We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel with Pleasant Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Rose and Crown Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Wisbech
Wales
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good Hotel with Pleasant Staff”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We'd been to the exhibition at Houghton Hall and were en route to a wedding the next day, so picked this hotel as it was handy for both. The staff were friendly and welcoming, and offered to give us a hand with our bags up the very sloping stairs (but they are 400 years old). Our room was clean and bright with a hospitality tray. Other reviews have said you need to ask for the hospitality tray, but it was there. The bathroom was nothing special but clean and the toiletries were good. We stayed in the hotel for dinner and it was very good meal, in a lovely dining room with a decent wine. Again, very pleasant staff with the manager (or owner?) asking if everything was alright and was there anything we needed.

Breakfast nothing particularly special but it was perfectly adequate and my poached eggs were good and served promptly. We sat in the Atrium, but if you had to sit in the bar it could have been a bit gloomy for first thing in the morning. Wisbech is a lovely town that appears to be bit down on it's luck at the moment. That said, the hotel was busy and it was everything you want a decent hotel to be.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Botilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    85
    45
    23
    13
See reviews for
48
110
10
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Weekend stay 31 Aug 13.This olde world hotel (recently refurbished to a very high standard) made our weekend! The room was comfortably furnished and spotlessly clean. The staff were very friendly and could not have been more helpful and made it feel like a family-run hotel. Both breakfast and dinner were to a very high standard. We would have no hesitation in recommending the hotel and look forward to staying there again.

Room Tip: Because a listed building no lift,bear this in mind if mobility problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ken p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Excellent stay on 5/9/13 This is a stunning old building mainly dating from the 16th century, it has recently been tastefully refurbished to a high standard but maintains the buildings character.
It is also in a perfect town location facing the market square.
We had our evening meal and breakfast at the hotel and the food was both excellently presented and reasonably priced.
What really made a difference was the staff who were all very welcoming and made every effort to make sure our stay was perfect, a great team!
I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in the area on business or a romantic break away.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GPunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBH
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Clean, nice, charming and lovely dinner - above all just perfect for the trip! Felt like I was visiting a friend, the right balance between cosy and clean. Food and song during dinner added to the charm of this gem.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank selmasbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoseandCrownHotel, Manager at The Rose and Crown Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to post your very positive comments and glad you enjoyed our singer during dinner! Hope to welcome you back in the near future. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Rose & Crown, Old World Hotel (Quaint) New World Service, Staff very friendly, they could not do enough for our group, the Food was cooked to perpection, Breakfast was made to order, real Bacon. Not really a Hotel its like a Home from Home.I will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simon c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoseandCrownHotel, Manager at The Rose and Crown Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
One of the finest compliments we have had from our guests - "not really a hotel, more a home from home". We are delighted you and your group had a pleasant stay at the hotel and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newton aycliffe
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I along with two friends visited the exhibition at Houghton Hall and spent two nights at the Rose and Crown. Breakfast was very good and the staff friendly and most welcoming. We would certainly stay there again and it is a good base for seeing more of Norfolk.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ann d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoseandCrownHotel, Manager at The Rose and Crown Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at The Rose & Crown Hotel and to hear you would like to return again in the future. We trust you had an enjoyable trip to Houghton Hall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Lovely interesting old hotel, spotless room and very comfortable. Food was very good and the wine excellent. We were visiting the exhibition at Houghton Hall and choose the hotel at random but it was certainly a good find and worth a return trip. The staff are very welcoming and as helpful as can be.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoseandCrownHotel, Manager at The Rose and Crown Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review on your stay at the hotel. We are delighted to hear you had an enjoyable visit and look forward to welcoming you back again some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wisbech
1.3 mi away
Elme Hall Hotel
Elme Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Wisbech
435 reviews
0.1 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 3 in Wisbech
86 reviews
10.1 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Downham Market
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
The Dukes Head Hotel
The Dukes Head Hotel
#6 of 15 in King's Lynn
1,043 reviews
19.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Peterborough Orton Hall Hotel & Spa
14.2 mi away
The Oliver Cromwell Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rose and Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rose and Crown Hotel

Property: The Rose and Crown Hotel
Address: 23 Market Place, Wisbech PE13 1DG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Wisbech
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Wisbech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Rose and Crown Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located within the thriving town of Wisbech,Cambridgeshire,The Rose and Crown Hotel re-opened in June 2012 under new management and after extensive refurbishment. It proudly takes centre stage as the jewel in the crown of Market Square. The Rose and Crown Hotel, parts of which date back as far as 1435, exudes a refined, relaxed charm that will instantly put you at ease with its warmth and welcome. We offer 26 beautifully styled rooms including superior suites, doubles and family rooms, and provide exceptional dining experiences, a beautiful wedding location and excellent conferencing facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and HRS so you can book your The Rose and Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose And Crown Wisbech
The Rose And Crown Hotel Wisbech, Cambridgeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing