We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hotel at an average price.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Innkeeper's Lodge Alderley Edge
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed at the Merlin for a friend's birthday party.

Booking process was a little complicated as when I rang The Merlin they cannot take room bookings as it is run by The Inn Keepers Lodge. I had to ring a different number and did not get a confirmation email or letter.

As we arrived the bar was really busy but we found a parking space and were seen to promptly.

They gave us the key and told us the direction of the room. They did offer to help with our bags but as we were only staying for one night we didn't need help.

We were given room 5. The room was small and had a strong smell of air freshener. The room was clean.

Once we had a shower we realised why the air fresher was there. The shower didn't drain properly and the bathroom smelt quite damp.

We ate there for the birthday party in a private room. The food was average and the service was fine.

When we checked out the following morning at 12, which is a decent check out time, especially after a party. Several of the other room doors were open for cleaning. every room we looked in was much bigger than room 5.

Room Tip: Not room 5 it is the smallest.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidaycharlie1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
There are newer reviews for Innkeeper's Lodge Alderley Edge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 150 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2012

Surprisingly few obvious places to go when visiting Handforth Dean or John Lewis but this prominent hostelry offered good food and service without the need to go into the footballers wives Alderley Edge just along the road.Pleasant,good bitter,service very friendly but not too swift but all in all pretty good and will re visit.Food didn't disappoint and lovely old lady showed me around her new B.M.W. Ah'if only we were both 40 years younger!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geoffreybanwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

I ate here and had a really bad experience with the service, not the food. I just wanted the bill and leave. The Manageress came over in and in such a lovely manner spoke to me. I am usually the one who will shout and make my thoughts known. The manageress was fantastic at calming me down, she needs to deliver customer service training for a living as she was that good. I explained how i felt and that i didn’t want to come back. We ended up agreeing to give them a second chance. I did, they didn’t know we were going back and it was really nice. The service and food were what i had been expecting on the first visit. I would recommend this place and think i experienced an off day on my first visit. Lets face it, we all have an off day now and again. Big thumbs up to the staff and a big thumbs up to the chef/chefs

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jay66Liverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

The Innkeepers Lodge

Appallingly signposted (ie: there are no signs) it is in fact buried in a
pub called ‘The Merlin’. To find it we had to ring the place up from the
side of the road when we were – literally – outside of the place (thanks to
a sat-nav) and confirm where it was. We waked into the reception area
(granted quite early for check in) and were ignored by the staff who were
sitting talking until I drew attention to be told “your too early to check
in” (well gee – thanks). But – on checking – the room was serviced. So what
was the problem? Ah yes: bad customer service was the problem… The room was
average, as was the breakfast: all the charm of a Premier Inn for twice the
price.

The bedroom we were given was so small, we had to leave the room to change our minds.

Room Tip: Ask for a big room or go somewhere else
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FandJRocket3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We ate here last week and found the place easy enough. Location is good and the staff are very pleasant, service could be a little slicker but no real complaints. IMHO the place is let down by the standard of food, it's not bad but could be so much better for the cost and to do justice to the great location. Felt like pub quality food with restaurant pricing.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AlanandNicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

From start to finish a texbook example of how to manage customers. We had a family party in the restuarant Private Room for 20 people. Everything was handled in a freindly and professional manner. Changes to Set Menu were readily agreed , projector and screen both made avaliable for the obligatory powerpoint show of family photos! The assigned lead waiter for the evening Dan was a great host and the mgt team Kim and Alex were also extremely helpul. Food was great, service was timely and friendly at all times.
My party of all ages from 20 to 90 all said how much they enjoyed the food, the place, the staff. Thanks to all for helping make this a great evening. I spend my life travelling around and staying in hotels and eating out ( someon has to do it!) believe me I don't make a habit of wrting on Trip Advisor but the team really were first class!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billhManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

stayed here for 1 night for my boyfriends birthday. staff very helpful and friendly. rooms large, very clean and nicely decorated. stayed in room 2 which had no bath but lovely large shower.... really nice!!! didnt eat there as we had booked a table at gusto in alderley edge but had some lovely drinks before!
when we came back at night after we went up to the room, could hear music quite loud from downstairs.
continental breakfast was included in £76 price..... wish we would have given this a miss!! not a good atmosphere and disappointing breakfast! but still, enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cookoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alderley Edge
0.9 mi away
Alderley Edge Hotel
Alderley Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Alderley Edge
382 reviews
2.6 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
1,580 reviews
1.2 mi away
Good Night Inns De Trafford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Wilmslow Lodge
The Wilmslow Lodge
#3 of 5 in Wilmslow
377 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Stanneylands
The Stanneylands
#4 of 5 in Wilmslow
121 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester (Wilmslow) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Alderley Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Alderley Edge

Address: The Merlin | 5-9 Wilmslow Road, Alderley Edge SK9 7QL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Alderley Edge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Alderley Edge
Price Range: $100 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Alderley Edge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between Wilmslow and picturesque Alderley Edge, this elegant lodge gives you all the charm of a country hotel only 12 miles from Manchester.Dating back to the 1880s and dripping with original features and luxurious touches, it's amongst some of the most characterful accommodation in Cheshire. In fact, it was once one of the grandest private residences in wealthy Alderley Edge. Today it offers 10 comfy, modern rooms and a cosy pub and restaurant, where you can savour fresh, seasonal food in the warmth of a crackling open fire.Alderley Edge may boast the highest number of millionaires per square mile in the country, but there's much more to this pretty village than star watching. It's built upon a sandstone escarpment that overlooks the Cheshire Plain, where walkers will find many picturesque routes criss-crossing its beautiful scenery. The National Trust's Quarry Bank Mill and stylish Knutsford are also well worth a visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Alderley Edge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Merlin Hotel Alderley Edge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing