We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made to feel like a long lost friend!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Innkeeper's Lodge Alderley Edge
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Made to feel like a long lost friend!”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Greeted warmly by the staff who seem like a family & a lovely young man called Andrew or Aidan?!
Every single need was tended to and nothing ceased to delight us. First time in this quaint hotel and certainly won't be the last!
Thankyou to Andrew? And the team for making our trip everso special.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpandexWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    44
    27
    12
    6
See reviews for
16
70
7
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We were visiting Manchester and just needed somewhere other than inner city or airport accommodation. The Merlin at Alderley Edge fit the bill beautifully . The room was quiet and well appointed( the only thing missing was a long mirror for the final check before going out.) For our evening meal and breakfast the service was friendly and efficient. The meal itself was tasty and beautifully presented. We would most certainly stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

I've eaten here a number of times over the years, the food is pretty decent and there is an extensive menu. Maybe too extensive, there is an abundance of choice.

If you eat in the main restaurant it can be draughty, not the warmest of venues.

We were attended to by three waiters, the younger ones were very attentive and pleasant but the spiky haired one in his 30s- head waiter?- barely had a moment for us. Downright offhand, hurried (they weren't busy) and pretty unpleasant.

Disappointed to see they've stopped serving bread with oil and balsamic upon arrival. This was a nice touch but I guess they want to make more on the menu.

Ate from the set lunch menu this time, simple, nice but very small portions. If you want to feel like you've eaten you'll need all three courses!

The Merlin has decent bar and usually an ale or two on.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Treehorn3624360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We have been to the restaurant a few times but we stayed in the hotel last week and it was brilliant. Lovely clean rooms and helpful staff, especially Kim and Adrian. The breakfast was great. Thank you

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuniperH_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Stayed at the merlin from 1st april 13 for 3 nights with wife and 10 year old son. Mum and dad also had a room found the accommodation to be of a good standard and clean also a good size for the 3 of us. The Merlin is in a good location for exploring the surrounding area witch we did. The continental breakfast is brill all in all a great hotel in a great location .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scottbaillie42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I had a one night stay in the Merlin and I have to say it was excellent value for money and I would not hesitate in using them again. The rooms where very clean and of an excellent specification.

Their service in particular from Kimberley (manager) was outstanding. When we had any problems at all she was on hand to meet our every need.

Overall I would recommend this hotel to absolutely everybody, very impressive.

Room Tip: All rooms are well positioned and so any room you are in there should be no problems at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Having decided to spend Easter Sunday away we looked on the Innkeepers lodge web site, a chain we are familiar with. The Merlin came up at £45 per night with breakfast and being only 45 miles from home was perfect for a one night stay. We arrived around 2-30pm, the building is quite imposing set on the side of the main road into Alderley Edge. The reception/bar was very busy with people waiting to dine in the restaurant and staff seemed to be running around like headless chickens. It took about 10 minutes to be checked in . The young lady who I think could have been the manager was very pleasant and told us about breakfast and contact numbers .
We were given room 4 on the first floor. This room was very large and an upgrade to the usual Innkeepers lodge standards. Contemporary in style it was nicely decorated with flat screen tv on wall, and a double bed , which could easily be upgraded to a super king without much loss to space. The bathroom was a good size and again modern in style but to be honest could do with a little money spent on it . Areas around the bath have become unsightly with mill dew. Shabby paint work and a toilet seat that stays up would vastly improve the impression. Room 4 is situated at the front of the hotel and the noise from a busy road can be noticed at night . I think double glazing would be a great plus, in my view, a room at the rear of the hotel would be better. We had booked a table in the restaurant for 6-30pm, we had viewed the menu in the room and personally thought the prices to be a little high for what is basically a pub/ restaurant. The menu can be seen on line. The selection of Sunday roasts that they said was served all day seemed good value and we were looking forward to that. The restaurant again contemporary in style was busy and had a good atmosphere. Again I think the wine and drink prices suffer due to the pubs post code? .On being seated a pleasant young girl reeled of a list of meals they had run out of, only one roast of the five on offer and virtually none of the special starters or deserts were now available. One of the things I cannot understand and does annoy me is how a pub or restaurant that offers all day roasts and being that it is going to be a busy Easter Sunday can run out of so many dishes by 6-30pm , rant over. To be fair the roast pork at £9-95 was good quality and nicely presented. We had three courses, a bottle of wine and 2 other drinks and the bill was £73. Breakfast was the standard continental offered by this chain and is more than enough. Would I stay again, yes at the same price but not sure if I would pay the normal £90 for bed and breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for room at rear of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hopefarm22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alderley Edge
0.9 mi away
Alderley Edge Hotel
Alderley Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Alderley Edge
369 reviews
1.2 mi away
Good Night Inns De Trafford Hotel
2.6 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
1,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Wilmslow Lodge
The Wilmslow Lodge
#3 of 5 in Wilmslow
369 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kingsley Lodge
Kingsley Lodge
#2 of 5 in Wilmslow
326 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Stanneylands
The Stanneylands
#4 of 5 in Wilmslow
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Alderley Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Alderley Edge

Property: Innkeeper's Lodge Alderley Edge
Address: The Merlin | 5-9 Wilmslow Road, Alderley Edge SK9 7QL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Alderley Edge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Alderley Edge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Alderley Edge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between Wilmslow and picturesque Alderley Edge, this elegant lodge gives you all the charm of a country hotel only 12 miles from Manchester.Dating back to the 1880s and dripping with original features and luxurious touches, it's amongst some of the most characterful accommodation in Cheshire. In fact, it was once one of the grandest private residences in wealthy Alderley Edge. Today it offers 10 comfy, modern rooms and a cosy pub and restaurant, where you can savour fresh, seasonal food in the warmth of a crackling open fire.Alderley Edge may boast the highest number of millionaires per square mile in the country, but there's much more to this pretty village than star watching. It's built upon a sandstone escarpment that overlooks the Cheshire Plain, where walkers will find many picturesque routes criss-crossing its beautiful scenery. The National Trust's Quarry Bank Mill and stylish Knutsford are also well worth a visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Alderley Edge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Merlin Hotel Alderley Edge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing