We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We returned to this property for another two nights after last year's trip. The owners approach to clutter and the eclectic is a great way to go (we've been to other venues that do not do this well: it takes a certain eye).

Not cheap but for a couple of nights it's great.

Room Tip: I think they're all good - we stayed in the Camelot suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FandJRocket3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (717)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

402 - 408 of 717 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2013

We have returned today. From a two night stay in The Wizardry. Ian was a brilliant host, and very knowledgable and enthusiastic about the area. The accommodation was magical - another world that was very thoughtfully decorated and furnished.
It was a one minute walk to the resteraunts, bars and shops. We were lucky to spot a couple of celebrities in one of the local bars.
We would be keen to visit again. The accommodation was spotless and we were made to feel very welcome. Thank you Ian.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lovetoshop118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed in the Wizardry for two nights for my birthday in August , I have never spent such a relaxed chilled out weekend. We were amazed and stunned the photos on the web site do not do Wizards Thatch justice. There is something too look at or read in every available space the attention too detail is out of this world. There was a fridge and microwave hidden away for convienence. The setting is stunning quiet and peaceful but still in the midst of Alderley Edge where there is bars restaurants and a local supermarket to get a few essentials. We took lots of photos around the Wizardry and everyone we have shown have wanted to stay too. Compliments too Ian and Ali for such a unique romantic stunning hideaway. We hope too have the luxury and privilege of being able too stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie9873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed in the Camelot suite at the Wizards Thatch in July 2013 for 3 nights. It was unlike any place I have ever stayed. The Wizards Thatch was enchanting. We stayed there as it was close to the Royal Horticultural Society show at Tatton Park. The Camelot suite enthralled us for hours every evening on our return. The attention to detail and furnishings was exquisite.
My favourite area of the suite was the living room. It had so many things to look at and the reading collection was wonderful.
Waitrose and Tesco express are just a few minutes walk away. There was a fridge, toaster, kettle and microwave in our suite. After one particularly long days at Tatton Park RHS we shopped at Waitrose for ready microwave meals and had a beautiful dinner in the Wizards Thatch garden. There was a charming outdoor dining area with a fountain and fairy lights which was really enjoyable. We also walked a few minutes to the many cafe's and restaurant's on the main street of Alderley Edge. The Botanical restaurant was lovely and recommend this for lunch or dinner.
The owner Ian met us on our arrival and was a fountain of knowledge. I booked this suite 6 months prior. I had tried a couple of times before and always fully booked (I had left it to a couple of days before each time). Last year Ian was very kind to give me a few other good local places to stay as he was very concerned that I would be able to find accommodation.
The summer evenings also helped. The colour of the sunshine through the ivy that frames the windows was beautiful. I would like to visit again in winter and snuggle up in warmth of the Camelot suite. Wizards Thatch is a MUST visit!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michelle c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Two nights of peace and tranquility, what a treat, and what interesting and cosy rooms. Spent ages reading the newsprint on the walls, kept finding another bit I'd missed! The bath was a bit of a challenge for me (stiffness of joints) but my daughter loved it. We liked being so close to the village, and found the car parking scheme very easy to follow and close by so that I felt the car was secure. The fridge, kettle, milk, tea, coffee, and cake and biscuits were very much appreciated and the china is lovely to use. A comfortable and enjoyable stay, well done Wizards Thatch!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 250CathT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

After seeing you on four in a bed I drive the kids crazy keep showing them pictures on the I pad the kids treated us to two nights in the wizardry room at wizards thatch we was not disappointed it was absolutely fantastic can't wait to return back to try one of the other rooms the only downside was we had to come home thanks for making our stay amazing janet and mick from Nottingham

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bushes2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed in the "Camelot" suite for one night.
You really have to stay here to appreciate just how magical (and crazy) this place is.
Although Ian was away when we stayed, he gave very clear instructions about gaining entry and car parking. From the outside you cannot really see what you are walking into, but once through the front door your eyes will not be still trying to take in some of the things Ian has collected over many years. There is "stuff" everywhere, and plenty of books on local history, walks, pubs etc.
Camelot has two bedrooms, with the main room and bathroom up a narrow staircase. The 7 foot wide bed was very comfortable....and roomy!
We did not bother with the basket breakfast, but there are tea and coffee facilities, and you are just a couple of minutes from London Road which has plenty of places to eat and drink....and celeb footballer spotting if you like that sort of thing.
Deserves all of the fantastic reviews it receives....highly recommended

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grumpy-tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alderley Edge
0.1 mi away
Alderley Edge Hotel
Alderley Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Alderley Edge
384 reviews
16.5 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#1 of 9 in Crewe
2,227 reviews
0.1 mi away
Good Night Inns De Trafford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
1,609 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Stanneylands
The Stanneylands
#3 of 5 in Wilmslow
145 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Wilmslow Lodge
The Wilmslow Lodge
#4 of 5 in Wilmslow
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge

Address: Macclesfield Road, Alderley Edge SK9 7BG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Alderley Edge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Alderley Edge
Price Range: $145 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wizards Thatch has three self contained luxurious 5 star suites filled with sumptuous leather furniture & antique prints, created in a centuries old thatched property. Less than a minute from the centre of Alderley Edge - famous for its celebrity restaurants and National Trust countryside. This family run establishment boasts some of the largest and most comfortable four poster beds in Cheshire, draped in red and gold tapestries. Less than 5 miles from Manchester Airport. All suites have free WiFi Internet access and are serviced daily. Described as "the most romantic place to stay in all of England". The Wizardry, Camelot and Merlin Suites are totally individual where you can totally relax and let the centuries old aura cast its spell on you - as one guest put it "This should be a well guarded secret." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wizards Thatch Hotel Alderley Edge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing