We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Rose and Crown Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Wisbech
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Visiting old friends in Wisbech we stayed 1 night at the Rose and Crown, the room was a good size, nicely furnished and spotless as was the en suite. Breakfast was very good and the staff were great both in the restaurant and at reception. For a good hotel in the centre of Wisbech and it's own carpark the price was excellent. Would stay again when in the area

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank barnowls47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (315)
There are newer reviews for The Rose and Crown Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 315 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2014

I stayed here in a standard double room overnight in June. The room was immaculately clean and decorated to a beautiful standard with character features. The bed was honestly one of the best hotel beds I have slept in. Bathroom was spotless and much more spacious than I expected.
The staff in this hotel were very friendly and helpful. I had room service for dinner and the breakfast was very nice. Free wifi was a bonus and the signal was good enough for me to watch stream a movie, which I was pleased with.
Overall a very peaceful and relaxing over night stop. Excellent value for money, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: My room face into the courtyard at the back. I had a very peaceful nights sleep
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aoife A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoseandCrownHotel, Manager at The Rose and Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at the hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit. Yes, our beds are the best for comfort and a guarantee of a good night's sleep! It is one of the comments we get a lot from our guests. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future Best wishes to you and your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We would like to say a huge thank you to all the staff and management in the hotel restaurant. They really went the extra mile for my father-in-laws 81st birthday lunch. They surprised him with balloons, a lovely cake and a birthday card. The team here in the restaurant are first class, really friendly and the food is great. A little gem in wisbech thank you!

Room Tip: The character rooms at the back of the hotel are lovely
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julia811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoseandCrownHotel, Manager at The Rose and Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We really appreciate your Dad's custom and he is one of our nicest customers. He is always so pleasant to the staff and the staff really like him and really wanted to do something special for him for his birthday. He was really surprised and enjoyed very much his special day!

Hope to see you at the hotel again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

We arrived here after walking out of our last hotel... Not up to our standard !
We found this hotel after looking on Trip Advisor, and thought it looked really nice.
We explained to the manager of our predicament, that we weren't impressed with our last hotel, and that it was getting late in the evening to find a hotel..... Wisbech has a remarkable lack of hotels !!!
The manager assured us that she had 2 wonderful rooms and rah we would be more than happy.
As frequent travellers, we always check out the rooms before paying, as we have been caught out once to often.
My colleague room was a single room, single being the operative word. No room to swing a cat comes to mind, ridiculously small, with no view out of the spall window except a roof top nestled about 2' from the window.
My room although classed as a double was no better. It felt and looked dated... No thank you.
We returned to the reception desk to decline the managers offer, and again walked away.
Whereas the pub/hotel had a olde worlde atmosphere, and appeared to be a nice place to eat and drink, the rooms sadly didn't !!!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
2  Thank Mikeybabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoseandCrownHotel, Manager at The Rose and Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Thank you for your review although I was surprised to read it considering you did not stay at the hotel. I do recall you, your wife and your colleague coming in to the hotel. It is unfortunate that on this occasion you were unable to partake of the full ambience of the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Good Points :-
Free car parking
Excellent free Wi-Fi
Nice food in the restaurant
Large room
Town centre location

Not so good :-
No lift - the stairs to the third floor killed me
Basic breakfast - no fresh fruit salad or grapefruit segments- waitress didn't ask if I wanted toast or what type of egg/no salt & pepper on breakfast table/gristly sausage
Wooden window shutters and openable window to bedroom banged about
Horrendous pillows - hard foam type

Room Tip: If you don't feel fit, ask for a low floor as the stairs are something else
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wroughtironron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoseandCrownHotel, Manager at The Rose and Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

Thank you for your review. Unfortunately, the hotel does not have a lift due to the fact that we are a Grade II Listed Building. If, however, you had requested a first floor room, we would have endeavored to accommodate you. We have addressed your comments about the breakfast.. You have commented too on the positive side of your stay, so we hope the positives override the negatives.and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

I have known this hotel for many years. Over recent times it had become rundown but the present owners have done a wonderful job in restoring it to its former glory. It is a lovely old building, full of character, with a good selection of different types of room. Ours was a standard double which was more than adequate - well decorated, spotlessly clean and quiet. Unfortunately we only stayed for one night but would have been very happy to have stayed for longer. As we were attending a function nearby in the evening, we just had sandwiches (and a very acceptable glass of red!) in the Bistro's courtyard at lunchtime. Very nicely served with a dressed salad and coleslaw. We did meet people who had eaten there in the evening and they were complimentary. Breakfast was good and the staff we met were all very pleasant and helpful. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meg055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a month for work.. Amazing friendly staff made my whole stay comfortable and enjoyable!
Room was huge and very clean.. I struggle to find a hotel that I feel is clean so this was a blessing!! Big en suite..

Thanks for the hospitality Jim!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
Thank Tashy83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoseandCrownHotel, Manager at The Rose and Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure to have you stay and we are pleased that everything was to your satisfaction in that time. We look forward to welcoming you back sometime in the future and wish you all the best from the Management and all the staff. Kind regards. Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wisbech
1.3 mi away
Elme Hall Hotel
Elme Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Wisbech
452 reviews
0.1 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 3 in Wisbech
89 reviews
11.7 mi away
The Dukes Head Hotel
The Dukes Head Hotel
#6 of 15 in King's Lynn
1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
The Oliver Cromwell Hotel
11.6 mi away
Globe Hotel
Globe Hotel
#2 of 15 in King's Lynn
759 reviews
10.1 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Downham Market
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rose and Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rose and Crown Hotel

Address: 23 Market Place, Wisbech PE13 1DG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Wisbech
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Wisbech
Price Range: $89 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Rose and Crown Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located within the thriving town of Wisbech,Cambridgeshire,The Rose and Crown Hotel re-opened in June 2012 under new management and after extensive refurbishment. It proudly takes centre stage as the jewel in the crown of Market Square. The Rose and Crown Hotel, parts of which date back as far as 1435, exudes a refined, relaxed charm that will instantly put you at ease with its warmth and welcome. We offer 26 beautifully styled rooms including superior suites, doubles and family rooms, and provide exceptional dining experiences, a beautiful wedding location and excellent conferencing facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotel.de, HRS and Agoda so you can book your The Rose and Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose And Crown Wisbech
The Rose And Crown Hotel Wisbech, Cambridgeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing