We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical - didn't want to leave”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 11, 2011

Where to start? We wanted something different, unique and enchanting and Wizards Thatch gave us everything in abundance. We stayed in the Camelot Suite and were instantly captivated with everything it contained, room to room. This place felt very much like home and we struggled to leave. Ian was a great host and let us enjoy a very laid back Sunday hours after we should have checked out. You can spend lots of time just reading the old newspaper extracts on the wall, watching dvds and playing board games - bliss with a bottle of champagne. The cafe's, bars and restaurants are only a minute's walk away so you can enjoy a breakfast take out or a meal whenever you like. We loved this place and have never found anywhere as hard to leave - we have already booked to go back. It's a real credit to Ian, his wife and everyone that takes such good care of it. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (707)
There are newer reviews for Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

587 - 593 of 707 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2011

This is the best place iv ever stayed in. It's quiet, very different and the town is beautiful with very nice restaurant. My husband brought me here as a surprise and I loved it and will definitely come back. The owner was very friendly and helpful to us.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frenchy813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

Having had our wedding reception at Gawsworth Hall, I had been looking for somewhere nearby, romantic, and that little bit special for our first night of married life. Wizard's Thatch promised all of that and then over delivered in every respect.

We stayed in the Camelot suite, which was spectacular; oozing character but also comfort. The living room and bedroom are every bit as characterful as the website suggests, but there were a number of lovely extra touches, such as the ginger cake, the tubs of sweets, and so on.

To cap it all off, Ian was extremely helpful. As Camelot wasn't in use the following night, he made a point of telling us to be very relaxed about when we left, which was much appreciated.

Will definitely be back, probably for our first anniversary!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JonK284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

We stayed Saturday night in the 'Camelot Suite', this is our second visit, the first time we stayed in 'The Wizardry' and again we were bowled over with the attention to detail and sheer quality of the cottage. Its a real haven and we just didn't want to leave. The lively bars and restaurants are just steps away, its a perfect romantic weekend getaway. We have already recommended this to our friends and we'll definitely be back again soon. Ian is an absolute gentleman and a pleasure to deal with, he even called after we left to ensure our stay met our expectations - and it certainly exceeded them yet again! This place is a must stay!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AliT60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Fab place to stay, how nice to go somewhere that is actually different, and all the better for it.
A great place to stay and we look forward to visiting again very soon.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 123xxx321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2011

I was really only looking for a convenient hotel close to the many nearby restaurants and thought the online pics and reviews seemed fascinating. The reality, however, was even better. Just a few hundred metres away from the main road through Alderley Edge is this wonderful fairy cottage with a thatched roof. Entering the garden area through lush ferns, ivy and other thriving vegetation, I half expected to find Sleeping Beauty behind the wooden, latched door, ready to awaken from her 100 year sleep. We had the Wizardry Suite, spacious and cosy downstairs, then up the thickly carpeted steps to the bedrooms. The main bedroom had a huge four-poster, lavishly draped in beautiful tapestries. The bedding was equally beautiful and sumptuous. Happily the bathroom was totally 21st century with modern and efficient fittings. The owner, Ian, has created a totally unique hotel (a word which seems so inadequate) and this has obviously been a labour of love. He was so helpful in imparting his wealth of local knowledge; a sincere and very likeable chap. Thank you, Ian, and we look forward to seeing you again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shimmysister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

This has to be Britains best kept secret. Starting before you even enter any of the splendid rooms available. Ian is polite without being pushy and nothing seemed to be too much trouble for him.

Our actual stay was our wedding night (although Becky stayed the night before in order to get ready for the big day) and we could not of picked a more quintessential cottage. We stayed in the camelot room although I could of stayed in everyone of them as they are all magnificent.

The cottage is a credit to Ian and his wife for all their hard work in restoring it to its true splendour and my new wife and I shall be returning, hopefully for our first anniversary ;-)

Room Tip: Each room has its own individuality so strongly recommend viewing before making a decision
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alderley Edge
0.1 mi away
Alderley Edge Hotel
Alderley Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Alderley Edge
382 reviews
16.5 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#2 of 9 in Crewe
2,201 reviews
0.4 mi away
Good Night Inns De Trafford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
1,580 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Stanneylands
The Stanneylands
#4 of 5 in Wilmslow
121 reviews
3.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Manchester Airport Wilmslow Pinewood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge

Address: Macclesfield Road, Alderley Edge SK9 7BG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Alderley Edge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Alderley Edge
Price Range: $133 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wizards Thatch has three self contained luxurious 5 star suites filled with sumptuous leather furniture & antique prints, created in a centuries old thatched property. Less than a minute from the centre of Alderley Edge - famous for its celebrity restaurants and National Trust countryside. This family run establishment boasts some of the largest and most comfortable four poster beds in Cheshire, draped in red and gold tapestries. Less than 5 miles from Manchester Airport. All suites have free WiFi Internet access and are serviced daily. Described as "the most romantic place to stay in all of England". The Wizardry, Camelot and Merlin Suites are totally individual where you can totally relax and let the centuries old aura cast its spell on you - as one guest put it "This should be a well guarded secret." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wizards Thatch Hotel Alderley Edge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing