We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“24 hours of magic and bliss”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Stayed for one night in the Camelot suite as a post Christmas treat. Loved every minute. Service was great but not overbearing. Lovely location. Fabulous room. Really unusual place. Would highly recommend it for romantic break. A little haven.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smithwendy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (707)
There are newer reviews for Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

328 - 334 of 707 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2014

Had a 2 night break staying in Wizardry to celebrate my husband's 65th birthday. Really great place to stay, loved all the memorabilia etc in the rooms, and Ian was very welcoming and helpful with suggestions for where to eat and what to do.
Very comfortable bed, loved the tv inside the 4 poster, well appointed bathrooms and all in all very relaxing place to stay.
Lack of catering was not a problem, we enjoyed going out for breakfast both mornings at the Village Cafe which was excellent, and had evening meals at the Botanist and Gusto which we could also recommend.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank carol77_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We came for my 50th birthday just for 1 night wished it had been longer ,we were in the Camelot suite and we were absolutely spellbound ,the suite was out of this world and so many interesting items to look at.It i s like something from a fairytale outside and in.The bed was enormous and so comfy.Ian is a lovely host and must take immense pride in sharing with all of us who visit, what he has achieved in this beautiful,beautiful place.We will definitely return .

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janice J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Stayed in the Wizardry for four nights to celebrate my 40th Birthday.We had a very nice comfy and quiet stay.we booked this after watching four in a bed ,the suite is very different with all the items it's filled with ,the bedroom is so romantic and the bed is the biggest I've seen and so comfy .only down side is the traffic noise first thing in a morning.
It was handy having kettle,toaster ,microwave , fridge and cutlery etc to make your own breakfast as the B&B does not include this we did ask for the breakfast hamper for the morning of my birthday but it didn't arrive but we wasn't charged for it so had to make do with a large chocolate pancake from Adeli American diner instead.
House keeper does a great job ,the suite was kept very clean and tidy during our stay .only negative comment would be the fridge .the small freezer compartment inside the fridge was in need of a defrost it has no door so the ice was very thick and covered the top shelf of the fridge being a type 1 diabetic and storing insulin this was a concern.
During our stay we visited De Trafford restaurant , botanist , village cafe , Adeline American diner and fosters chip shop all very good .my favourite would be the botanist great food and lovely relaxing place .
We had a great time and would like to thank Ian for our enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Wizardry is the largest and oldest suite .
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clare43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Stayed here on Sunday 16th February in The Merlin, for one night. We arrived early and were greeted by the lady who had cleaned the room. She told us she had just finished The Merlin and so we were able to check in early which was great.
The room was full of interesting books and antiques which I had a peruse through. There were mod cons (kettle, fridge, TV, microwave, dvd, radio, plenty of plug sockets) but in comfortable and unusual surroundings. There was a very comfy 4 poster bed and large shower. The TV also swivelled round so you could watch it in bed if you wished.
Due to the very high ceilings, there were a few cobwebs high up but I expected these and in a way it was in keeping with the age and character of the building! The only downside is that I found the room to be very hot. I turned the radiator I could reach off, opened the windows and used the fan provided during the night.
The B&B is a 30second walk from the main street in Alderley Edge, which has lovely shops and restaurants. We had breakfast in The Village Café, which was very nice and provided large portions.
Nice touches in the room included large bottle of water, variety of teas, bathrobes and cake.
Pricey, but worth it for a one-off experience. I would like to go back and try another of the rooms/suites.

Room Tip: There were a few steep stairs leading up to The Merlin. If you have mobility issues, maybe book one...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fontwell36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

This is our second visit to Wizards Thatch. We absolutely love staying here. We stayed in the Camelot Suite - it's beautifully decorated throughout. The suites are in a fantastic location. Handy for the centre of Alderley. We hope to stay again soon.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Hubbard23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

...Britain's best kept secret. This was our second visit here. And JUST WOW! Wizard's Thatch is somewhere so special that the dictionary lacks adjectives to describe it. It's above and beyond what any hotel could possibly offer. Like a surreal world.

If you imagine having your house filled with empty ginger beer bottles, ancient books, hand prints in plaster on the wall going up the stairway, champagne corks on the ceiling beams, a grandfather clock and an old typewriter in one corner and even a teeny teddy squished between rows and rows of antique books - it'd just look untidy, but at Wizard's Thatch everywhere you look is a photograph opportunity and a magical, enchanting work of art. Immaculately clean and although checkout time was midday, I struggled to leave the teeny wooden wizard's door before one minute to midday. Been home for one night and already booked the next trip.

Simply magical! Thank you Ian - it was really great to meet you too.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 198Julia007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alderley Edge
0.1 mi away
Alderley Edge Hotel
Alderley Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Alderley Edge
382 reviews
16.5 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#2 of 9 in Crewe
2,201 reviews
0.4 mi away
Good Night Inns De Trafford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
1,580 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Stanneylands
The Stanneylands
#4 of 5 in Wilmslow
121 reviews
3.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Manchester Airport Wilmslow Pinewood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge

Address: Macclesfield Road, Alderley Edge SK9 7BG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Alderley Edge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Alderley Edge
Price Range: $133 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wizards Thatch has three self contained luxurious 5 star suites filled with sumptuous leather furniture & antique prints, created in a centuries old thatched property. Less than a minute from the centre of Alderley Edge - famous for its celebrity restaurants and National Trust countryside. This family run establishment boasts some of the largest and most comfortable four poster beds in Cheshire, draped in red and gold tapestries. Less than 5 miles from Manchester Airport. All suites have free WiFi Internet access and are serviced daily. Described as "the most romantic place to stay in all of England". The Wizardry, Camelot and Merlin Suites are totally individual where you can totally relax and let the centuries old aura cast its spell on you - as one guest put it "This should be a well guarded secret." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wizards Thatch Hotel Alderley Edge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing