We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Totally enjoyable meal out, with a few observations!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Worzals

Worzals
Ranked #6 of 104 Restaurants in Wisbech
Cuisines: British, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cambridge England
Level Contributor
56 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Totally enjoyable meal out, with a few observations!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

With mixed reviews on here, we went to Worzal’s with an open mind.

We were met at the door by a friendly face and a welcoming voice. The bar was bright and cheerful and beckoned us over! Cocktails in hand (added to the tab) we made our way to the front of the restaurant (table 8) directly in front of the open kitchen. The staff were attentive and the atmosphere was busy, buzzing and cheerful. We were left a suitable amount of time before we ordered and our order came within fifteen minutes, however, I was brought the incorrect dish and this was pointed out. Rectified within five minutes flat, we continued as before.

Starter for me was a prawn and chorizo dish on bruschetta. Lovely, but with only three leaves of salad, I did feel somewhat cheated! But then the star of the show was not the salad leaves! Speaking with my husband afterwards however, he also pointed out the lack of greenery and sauce with his starter (A cod and haddock fish cake) so maybe this could be considered in future?

Mains included steaks, all cooked differently and a lamb shank. I have to say the meat was superb and succulent and the flavour sublime. One small grumble was that the food was somewhat ‘piled up’ rather than arranged (steak on top of the three tomatoes and four mushrooms, with chips beside) and there was no salad garnish AGAIN! I would really have preferred some vegetables or salad along with my meal if I were honest – but then to be fair it wasn’t on the menu as coming with a garnish, maybe my fault for simply expecting one perhaps.

Puddings sounded wonderful, but the two I had chosen as suitable (chocolate eternity and crème brulee) were no longer available as they had run out. So I went for Crunchie cheesecake which was absolutely beautiful but very, very rich! Maybe more of the popular dishes could be prepared perhaps?

Well warmed after the copious wine which flowed, we all thoroughly enjoyed our evening and didn’t feel hurried or uncomfortable once. I loved the ambiance and the free happy chatter which filled the room. Not the cheapest place I have ever eaten in, but certainly better than I anticipated having read previous reviews. I do wonder if the majority of folk who normally write reviews do so only when they have a grievance rather than a compliment???

Thanks Worzal’s!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pashapuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    276
    208
    108
    37
    76
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wisbech, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wisbech Smoke House”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Arrived for our first visit, looking forward to a family meal at the end of a busy week. Three starters, three mains and one ice cream took over 2 hours. Staff inattentive, unobservant with tunnel vision and incapable of putting a plate on the table without food falling off.
The best bit was the smoke from the fire which wafted through the restaurant throughout the meal, with occasional intensely overpowering acrid smell, making us feel sick and drowsy.
Having arrived home, our clothes and hair now stink of wood smoke. We now all need showers and the laundry basket is now full again!!!!! Not a good start to Sunday.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Eliza H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterborough
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Never again”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Went for a Saturday morning breakfast after waiting for approx 45 minutes it arrived bacon & sausage virtually raw mushrooms cold beans cold had to wait another 10 minutes for toast what a disaster what a waste of hard earned money

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wavyline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A sort of farm shop come cafe/bistro”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

Three of us visited this place on a Saturday. A lot of effort has gone into making it appealing, you have a farm shop selling some local produce, a lifestyle shop and a café with quality furnishings. We had a light lunch the menu was a little restricted and lacked enough healthier options. The staff were very attentive and polite. The food was tasty but not very adventurous although for once the salad with jacket potatoes was 'dressed' Overall we enjoyed our time spent here

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kvh315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Don't waste your precious time”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Dropped in to Worzals for Sunday lunch. Having watched the 'authentic farme shoppe' be constructed from scratch in a field by the A47, then be extended to include a bar and grill, we were curious to see what was on offer.

Things started badly. After 5 minutes we were asked for our drinks order, but it took another 10 minutes for it to arrive, and unfortunately as the girl brought the bottles of Coke to the table, she managed to spill one over my wife. The girl looked mortified, but didn't actually help clean up - we sorted ourselves out with napkins from surrounding tables. The manager then came up to us, said he saw what happened and apologised - we would have preferred if he had helped.

The waitress then returned, took our order for starter (onion rings) and main meals. After time marked by tectonic plate movement, the manager came over with our mains - when we queried about the starter, he called the waitress, then went over to the kitchen and came back to say that the order hadn't been placed (total rubbish as we watched the waitress place the order). We therefore ate the mains. The meat was excellent, but the vegetables were poorly cooked and buried under a mountain of mashed potato.

We decided to skip dessert and pay the bill. As if by magic the 'starter' that hadn't been ordered appeared on the bill - we queried this and it was deducted from the bill, together with the drinks - finally a shred of customer service from the manager.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
10 Thank L0tusBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Worzals also viewed

Wisbech, Cambridgeshire
Downham Market, Norfolk
 
Wisbech, Cambridgeshire
 
Wisbech, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to Worzals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing