We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderfull 2 night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge
Certificate of Excellence
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“wonderfull 2 night stay”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

had a wonderfull two night stay in the wizardry.Every detail had been thought through making wizards thatch a very unique and homely place to stay. Ian could not have been any more helpful and obviously takes a great pride in the house. History and charm oozed from everywhere that you looked.All the facilities of the town are just around the corner and would highly recommend Fosters fish and chips although not the grill on the edge. Will return soon hopefully.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    666
    19
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
66
476
9
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Appleby-in-Westmorland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

This is such a romantic place to take your loved ones. My husband took me for a surprise 50th.we stayed in the wizardry. Words cannot describe how enchanting it is. Fab four poster bed so comfy. There is a microwave and fridge with milk in also tea and coffee provided lovely biscuits and gingerbread. We went out to eat at night all lovely restaraunts and bars. Can't fault it all the quirky rooms. Will be back. Also we took our dog and there is some lovely walks if you turn left straight out the cottage walk up the hill there is loads of walks up therein the woods . Thank you Ian for making us so welcome.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Stayed here on the night of our wedding, could not of picked a more perfectly magical place. The luxurious room with its unique style made our night like a fairytale. Loved all the memorabilia and literature, everything was so engrossing and interesting. There was some fabulous historical facts darted around and as you looked round the room you would always notice something else fantastic and new that you hadn't already spotted! Ian was more than welcoming and it was amazing to speak to him and find out more about the place and how he and his family had built it up to the beautiful place it is.

We cant wait to stay there again, Wizards Thatch will always be something very close to our hearts perfectly starting our special new chapter in our life together.7

Mr & Mrs Edwards x

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

Perfect 2 nights stay!! Booked for a few days following our wedding and it was a stunning place to unwind. There is charm and character everywhere you look. Would highly recommend the wizards thatch to anyone. We couldn't compare to anywhere we have stayed before.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lewis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellesmere Port, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

My wife and I have just got back from our latest stay in this most magical of places. On this occasion we stayed in the Camelot suite. We have stayed in all three suites and they are all very special in their own unique ways.
I will happily return and would stay in any of the suites and cannot recommend them highly enough, if you have not yet stayed here then do it soon, you will not be disappointed and you will wish you had done it sooner.
We ate out in Alderley Edge, there are a very good range of restaurants there, we then retired back to the room with some wine and just relaxed.
I cannot really express in words just how relaxing it is just soaking up the atmosphere of the place, the world outside the door just seems to fade away for a while, we did not want to leave but unfortunately work gets in the way sometimes, still we will return as soon as we have time.
Oh, I nearly forgot something very important, here you will be welcomed very warmly and personally, no impersonal corporate face evident here.
Book it soon or I may just beat you to it!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

What an amazing experience we had here. We stayed in the Camelot Suite and just didn't want to leave. It was so very cozy, welcoming, relaxing and special. Ian , the owner was kind enough to show us around the other Suites and they were all amazing. We went into the village to eat, and were spoilt for choice. I highly recommend the Wizards Thatch and will definitely be returning again.

Pam Hulme & Pam Williams

Room Tip: Any of the three suites would not disappoint.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PamHulme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed January 18, 2014

While raising my children and their enchantment with stories of Knights and Wizard's whom traveled the London Road, I had always wondered what it would be like to travel that road.
In planning a visit to Alderley Edge the opportunity came and found myself sitting in "The Merlin Suite" of Wizards Thatch.
Could that really be Merlin and Arthur coming through the door going through the days adventures? it was easy to believe!
Will be returning often

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alderley Edge
0.1 mi away
Alderley Edge Hotel
Alderley Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Alderley Edge
362 reviews
2.7 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
1,522 reviews
16.5 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#2 of 9 in Crewe
2,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Good Night Inns De Trafford Hotel
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester (Wilmslow) Hotel
1.7 mi away
Kingsley Lodge
Kingsley Lodge
#2 of 5 in Wilmslow
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge

Property: Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge
Address: Macclesfield Road, Alderley Edge SK9 7BG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Alderley Edge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Alderley Edge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wizards Thatch has three self contained luxurious 5 star suites filled with sumptuous leather furniture & antique prints, created in a centuries old thatched property. Less than a minute from the centre of Alderley Edge - famous for its celebrity restaurants and National Trust countryside. This family run establishment boasts some of the largest and most comfortable four poster beds in Cheshire, draped in red and gold tapestries. Less than 5 miles from Manchester Airport. All suites have free WiFi Internet access and are serviced daily. Described as "the most romantic place to stay in all of England". The Wizardry, Camelot and Merlin Suites are totally individual where you can totally relax and let the centuries old aura cast its spell on you - as one guest put it "This should be a well guarded secret." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wizards Thatch Hotel Alderley Edge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing