We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice enough”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The White Lion Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Wisbech
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice enough”
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Nice enough for the price and a great location in Wisbech. My room was small, but was a single so I guess that is to be expected.
No filter coffee in my room I'm afraid (was mentioned in other rooms and I had eagerly anticipated it). Breakfast is made to order, meals at night are good English food eg good steak. Wine list could be improved.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anniebella_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    25
    18
    9
    4
See reviews for
19
19
7
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

I stayed for one night at this hotel/pub and friends were astonished I had chosen it as it had a reputation for being rough. However, it is under new management and has recently been refurbished and the interior is very pleasant - boutique style furnishings and very fancy bathroom fittings. The beds were comfortable and we had a very large twin room at the front of the hotel which was very light and airy. Traffic noise in the morning was a small problem but it is on the main road. The service was a little patchy especially at breakfast when at first there seemed to be just one bowl of sugar for the entire restaurant but it was sorted out with humour and ease. Only one niggle - our room, despite having space for it, had no wardrobe, just a strange bar fixed to the wall above a chest of drawers!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front do suffer from traffic noise. Stairs are very steep so if you have mobility probl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sausage19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

The White Lion in Wisbech was a big disappointment. Our room is small and cramped with no space to store clothing and very little room for suitcases. The bed however is large and comfortable so I suppose that's a plus. Dine here at your peril. The "chef" does NOT know how to cook. At all! Just had the most disgusting dinner - chicken casserole hard pieces of chicken floating in watery gravy. Stale roast potatoes. Bar however warm and friendly. Staff , except chef, friendly and hard working. Would not come here again

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatteris, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2012

decor is nicely painted and clean,hopefully a new lift will be installed,the food is good all tho allacart starts around £14 when i can find a 16oz gammon steak at £12.45 else where,locally main meals cost between £8 to £13. A wide selection of beverages/refreshments are available. Some front house training for young waitresses would help.The rooms are nice,we are currently negotiating our wedding reception,the function room is ideal upto 65 guests.THe hotel is in its early stages with improvements and alterations to follow,at the moment it proberly qualifies as a (AA 2 star)with 3 star pretential.I deafently recommend giving the hotel the opurtunity to prove itself,i hope you will to.(No overnight stay)

Room Tip: Do to its traditional location some light traffic noise must be accepted, untill a lift is installed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2012

We stayed at this delightful Hotel for 3 nights over the weekend. We were put in a back room away from any potential noise. There was no noise! The room was spotlessly clean; comfortable and beautifully warm.

The staff were, without exception, polite; friendly and helpful. The bar food and the breakfasts were first class.

I would thoroughly recommend this Hotel to anyone visiting Wisbech, and we shall definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WJJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

We spent three nights at this hotel during a very cold and snowy weekend and were delighted to find that our room and bathroom were gloriously warm, clean and cosy. We were on the top floor but there is to be a lift installed sometime, We had a bar meal on the first night which was excellent and very reasonably priced. Unfortunately, we were only able to enjoy one dinner there due to other commitments. The breakfasts were very good too and all freshly cooked. All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2012

This is now my favourite hotel in Wisbech, where the staff are always friendly, helpful and approachable, especially the owner John who is a very nice person to meet and talk with, he's most sociable.

Bedrooms and bathrooms are to a very high quality standard and a great selection of breakfast items are served in the nicely ambient dining room, with great tasting filter coffee.

There's also two very nice bars on-site, with a great selection of beers, spirits and wines. Thanks again for another great stay. My previous trip here was over Christmas when we also took in a great festive lunch and fully recommend this experience to others.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Loyalty-Club
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wisbech
0.1 mi away
The Rose and Crown Hotel
1.3 mi away
Elme Hall Hotel
Elme Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Wisbech
443 reviews
7.9 mi away
Travelodge Kings Lynn Long Sutton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Downham Market
103 reviews
11.8 mi away
The Dukes Head Hotel
The Dukes Head Hotel
#6 of 15 in King's Lynn
1,060 reviews
14.1 mi away
The Oliver Cromwell Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Lion Hotel

Property: The White Lion Hotel
Address: 5 South Brink, Wisbech PE13 1JD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Wisbech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Wisbech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The White Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Lion Hotel Wisbech, Cambridgeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing