We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lucky find”
Review of Blacksmiths Arms - CLOSED

Blacksmiths Arms
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Elm High Road, PE14 0DH
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
277 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“A lucky find”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We went to the Blacksmiths Arms for dinner on the night after visiting The Elm Tree Inn and it was altogether a more pleasant experience. Not their busiest of nights but very friendly helpful staff. A large part of their menu is steaks, but there is enough choice to keep most people happy.
My wife and I both had a mushroom dish to start, she had breaded mushrooms and I had a stuffed portobello mushroom. Both very tasty and well cooked. We both followed up with cod and chips, again well cooked in an excellent batter. I finished with a plum crumble which was a really good way to finish a very pleasant meal.
There was a choice of excellent beers and ciders and a limited, but very fairly priced wine list. The whole meal was good value and we wil;l return.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank welshtraveller42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    33
    8
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cambs
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“birthday meal”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

we went on 12 october a sat evening for my daughters 18th. it was quite busy when we arrived but was sat down straight away. the food was excellent and well presented also the staff were smart and friendly. good selection of ales on and well kept. the whole place was spotless we will be going back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank psychoCambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place to chill out”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Great food, nothing was too much touble, the resturant looks spotless & tastefully decorated. Breakfast was supurb, would definately recommend a visit. Will definately return next time I'm in Wisbech

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JB00129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Pleasant place for both eating and drinking”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We called in to this pub for an evening drink whilst staying at a nearby hotel. There is a good selection of drinks inlcuding 2-3 hand-pull ales. The actual bar seating area is not huge as a large part of the pub is taken with dining tables however there is ample seating for around a dozen people. We did not eat there but saw meals coming out and they looked very good. Nice selection on the menu board and a v ery reasonable price. If we are in the area again would certainly consider eating there.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank simonmerriman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon and Peterborough, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“best place around here to eat”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

went here tonight for our wedding anniversary meal, we have been here a few times but my husband said tonight was the best bit of steak he has ever eaten out.best onion rings around.
staff are always helpful and polite. it is always clean and tidy. very lovely place to eat. i see people say it is expensive well you get what you pay for and we always go here as we know we will always get a lovely meal.
Tina the owner is a star i had my knee replaced and needed to put my leg up she got me a stool to help me out. and thankyou ever such a welcoming place

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blacksmiths Arms also viewed

Wisbech, Cambridgeshire
Guyhirn, Wisbech
 
Wisbech, Cambridgeshire
Wisbech, Cambridgeshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing