and completely revamping I have only just got around t trying this place for the first time. Daughter, who worked there at one time, chose it for my birthday dinner treat. The service was excellent and friendly, the food of good quality throughout and a top class wine selection and menu which offered a good selection and did them well rather than adhere to the notion of huge menus and average food which seems so prevalent.
well worthwhile trip out and sensible prices for first class food.
w8tty

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Watty5657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Panacea”
Reviewed May 30, 2012

A great place to people Watch! A lovely atmosphere nice food Alfresco dining if you like! with a DJ playing in the background. Well worth a visit

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank watkys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Panacea also viewed

Alderley Edge, Cheshire
Alderley Edge, Cheshire
 
Alderley Edge, Cheshire
Alderley Edge, Cheshire
 
Alderley Edge, Cheshire
Alderley Edge, Cheshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing