We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic and magical place!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge
Certificate of Excellence
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic and magical place!!”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We spent our wedding night at The Wizards Thatch, absolutely loved it. We'll be spending our anniversary there, only 5 minutes from where we live but feels like you've walked back to the set of Merlin. If you want a wonderful place to stay then this is the place!!

Room Tip: Choose the Camelot suite, you'll be reading everything on the walls like did!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    664
    19
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
66
475
8
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

As the title another superb stay at wizards thatch, this time in the wizardry suite. The wizardry is a fantastic suite with a living room you could sit in and just look round all day and still not notice all the various items Ian and Ali have collected. From the living room to upstairs the main bedroom having a massive comfy bed we did not want to get up!!

Myself, my partner and her daughter absolutely loved our stay at wizard's thatch. Ian is very helpful and full of knowledge of the area and very welcoming, we can't wait to come and visit again.

After a superb meal in the village we enjoyed a game of monopoly sat the round the table, even my partner's daughter who is 16 thought the place was fantastic and loved her stay there.

We will definatly be back again in the future.

Thankyou Ian and Ali for sharing your beautiful home with the world, we wouldn't mind our own wizards thatch to live in one day.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank MatthewHaydock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed on a Friday night, I met my partner at the station which is easily within walking distance and not far from Manchester Piccadilly. I traveled up the M6 and it's just as easy to find, Junction 18 (for those travelling from the South) for a very pleasant drive through the leafy countryside, and then a short (less than a minute) through the village to the hotel. It looks gorgeous from the outside, with Ivy covering much of the building which allows for privacy inside without having to draw the curtains.

I booked the Camelot suite as a surprise for my partner for his birthday, it was stunning, the rooms were absolutely lovely, the bathroom was immaculate and with plenty of warning of the low beam neither of us cracked our heads. Every surface has interesting knickknacks, and the pictures include Newspaper prints from the turn of the century which just enhances the charm.

A night is not nearly enough, and we are both looking forward to returning for a longer weekend.

I would recommend the Village Cafe for breakfast - brilliant and very close, a whole thirty second walk from the front door, and for our evening meal we went to the excellent Gusto we lucked out and got a table, but it is probably advisable to book.

If you want a romantic break you would struggle to find anywhere better.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Vicky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed here for a Saturday night. It definitely gets the vote for one of the most unique places we have stayed in; the Jacobean painted panels in the beamed ceiling mixed with gold walls added to the cosy atmosphere. Very quirky, full of nik naks and ornaments etc. The decor was very tastefully done although I could do without the selection of generic books, magazines and DVDs. As we were new visitors to the area we were keen to see some literature on the local attractions and could have made more of our stay. Had we known that the nearest walks were about 2 miles away up the long hill through Alderley Edge we wouldn't have walked up it to get there.

Room Tip: Each room is different. You won't go wrong whichever you choose if you are ok with stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We have just stayed in the wizards thatch for my partners 65th birthday. When we arrived it was like going back in time. From the moment we went through the door what a romantic place and feeling .Not a speck of dust in the cottage even though there is memrobelia from the ages all around. The bedroom was out of this world and the 6ft bed was amazing. I have never in all my experience stayed in a place soooo quirky and charming. Ian was great he told us where to go for our evening meal and all the bars and resteraunts were within walking distance. The breakfast was everything you needed for a healthy continental breakfast and as much tea and coffee as you wanted.



We had a fabulous time and would recommend it to anyone wanting that special experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma2012hols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Stayed for two nights to celebrate our Pagan Handfasting. Absolutely perfect a lot better than it looks and can't wait to go again and take friends as well.
100% recommend it for a special holiday.
Restaurants nearby really good as well , no need to drink and drive , drink and stagger about 20 yards !!

Room Tip: Was shown another room as well all amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Merlin room for one night (Friday). The Wizard's Thatch is 100% amazing. I'd liken it to staying at the best, Disney hotel but a million times better. It is a themed hotel, actually more like a self-contained apartment than a hotel. The room is complete with, microwave, toaster, sweets, cake, tea, coffee, biscuits, four poster bed, huge teddy bear on the bed, a copy of Fifty Shades of Grey and great audio/visual equipment. It is wacky, homely, spotlessly clean and just out of this world. I'm going to visit again but bring my daughter too, she'd love it. It's like a film set, Harry Potter World or something! I've got a vivid imagination and just kept imagining I was living in times past (like 400 years ago) my husband just kept saying "this is the best hotel - ever". The whole place is covered in thick ivy and plants and magical, golden baubles hang from the trees outside! Got to be seen to believe it!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Dixiedennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alderley Edge
0.1 mi away
Alderley Edge Hotel
Alderley Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Alderley Edge
361 reviews
2.7 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
1,518 reviews
16.5 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#1 of 9 in Crewe
2,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Good Night Inns De Trafford Hotel
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester (Wilmslow) Hotel
1.7 mi away
Kingsley Lodge
Kingsley Lodge
#2 of 5 in Wilmslow
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge

Property: Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge
Address: Macclesfield Road, Alderley Edge SK9 7BG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Alderley Edge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Alderley Edge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wizards Thatch has three self contained luxurious 5 star suites filled with sumptuous leather furniture & antique prints, created in a centuries old thatched property. Less than a minute from the centre of Alderley Edge - famous for its celebrity restaurants and National Trust countryside. This family run establishment boasts some of the largest and most comfortable four poster beds in Cheshire, draped in red and gold tapestries. Less than 5 miles from Manchester Airport. All suites have free WiFi Internet access and are serviced daily. Described as "the most romantic place to stay in all of England". The Wizardry, Camelot and Merlin Suites are totally individual where you can totally relax and let the centuries old aura cast its spell on you - as one guest put it "This should be a well guarded secret." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wizards Thatch Hotel Alderley Edge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing