We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“From sunset to sunrise! A new day dawns!!”
Review of Rising Sun

Rising Sun
Ranked #21 of 107 Restaurants in Wisbech
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: 01945 583754 Wisbech, Cambridgeshire Dowgate Rd Leverington, PE13 5DH
Wisbech, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“From sunset to sunrise! A new day dawns!!”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Until a few months ago this village pub was looking distinctly tired and run down. My last meal here a couple of years ago was not good and I had not intended on returning, however having heard of new management taking over I decided to give it another go. On entering there was the friendliest welcome you could wish for and I was pleased to see that the interior had been redecorated with some cool green panelling, the dirty old carpet was gone to make way for some wood flooring and the place looked clean and spacious. The menu was fairly comprehensive and there was a choice of specials on the board. My salmon was lovely and tasty and accompanied by freshly prepared veg, followed by a good choice of desserts and there were several types of coffee on offer. Throughout the meal the service was attentive and customer focused without being intrusive and every member of staff greeted you with a ready smile. Since dining I notice the outside of the building is being painted so it looks like things are going from good to even better. Congratulations to the new owners for turning this place around - I will definitely be back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank stubbornfella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    13
    2
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“smiles all round”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Although this country pub has been under new management for some months this is the first time I have been for a meal there. The food was well cooked, well presented and the staff were perfectly attentive. There are also good local beers on offer too. You can chose to eat in the bar or the restaurant, both give good service. Alredy looking forward to my next meal there!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank alan_uk1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“absolutly awful”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

So disgusted with the place. staff are rude, food was awful. the sign from st georges day was still up on the front front of the building!!! a mountain of clothes appeared in the upstairs front window.Really dissapointed as was reccommended to go.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mmmmmmlovegoodgrub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisbech, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Warm Welcome, Splendid Food”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

This small, but perfectly formed, village pub is now under new management, and what a difference! The landlady, Maggie, makes you feel very welcome, and very soon you feel part of The Rising Sun 'family'. The new decor has made a real difference to the once tired pub. The new panelling and flooring give it a modern twist, but there is enough of the old Rising Sun left to retain it's character. The menu has all the usual pub grub standards - steaks, scampi, burgers, ham egg & chips etc, but the specials board always has something interesting on it. I had the mushroom and red onion pudding from the board, and it was spectacular - something a bit different! Can not recommend this little gem of a village pub highly enough. Go and try it out for yourself - you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank FenDiva68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rising Sun also viewed

Wisbech, Cambridgeshire
Wisbech, Cambridgeshire
 
Wisbech, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to Rising Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing