We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Innkeeper's Lodge Alderley Edge
Manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent service and hospitality”
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We booked The Merlin for an overnight stay with a group of friends as part of a "refined" pre wedding bash. Everything about the place was very friendly and high quality. When we checked in staff were friendly and assigned rooms to us according to our needs (space for cots etc) and the rooms were huge and very comfortable. We had a sofa and large double bed, huge wardrobe and decent bathroom with double shower. We had booked the Camelot room for a private dining experience and this was fantastic - we had a private room (which was free) and an attentive yet discreet waiter who looked after us all evening. The food quality was excellent and there was a good choice of alcoholic beverages. The room was rustic yet modern and very comfortable. The upstairs was very quiet and we didn't hear anything all night and slept quite well. The bed was comfortable. A continental breakfast was included in the very reasonable £76 per night and this was simple but tasty but again with excellent service. All in all this was a fantastic stay with great service and comfortable surroundings.

Room Tip: Room 9 was huge
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    44
    26
    11
    5
See reviews for
16
67
7
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

We stayed here in May 2012 as we were going to a wedding at the nearby Mottram Hall. We were very pleased with our stay; a lovely warm atmosphere in the bar area with great food and everything seemed of excellent quality. We ate in the restaurant upon arrival after a long drive and were welcome with very tasty food at reasonable prices and a fantastic bottle of wine on half price offer! We booked online and enjoyed 3 nights for the price of 2 even on the bank holiday weekend – bargain!! The rooms were cleaned daily and had all recently been redecorated so we enjoyed fantastic en suite facilities with plasma TVs and a comfortable bed. We would definitely recommend to people who need to stay in the area. Our only disappointments during the visit were breakfast on our last morning and some noise issues int the corridor. Hot food is an additional cost and they should cater with more croissants and pain du chocolats to supplement this as we came down with half an hour to spare before the end of breakfast and these had already run out! In relation to noise, there was a party that came back late on our final night and were rather loud in the corridor after having got to sleep with the fire alarm going off - not the fault of the hotel really though!

Room Tip: Room 1 is a back room so no view - it didn't bother us but may others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank misshannaspanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Myself and my wife visited the Merlin at Christmas with some friends and had a few issues with the service and food.

I since raised the issues with the General Manager (Kimberley) who guaranteed that when I returned in the near future, then I would not be disappointed based on some reshaping of the customer service.

We decided to dine in the restaurant and also stay the night at the hotel. We checked in and were greeted by the duty manager who instantly made us welcome and stated that if we needed anything then not to hesitate in asking.

The room was very nice with the smell of fresh paint, stylish decor, flat screen tv and nice bathroom with rustic look!!

We dined in the restaurant and I opted for the sticky ribs for a starter and wife chose a vegetarian option that looked very nice. The ribs were fantastic with a flavoursome sticky sauce and meat that fell off the bone. The presentation was also excellent and proved that not only can the Merlin serve good food, but it can also present the food in an elegant fashion.

We ordered the pink house sparking wine that had a crisp flavour that was middle ground between sweet and dry. The wine definitely went well with the overall food choice.

The main courses consisted of a fillet steak for myself and veg cannelloni for my wife. I opted for a red wine in shallot sauce to accompany the juicy steak that had been served to my table, and if I can add that the quality of both the steak was that of a high class steakhouse in any major city. The signature chunky chips with a flavoursome coating, accompanied with the red wine and shallot sauce really worked well with the steak and the presentation once again was outstanding!!
My wife complimented that the quality of the vegetarian food was very good when compared with other restaurants in the Wimslow/ Alderley area and the staff were very attentive through the night delivering excellent service.

We both had desserts that were again presented very nicely, with a brownie and ice cream for myself and not quite sure what my wife had ( I was enjoying the brownie too much)

We retired to the bar later where we had a good laugh with the bar staff who really went out of their way to help us with different cocktails. The customer service at the Merlin is second to none, as from the moment you are greeted to the point that you leave, you are treated like a VIP!!

We retired to bed and had a good night's sleep in the room that was very comfortable and noise free. I opted in the morning for the full English that again was presented very well and was very tasty consisting of bacon, sausage, fresh tomatoes, Black pudding, mushroom and a choice of how your eggs are cooked (Great touch)

We are booking the Merlin for 20 of us at Xmas as this is a homely place where customers are made feel welcome, with a mixture of great food, service and staff that make you feel like a VIP!!

Well done to Kim and the team at the Merlin and hope to come back with our family for a tasty Sunday lunch soon!!
(Gordon Ramsey would be proud to visit here!!)

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Highsociety07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Eaton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

We stayed here for one night to celebrate my partners 40th birthday, we haven't stayed away (without the kids) for nearly 10 years so it was much needed! We spent the day at Cheshire Oaks and then stayed at The Merlin, as Alderley Edge had been recommended by a friend, I found this hotel on here and thought that the price was very reasonable and most of the reviews were good. When we arrived we were warmly welcomed by Alex, we stayed in room 4 which overlooked the front garden, we were very impressed with the decor of the room and how clean it was. We had a drink in the bar (which was very warm and friendly and extremely busy) before we went out for a meal in the evening, we ate at Gustos which again we could not fault at all! Had a great nights sleep and then had a fantastic continental breakfast, which I thought would not be enough for us as we have big appetites but it was MORE than enough!! The hotel exceeded my expectations and we would definitely stay here again and recommend to everybody! Thankyou for a very enjoyable and relaxed stay. Must just say that the decor and furnishing of the hotel and rooms is lovely, was pinching ideas for my house!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kerri E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congleton, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Stayed over with my girlfriend just as an impulsive night away and were blown away by the pub and especially the staff! The room it self was spotless and we were left wanting nothing. On arrival we were checked in by a very friendly member of management who clearly knew his stuff and were offered cocktails whilst we waited for the computer to catch up with him which we gladly enjoyed as they were superb and the evening carried on in a similar manner with true professionalism and courteousness but with added banter and made made our night one of the most enjoyable I've had eating out in a long time and I work in the industry so it was a breath of fresh air! Many Thanks to all the team at The Merlin and we will definitely be back soon!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phillip142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2012

Just returned from a two night stay at the Merlin and had a really nice break. Hotel lovely and the staff very attentive. Had a nice room overlooking the front garden. We caught the bus into Manchester (bus stop two minutes walk away) to avoid parking etc. and this proved to be a good idea. Would certainly recommend this hotel and location.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stuart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2012

What a wonderful find this place is! Lovely location & staff were excellent.
We had a lovely room, ate in the restaurant- wow! The meal was really special! Couldn't fault anything & simply the nicest continental breakfast ever!
We will be back!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tsniggyCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alderley Edge
0.9 mi away
Alderley Edge Hotel
Alderley Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Alderley Edge
361 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Wilmslow Lodge
The Wilmslow Lodge
#3 of 5 in Wilmslow
362 reviews
0.8 mi away
Good Night Inns De Trafford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
1,516 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Stanneylands
The Stanneylands
#4 of 5 in Wilmslow
48 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kingsley Lodge
Kingsley Lodge
#2 of 5 in Wilmslow
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Alderley Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Alderley Edge

Property: Innkeeper's Lodge Alderley Edge
Address: The Merlin | 5-9 Wilmslow Road, Alderley Edge SK9 7QL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Alderley Edge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Alderley Edge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Alderley Edge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between Wilmslow and picturesque Alderley Edge, this elegant lodge gives you all the charm of a country hotel only 12 miles from Manchester.Dating back to the 1880s and dripping with original features and luxurious touches, it's amongst some of the most characterful accommodation in Cheshire. In fact, it was once one of the grandest private residences in wealthy Alderley Edge. Today it offers 10 comfy, modern rooms and a cosy pub and restaurant, where you can savour fresh, seasonal food in the warmth of a crackling open fire.Alderley Edge may boast the highest number of millionaires per square mile in the country, but there's much more to this pretty village than star watching. It's built upon a sandstone escarpment that overlooks the Cheshire Plain, where walkers will find many picturesque routes criss-crossing its beautiful scenery. The National Trust's Quarry Bank Mill and stylish Knutsford are also well worth a visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Alderley Edge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Merlin Hotel Alderley Edge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing