We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convivial hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Rose and Crown Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Wisbech
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Convivial hosts”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Convivial hosts for a wedding we attended, this hotel includes some wonderful traditional features including a rickety staircase that is over 400 years old and some great prints and maps. The wedding banquet as held in the Mitre Room, replete with Christmas tree and decorations and it was akin to a scene from Dickens. Parking is tucked away round the back and this hotel is a centrepiece of a charmingly unspoilt town in the Fenland.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BoehmBawerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoseandCrownHotel, Manager at The Rose and Crown Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. Yes, I recall that special wedding celebration in the Mitre Room and I agree it was like something out of a Dickens novel! The whole day was wonderful with charming bride and groom, lovely family and friends and beautifully well-behaved children. I am glad you enjoyed your visit to the hotel and to Wisbech.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    84
    42
    23
    13
See reviews for
47
108
10
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

R&C catered for our wedding party in October and we couldn't have been happier with it! Food was amazing and Anne our wedding lady pulled out all the punches with our amazing desert and her attention to detail.....
Everybody raved about the venue with its cute little nooks and crannies. A true gem hidden away in Wisbech. We have eaten here on many occasion and never been disappointed.

Room Tip: Honeymoon suite rocks! We booked the whole hotel out with our guests and not one person was disappoi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoseandCrownHotel, Manager at The Rose and Crown Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
It was a real pleasure to cater for your wedding and a fabulous time was had by all your guests. We did receive great feedback from the guests who stayed and we are delighted that everyone enjoyed your special day. As you know we pull out all the stops for couples on what most couples say is "the most important day of their lives" and nothing is too much trouble for us to ensure that both you and your guests take away happy memories of your wedding day.

Hope you are both enjoying married life and hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

A pleasure to stay in this large very well kept 17 Century hotel building with its attractive variety of bars, restaurants, lounges and formal rooms linked through pretty court yards for quiet summer drinks and practical town centre car parking. The place has been recently decorated throughout in well chosen tones, although slightly quirky carpeting. Substantial breakfast. Staff all very professional with a warm friendly approach.

Room Tip: No lifts. Great old staircase, but ask for first floor room if the knees are not what they were.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J_Paddon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoseandCrownHotel, Manager at The Rose and Crown Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at The Rose & Crown. Yes this is a beautiful Grade II Listed Building, beautifully refurbished retaining the original features. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

I have stayed several times recently and the staff have been so helpful and friendly. The breakfast was really good, the room was very clean bed comfy and plenty of hot water.
The building is old and full of character so no lift and rooms over a few levels.
Only downside limited parking in the hotels car park at rear of hotel and on a Wednesday evening you can't park on the market place which is to the front of hotel.

Room Tip: Ignore your sat nav and go down the restricted access road to be at the front of hotel but car park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jillian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoseandCrownHotel, Manager at The Rose and Crown Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay with us again this time. We welcome back repeat guests and appreciate your positive comments. We have been particularly busy over recent weeks and our car park has been full most of the time. However, if you had mentioned it to any of our Receptionists, they would have directed you to a local free public car park which is approximately 3 minutes walk from the hotel. In fact, there are three public car parks in close proximity to the hotel within easy walking distance after you have dropped off your luggage at the hotel.

We wish you a Happy New Year and look forward to welcoming you back again in 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 18, 2013

I have just spent the last 8 months working in Wisbech and staying Monday –Thursday in the Rose and Crown in the centre of the town.
From day one the staff have made me feel welcome and nothing has been too much trouble.
The food is exceptional and extremely well valued and the bar is well stocked with an array of well-known national beers and lesser known varieties from a local brewery.
I have ventured out on a number of occasions into the local area for an evening meal but on each occasion felt disappointed in the food/service as it fell far short of what I had become accustomed to at the Rose and Crown.
I have no fear in recommending staying at the hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neville j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoseandCrownHotel, Manager at The Rose and Crown Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
" Home from Home" has to be the best compliment any hotel can receive from a long term guest! It has been a pleasure and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Happy New Year to you and your family from all the Management and staff at The Rose & Crown Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poole
Level Contributor
103 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

spent a night there this week for work reasons. wisbech not an easy place to find a good hotel so what a pleasant surprise as apparently this place has improved a lot.
Nice room, recently renovated with everything you need for a comfortable stay. breakfast was freshly cooked to order with a small but adequate buffet to go with it. I ate out so no comment on dinner. bar area very comfortable although music a little bizarre!
only improvement would be to put car park post code with directions on website as you cannot drive to the hotel as it is a. Pedestrian only street!
I will return.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bettybell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoseandCrownHotel, Manager at The Rose and Crown Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to post your comments and pleased the hotel met up to your expectations. We pride ourselves on good customer service. We do inform our guests of our car park post code. Unfortunately, some guests still find it difficult to find!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night on business. What struck me what the 'can do' approach of all the staff I met. Received a nice friendly welcome at the front desk and this approach was matched by the bar and breakfast staff. I had a double room, which was quite small but spotlessly clean and comfortable. I chose to eat in the bar for my evening meal, they were offering a 1,2 or 3 course menu. I had the salmon main course, which was well cooked and delicious with a generous portion of veg. I thought it was good value too. Breakfast was traditional hotel fayre, served in a lovely dining room. I didn't trouble them for a full breakfast, but I did notice they were a good size and smelt delicious. The hotel is in a really central location in town, with all the shops and amenities on the doorstep. Whilst I arrived by public transport, the hotel has a reasonable sized car park. Overall, I enjoyed my stay, much of that down to the friendly and efficient people working there.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taylors_on_tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoseandCrownHotel, Manager at The Rose and Crown Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
It was kind of you to post your positive comments on Trip Advisor. The Rose & Crown Hotel is central to the heart of Wisbech and our guests appreciate that. We are glad you had an enjoyable stay and wish you a very Happy New Year and hope to see you again in 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wisbech
1.3 mi away
Elme Hall Hotel
Elme Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Wisbech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.1 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#2 of 3 in Wisbech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
10.1 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Downham Market
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Premier Inn Kings Lynn
Premier Inn Kings Lynn
#4 of 15 in King's Lynn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
11.7 mi away
The Dukes Head Hotel
The Dukes Head Hotel
#7 of 15 in King's Lynn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,012 reviews
11.6 mi away
Globe Hotel
Globe Hotel
#2 of 15 in King's Lynn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rose and Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rose and Crown Hotel

Property: The Rose and Crown Hotel
Address: 23 Market Place, Wisbech PE13 1DG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Wisbech
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Wisbech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Rose and Crown Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located within the thriving town of Wisbech,Cambridgeshire,The Rose and Crown Hotel re-opened in June 2012 under new management and after extensive refurbishment. It proudly takes centre stage as the jewel in the crown of Market Square. The Rose and Crown Hotel, parts of which date back as far as 1435, exudes a refined, relaxed charm that will instantly put you at ease with its warmth and welcome. We offer 26 beautifully styled rooms including superior suites, doubles and family rooms, and provide exceptional dining experiences, a beautiful wedding location and excellent conferencing facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and HRS so you can book your The Rose and Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose And Crown Wisbech
The Rose And Crown Hotel Wisbech, Cambridgeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing