We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spellbinding.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spellbinding.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

What a wonderfully lovely place this is; our suite was full of aged wooden beams, cosy cushions, bright colours and rich fabrics. It felt like total luxury (4-poster bed, fluffy towels, DVD library, fresh flowers) but without any of the forumulaic trappings of an average 5* hotel. If you're looking for somewhere quirky and incredibly special, this is a really good bet. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olivia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    657
    18
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
66
470
8
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2011

We visited for one night in October for my boyfriends birthday, our sat nat took us a strange route but we called the owner Ian for some assistance who was really helpful and had been since I had originally booked.
Ian gave us a guided tour around the Camelot suite which had two bedrooms, bathroom, ensuite and lounge area. Stepping inside was like stepping back in time or into Harry Potter land! really sumptuous decoration and everything you could need. Its only a short stroll from the village itself and there were plenty of restaurants and bars to visit, we visited "Balti" the local curry house which was excellent and the next day found a small cafe on the same street for breakfast which was again great.
We really enjoyed our stay, only issue we had was that there wasn't a shower in the bathroom although there was a shower head you couldnt stand up in the bath due to the beams so if you book that suite just know you can only have a bath!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CHurley16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

A magical place quite unlike any other we have stayed in. We stayed in the Merlin suite for two wonderful nights and had everything we needed for a cosy and relaxing time. Would highly recommend it for a break from the norm and can't wait to book again ourselves!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2011

What An Amazing Place! ;0) Felt like home from the moment we arrived, didn't want to leave, photo's don't do justice to the feel of the place, the energies are wonderful, will definatley be returning....soon xxxx

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2011

We stayed here for two nights after our wedding. It is a truly magical place, steeped in history and full of odd little trinkets and artefacts. We came for complete relaxation and a break away from everyone, and this is exactly what we got. It really is exquisite and I certainly did not want to leave! I hope my new husband remembers this place on every anniversary! I would definitely recommend this place and will be returning whenever possible

Room Tip: We stayed in the Wizardry - it was truly magnificent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nashy231011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

My partner and i stayed in the Merlin Suite at Wizards Thatch for our Anniversary it truly is a lovely place to stay right in the heart of Alderley Edge. Will definitely be going back again!

Room Tip: On this occasion we stayed in the Merlin Suite it is a lovely room however if you are looking for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayleigh O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

This is certainly an unforgettable experience for all the right reasons! We were mesmorised by everything about it: the story and history of the house and family - which is absolutely fascinating, the collections of artefacts and newspaper articles, the quirky doors and bathroom, all the luxurious finishing touches such as the big fluffy dressing gowns and tea and cake! We stayed in the Camelot Suite with it's huge, fabulous bed and crooked walls. We had a lovely warm welcome from both the owner and staff with lots of helpful advice about where to go and stay. Alderly Edge is a beautiful place, packed full of history and legends to explore. The location is perfect for both the village, which is literally around the corner with an excellent selection of restaurants and cafes and the surrounding countryside. We will definitely be visiting again because it really is unbeatable. I had a super 30th birthday surprise and I am certain we will not be able to surpass it but shall simply have to return for more! We can't reccommend it highly enough as an unforgettable and extra-special place to stay. Thank you for a wonderful weekend Ian!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alderley Edge
0.1 mi away
Alderley Edge Hotel
Alderley Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Alderley Edge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
2.7 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,453 reviews
16.5 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#2 of 9 in Crewe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Good Night Inns De Trafford Hotel
1.7 mi away
Kingsley Lodge
Kingsley Lodge
#1 of 5 in Wilmslow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Wilmslow Lodge
The Wilmslow Lodge
#3 of 5 in Wilmslow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge

Property: Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge
Address: Macclesfield Road, Alderley Edge SK9 7BG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Alderley Edge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Alderley Edge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wizards Thatch has three self contained luxurious 5 star suites filled with sumptuous leather furniture & antique prints, created in a centuries old thatched property. Less than a minute from the centre of Alderley Edge - famous for its celebrity restaurants and National Trust countryside. This family run establishment boasts some of the largest and most comfortable four poster beds in Cheshire, draped in red and gold tapestries. Less than 5 miles from Manchester Airport. All suites have free WiFi Internet access and are serviced daily. Described as "the most romantic place to stay in all of England". The Wizardry, Camelot and Merlin Suites are totally individual where you can totally relax and let the centuries old aura cast its spell on you - as one guest put it "This should be a well guarded secret." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wizards Thatch Hotel Alderley Edge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing