We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice - close enough for Manchester airport but far enough to be different.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Innkeeper's Lodge Alderley Edge
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very nice - close enough for Manchester airport but far enough to be different.”
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Family of 3, 2 adults and one 15 year old girl, stayed here for a 'nice' airport leisurely overnight when we were getting a flight to Mykonos late the following morning. It was about £20 taxi ride (10-15 mins) from airport (we made the mistake of using the black taxi instead of the private hire - it was half that on the way back!!). We stayed in what was called a quad family room - double bed and a sofa bed - which was very comfortable and clean but smallish. There didn't seem to be any lift so be aware there are stairs and some sort of 'higgledy-piggeldy' corridors to bring your bags through. The setting is nice and there's a village about 15 mins walk where you can have a pint in an old pub. We had dinner in the hotel restaurant and the food was very good. There was a bit of a dispute in the morning about whether we could still get our breakfast when we presented just after 10 am but the excellent and friendly staff backed off very quickly and served up a delicious cooked breakfast. Recommended if you're using Manchester airport and you want something nice that's accessible from the airport but manifestly NOT an airport hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ConanDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Alderley Edge, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for your review, we do appreciate that you have taken the time to share your comments following your recent visit to The Merlin, Innkeeper's Lodge Alderley Edge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    44
    27
    13
    6
See reviews for
16
71
7
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Very friendly and helpful staff. Good, spacious rooms. Very clean. Very nice bar/restaurant area (we didn't eat there though so can't comment on food) and 10 mins walk into Alderley Edge. Breakfast OK with the option of paying extra for something hot at reasonable prices. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Alderley Edge, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Merlin and we were delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us. On behalf of all the team we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Innkeeper's Lodge Alderley Edge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We booked this place up in January for our first wedding anniversary 9-11th august 2013. It was a really lovely, friendly and pleasant stay.
The rooms were very clean and the staff very helpful.
We had booked a table at Gusto for the 10th which wasn't far up the road. We ventured to the Trafford centre on the Saturday which wasn't far at all and was a really nice place to shop, much better and less busy than some of these other shopping centres like the bullring Birmingham.
Taxi fair very cheap £3/4 to get to the village. We had a lovely meal at gusto and moved on to the bubble room which is a celebrity hangout. My husband is a big football supporter and autograph collector so he was in his element when he met two players. The food at the lodge was very nice and prices very reasonable, continental breakfast was nice and plenty of choice. The only down side I would say is the beds, they are only double and just not big enough for two people, well I think not anyway. The towels were changed on the first day. My husband has arranged for the hotel staff to order me some flowers for our anniversary and they was very happy to do so. We will definitely be back here again. The area its self is lovely, just a short drive to the village and u can venture around some of the lanes and have a nosey at some of the houses/mansions. Cost us £152 for 2 nights with breakfast. very reasonable I think, a cheap place to stay in a very posh area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hollie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Alderley Edge, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit to Innkeeper’s Lodge.
Best regards
Innkeeper’s Lodge Alderley Edge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Wilmslow, and Alderley Edge are very expensive places. However, the Merlin is of the normal Innkeeper's Lodge standard (continental breakfast included) at Innkeeper's Lodge prices, yet only a few minutes from either. You can walk to the centre of the town, where all the restaurants are in 7-10 minutes.
Hotel was clean, Staff were Friendly, and Breakfast sufficient (for a supplement - you can have a cooked breakfast).
It has a very good bar area and lots of outside seating.

Room Tip: Because it was hot and having no air con in the room, we had to have the windows open. There was a d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdunn_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Alderley Edge, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
We would like to thank you for your positive feedback after visiting Innkeeper’s Lodge. We are please to hear you enjoyed your stay.
Kind regards
Innkeeper’s Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

and an expensive one, £92 for bed and continental breakfast.
The staff and their friends most have been writing the recent reviews on here as the service was mediocre at best.
The three course set meal with a pint of shandy was alright but at over £24 I was expecting better.
The room was near to the kitchen extract fan which rumbled away most of the time, the only respite was between 23:30 and 06:00.
There was no chair for the desk so tough luck if you want to work or put on yer lippy.
Fair play to whoever does the cleaning though as the bedroom and ensuite were clean.
The room overlooked the back door of the kitchen where the staff have their fag breaks. I can also tell you they clock out at midnight and return again at 5am as that was when I was woken up.
This place obviously trades on its address but be warned it might be in the Alderley Edge post code but its not in or on the outskirts of the village.
I won't be back.

Room Tip: A room without a view of the back passage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IcantthinkofoneKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alderley Edge, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2013

This was our third visit since the outdoor re-furb, lovely outdoor seating area is now a pleasure to relax in....

The staff here are all very welcoming and nothing is too much trouble for them.

On our second visit we were walking to have a late Dinner, we were cutting it close to last orders and starving, so that we could still eat before the kitchens closed for food, Gareth very kindly took our order over the phone and was ready for us when we arrived.

On our third visit on a very sunny day, we sat outside, I noticed my skin was turning a little pink so asked Adrian a silly question, " do you by any chance have any sun tan lotion I could borrow." Adrian made my question sound not so silly when he asked all members of staff- thankfully the lovely Kim had some and happily lent me some!

The food is fantastic here, especially the pizzas!

Definitely worth a visit, nice atmosphere and very helpfully staff and great food. ( haven't stayed at the hotel)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Great staff, really welcoming and helpful. Lovely decor, good colour scheme and flooring and stylish rooms. Fab shower in one of our rooms and the rustic stone tiling in both the shower rooms was a great touch. Good linen and all the little touches that make you feel you're on holiday. The menu was exciting with some imaginative dishes, I particularly enjoyed the mezze. There was a great vibe, busy but not stressed in atmosphere. The breakfasts were hugely enjoyed by all the family, I loved the porridge choices and they were really tasty too. Highly recommend to all, we were there with our sons aged 14 and 18 and they liked it too.

Room Tip: The room at the front was larger with a far superior shower to our room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alderley Edge
0.9 mi away
Alderley Edge Hotel
Alderley Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Alderley Edge
378 reviews
1.2 mi away
Good Night Inns De Trafford Hotel
2.6 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
1,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Wilmslow Lodge
The Wilmslow Lodge
#3 of 5 in Wilmslow
374 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Stanneylands
The Stanneylands
#4 of 5 in Wilmslow
102 reviews
3.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Manchester Airport Wilmslow Pinewood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Alderley Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Alderley Edge

Property: Innkeeper's Lodge Alderley Edge
Address: The Merlin | 5-9 Wilmslow Road, Alderley Edge SK9 7QL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Alderley Edge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Alderley Edge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Alderley Edge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between Wilmslow and picturesque Alderley Edge, this elegant lodge gives you all the charm of a country hotel only 12 miles from Manchester.Dating back to the 1880s and dripping with original features and luxurious touches, it's amongst some of the most characterful accommodation in Cheshire. In fact, it was once one of the grandest private residences in wealthy Alderley Edge. Today it offers 10 comfy, modern rooms and a cosy pub and restaurant, where you can savour fresh, seasonal food in the warmth of a crackling open fire.Alderley Edge may boast the highest number of millionaires per square mile in the country, but there's much more to this pretty village than star watching. It's built upon a sandstone escarpment that overlooks the Cheshire Plain, where walkers will find many picturesque routes criss-crossing its beautiful scenery. The National Trust's Quarry Bank Mill and stylish Knutsford are also well worth a visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Alderley Edge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Merlin Hotel Alderley Edge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing