We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, peaceful & accommodating.”
Review of Elme Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Elme Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Wisbech
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly, peaceful & accommodating.”
Reviewed May 11, 2011

From walking through the door we were made to feel welcome, nothing was too much trouble, the breakfast & evevning meal (we had steak) were excellent. The room was clean & comfortable. One last point the wifi worked well which was important for me.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cazgeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    124
    48
    18
    17
See reviews for
78
177
26
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2011

Since another member of the family has posted a review, I could hardly let it go without adding my contribution.
This was our 3rd or 4th stay at Elme Hall and I can honestly say that we have never been made so welcome - and this covers our impression of hotels world-wide and some in UK.
I have never seen so many smiles on the faces of hotel staff, our room has always been spotless and any request, however small, is dealt with immediately.
I just hope Elme Hall is not converted into a hotelier training centre, they could certainly teach many other establishments a thing or three but there wouldn't be room for us as well.
Many thanks to you all and we'll see you again soon.

Room Tip: Just ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silversouthcoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2011

Mum and Dad visit us in Wisbech several times a year and due to space constraints stay at The Elme Hall. Before their first stay I was in a position, being local, to personally visit each possible venue and having positively shuddered at the sight of a few town centre hotel bedrooms, had no hesitation in guiding them towards the Elme Hall after an impromptu request to view a room produced a beaming smile.
As technical non-guests when we visit during their stays we are still always welcomed warmly and are free to come, go or linger as we wish in a friendly, unhurried and relaxed atmosphere. I did get a gentle ticking off today though for bringing in a pint of milk for the tea-a-holics.. not for bringing in outside supplies but because 'that wasn't necessary, there's plenty of milk, you only have to ask. (And I should make clear that the tea and coffee supplies in their room are more than generous to begin with.)
Thank you - a pleasure as always.

Room Tip: As the boss said, you only have to ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pubgrubfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 25, 2011

Myself and my husband stayed on one of those cheeky last minute deals, we stayed in the four poster jacuzzi suite.
Absolute luxury, beautifully furnished room, very large bedroom with queen size four poster bed, very large flat screen tv, dining table, absolute luxury, fresh fruit, tea and coffee, large bottle of wine in ice bucket waiting for us, large dressing room with every thing you need, hairdryer, dressing table, ironing board iron etc.
Bathroom well what can i say double jacuzzi bath, double shower, absolute luxury, it just oozes class and very sophistication.
Management and staff was very helpful, nothing was any trouble for them, we loved every minute of being in the hotel.
Staff was very professional and very polite a total credit to the hotel.
Management , lovely very friendly and very homely, its just what we needed .
Breakfast there was a large chioce of things what you could have, really enjoyed are selfs, food was perfect.
we will be staying there again very soon
thank you everyone for making are stay very special it was down to the staff and managment xxx
PERFECT

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teebee2571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 12, 2011

When we arrived at 20:30 the receptionist who was on the phone did not even look up to
see who we were, she came off the phone after 5 mins to serve us.

She booked us in and asked if we were having dinner, we declined and went to our room to freshen up before going down to the bar at about 21:10 we ordered a drink and food and was informed the bar was closing at 20:00.
We went out to find a pub.

When we returned we found the reception unmanned, we went straight to our room were it was quite chilly there was no spare blankets in the room so my elderly freind had to use his coats to cover up. there was only one pillow per bed so I had to get one from my car and my mate used the cusion from the sofa in the room.

The Noise from the main road woke me up as there were plent of lorries rumbling past, my mate had a wash down but he said the water was quite cold. I went to have a shower but the water stopped altogether, I complained at reception and they supplied another room to where other guest's had to use.

The breakfast was good but the portions were small ie; one tea spoon of baked beans. Other guest were complaining of the cold in their rooms.

This Hotel was only 15 years old so they should have their teething problems sorted out by now.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DON12353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muguetu, Owner at Elme Hall Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2011
Thank you for your review, I am sorry if the receptionist was already busy dealing with another guest on the phone and you had to wait to be dealt with, there is a bell push that would have summoned another assistant from the Hotel office.
I am somewhat puzzled that if the bar was closed at 20h00, you were able sit in the bar and order drinks and food at 21h20, I think perhaps you may have confused the Public Bar with the residents bar.

The resident's bar and reception closes around 23h00 but only if all guests have either turned in or gone out for the evening, the resident 's lounge which remains open so long as there are guests..

As well as my Wife & myself living on site, we have a night porter who can be contacted 24/7 from the room telephone who would be only too pleased to bring more blankets and pillows (incidentally, additional blankets and pillows are located in each wardrobe) he would have also have helped you adjust the thermostat in the room to raise or lower the temperature.
The room would have been warmer and traffic noise less of a problem if the windows had remained closed during the evening.
Had we been made aware of the problems you encountered at the time, we could have easily rectified the situation made your stay more comfortable, but we hope to welcome you again soon.

Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed March 22, 2011

I purchased this room as a cheeky last minute deal and a weekend away for me and my partner. I choose the "Four Poster Jacuzzi Suite" and my oh my what total luxury and exuberance. A gorgeous queen size bed , a beautifully furnished room with a very large screen TV . Also a separate dressing room and the bathroom suite which was located next to the dressing room. The bathroom was something else. a gorgeous traditional shower and basin , very well lit and a very large room , probably about the size of most modern living rooms. However the main attraction , the jacuzzi bath was absolute luxury. Laying in there sipping wine with the bubbles going was pure indulgence. I do believe the AA rating of 3 stars is very unfair as this room is easily a 5 star room . Strongly recommend this room for a romantic getaway.

The staff were also exceptional , a total credit to the hotel. Polite, attentive, very happy to help at any time. and very professional.

The location is also very nice as well and has a very grand exterior and just oozes class and sophistication. A hidden gem within Wisbech and will definitely be returning very soon.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boycie90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muguetu, Owner at Elme Hall Hotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, it is only with customer feedback that we are able to fine tune and achieve the standards my Wife and myself expect when we stay at a Hotel.
I have passed your comments on to our staff who are happy that their efforts have been noted with such appreciation.
We often have late deals on our rooms and may I suggest you keep and eye out for future offers at which time we would be very pleased to receive you at the Hotel.

We remain attentively yours

Kevin & Cindy Wood

WE remain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rising Sun, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed January 3, 2011

All of the staff and owners were extremely helpful, pleasant, courteous and accommodating. Nothing was too much trouble for them. They made us feel like we were family to them. We stayed during the bad snow storm and had no trouble with the steps or invalid ramp. We noticed other establishments in the area had not cleared away the snow for their patrons. A special shout-out goes to the Manager, Kate, who made sure that everything ran smoothly. Would highly recommend this Hotel to anyone wanting to stay in Wisbech.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ralb4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wisbech
1.3 mi away
The Rose and Crown Hotel
1.3 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 3 in Wisbech
87 reviews
11.6 mi away
Dragonfly Hotel King's Lynn
Dragonfly Hotel King's Lynn
#10 of 15 in King's Lynn
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
The Dukes Head Hotel
The Dukes Head Hotel
#6 of 15 in King's Lynn
1,060 reviews
14.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Kings Lynn Knights Hill Hotel & Spa
9.1 mi away
Travelodge Kings Lynn Long Sutton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elme Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elme Hall Hotel

Property: Elme Hall Hotel
Address: 69 Elm High Road, Wisbech PE14 0DQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Wisbech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Wisbech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Elme Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elme Hall Hotel and conference centre offers the ultimate in traditional comfort and client facilities. Recently constructed the building's traditional design is matched by our traditional hospitality and attention to detail. Appointed with the latest technology Elme Hall Hotel offers the following facilities: luxury accommodation including bridal suites, conference suites, function rooms, civil marriage license and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Elme Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Elme Hall
Elme Hall Hotel Wisbech, Cambridgeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing