We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It definitely has the WOW factor!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the Wizardry suite and what a delight it was! From the moment we walked in we were mesmerized, what a treat for the eyes. Ian showed us around and pointed out all the quirky qualities the room had...there were many. The housekeeper deserves a huge pat on the back for doing her job so well, everything was spotless. The only downside was that we only stayed the one night. We have already highly recommended it to all our friends and we most definitely will return.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cheshirenat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (717)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

468 - 474 of 717 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2013

To cross the theashold of the Wizardry is to leave behind the trials and tribulations of the world outside and melt into, what could easily be Wilkins Micawbers studdy, wonderfull and surreal but homely, like slipping on a comfortable old pair of slippers you immediatley feel at home, we had a wonderful stay and would highly reccomend it to anyone, you will not be disappointed

Room Tip: They are all excellent !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a romantic break in The Merlin Suite, it was wonderful, it really is like stepping back in time, you feel as though you could be on a film set, the attention to detail is quiet amazing and Ian is so friendly. Will definitely go back and can not recommend it highly enough to anyone looking for something special and unique. What a hidden treasure!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

If you are reading this review for some advice before booking, stop reading this right now and just book it!!!

Just returned from a romantic birthday weekend and stayed in 'The Wizardry' suite, the largest of the three suites. Firstly on arrival you cannot believe your eyes at how beautiful this little treasure is!!... simply picked from the pages of an Enid Blyton novel.... enchanting and stunning!!

We were greeted by Ian, who you cannot fail to take an instant like to... what a warm, charming, polite, knowledgeable, professional and welcoming chap. Ian is in love with his guest house and his is eager to show you around and make you feel welcome.

When shown into our suite we simply didn't know where to look first... like stepping into an Aladdin's cave of trinkets and beautiful objects collected by Ian and his partner over the years. It feels immediately cosy and simply stunning.. as I was celebrating my birthday my wife had already called Ian in advance and arranged to have balloons and decorated the room prior to our arrival (Thank you so much for that Ian!)

The whole building is so cute and the layout like a fairytale cottage with curved beams and lovely little windows.. Our beautiful suite cannot be compared to ANY other hotel... absolutely one of a kind.. Ian showed us around the whole suite, showing us around... including the stunning bedroom with the HUGE four poster bed...and gave a 'proper' tour of our accommodation, giving us a full explanation of where everything was and even left us with about five different contact numbers should we need them for anything.

With trinkets and treasures EVERYWHERE, you would think that it would only be natural for there to be dust and the odd cobweb here and there... IT WAS SPOTLESS!!!... Their housekeeper is a valued member of the team as Ian explained and she clearly works her socks off along with the rest of the team.

We did have a very minor inconvenience when we ran a bath and there was no hot water... I haven't mentioned this to highlight as an issue... I just wanted to say that we rang one of the contact numbers given and the problem was completely resolved by Ali within about three minutes and she stayed on the phone to my wife throughout it being fixed... The service was outstanding!!!!

We like to go away as often as we can and stay in nice hotels and despite best efforts
we often find something that we are not happy about, whether rude staff or cold water in a £220 a night suite in the Cotswolds....but during our stay at The Wizards Thatch, we can say with hand on heart that this is FAULTLESS.... and cannot wait to re-book!!

Thanks again for your hospitality Ian and Ali and hope to see you in the future.

Paul and Caroline, Heanor, Derbyshire.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pootle20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Without doubt a fantastic place to spend a romantic break. The Merlin Suite was truly magical and we felt very comfortable from start to finish, would liked to have stayed for longer but will definately be returning. Thank you

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bluebird027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

What a wonderful place to spend a night or a weekend with your loved one - great location, amazing suites, and Ian and his team couldn't do more to ensure you enjoy every minute of it. It's like going back in time, into another world, which merely adds to the feeling of switching off and escaping from the world, to indulge yourself in one another. I can't recommend it highly enough - I suspect we might just go back and try out another suite. By the way, we stayed in The Wizardry - cosy, romantic, fun .... just wish we'd stayed for another night !!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhilRobinson63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Fabulous night's stay in Camelot Suite stunning accommodation and excellent service; will definitely return.

This was the perfect place to celebrate a special birthday, thank you. I can't believe that if I hadn't seen Four in a Bed I wouldn't have known you existed!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NiWild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alderley Edge
0.1 mi away
Alderley Edge Hotel
Alderley Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Alderley Edge
384 reviews
16.5 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#1 of 9 in Crewe
2,225 reviews
0.1 mi away
Good Night Inns De Trafford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
1,609 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Stanneylands
The Stanneylands
#3 of 5 in Wilmslow
145 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Wilmslow Lodge
The Wilmslow Lodge
#4 of 5 in Wilmslow
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge

Address: Macclesfield Road, Alderley Edge SK9 7BG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Alderley Edge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Alderley Edge
Price Range: $145 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wizards Thatch has three self contained luxurious 5 star suites filled with sumptuous leather furniture & antique prints, created in a centuries old thatched property. Less than a minute from the centre of Alderley Edge - famous for its celebrity restaurants and National Trust countryside. This family run establishment boasts some of the largest and most comfortable four poster beds in Cheshire, draped in red and gold tapestries. Less than 5 miles from Manchester Airport. All suites have free WiFi Internet access and are serviced daily. Described as "the most romantic place to stay in all of England". The Wizardry, Camelot and Merlin Suites are totally individual where you can totally relax and let the centuries old aura cast its spell on you - as one guest put it "This should be a well guarded secret." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wizards Thatch Hotel Alderley Edge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing