We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Old Vicarage Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 12 Wisbech B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 5, 2013

We recently stayed for 2 nights at The Old Vicarage and were very impressed. It is not often these days that the room/house lives up to the pictures on a website, but in this instance there was no disappointment. We stayed in a huge king size room which was beautifully furnished. A big thank you to Sonja and Chris for being so welcoming and making us feel comfortable, nothing was too much trouble. We didn't get chance to try the homemade cakes on arrival because we visit Wisbech to see friends so only popped in to collect a key. The choices for breakfast were plentiful, I had fruit followed by a lovely cooked breakfast. The B&B is very good value for money and we will without doubt be staying again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angie43Hampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
There are newer reviews for The Old Vicarage Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 57 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2013

Having stayed in many hotels for work across the continent i am always skeptical about B&Bs. However the bar has been raised considerably by Chris and Sonja at The Old Vicarage. Not only was the location and amenities amazing but they were such welcoming hosts. I will surely be returning. Thank you Chris and Sonja- you have put my faith back in UK B&Bs however not sure anyone will match your quality!

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms here. Book with confidence
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SteveNGardner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed in The Old Vicarage for two nights in September 2013 and were really impressed with our experience. On arrival we enjoyed a lovely cup of tea and a piece of cake and Sonja and Chris were really helpful, advising us about places to see and visit.
The room we stayed in was beautifully decorated and really clean and comfortable. Breakfast on both mornings was excellent. The Old Vicarage really was a wonderful place to stay at!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heidi396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

On arrival we were warmly greeted by Sonja who made us feel not just welcome but part of the family! Nothing was too much trouble. After a lovely pot of tea and gorgeous homemade cake we were shown to our room. The house is beautifully decorated and restored to a very high standard with some beautiful artistic touches that at times you think you could be on the set of "Downton Abbey"!!! Our room had the king size bed and was very spacious and again the decorations were perfection with a fine view of the secluded garden.
Breakfast was taken around a communal table where we joined other guests. Cereal and fruit juice were on a help yourself basis but the cooked breakfast was delicious and freshly cooked to your choice. Much of the ingredients were either homemade or local produce. The accommodation is a very high standard, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. As Arnie said "we will be back!"

Room Tip: The old vicarage is secluded so any room is going to be quiet. The only difference will be the size...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank malcolm a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Visiting family in Gorefield and we stayed with an 11 month old.

Sonja and Chris were brilliant- so welcoming and excellent breakfast hosts. The morning food was excellent with great poached eggs and nothing being too much trouble.

Room was large and clean with plenty of space for a cot.

Would recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Willyc88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Thank you Sonia and Chris for looking after us so brilliantly. You were a haven away from the crazy 21st our son had planned and your facilities, cleanliness and high quality accommodation is faultless. The previous 5* reviews say it all but I have to say that anyone who can cooked a good poached egg (I find that impossible) gets an extra special pat on the back. If we ever visit the area again we would not even consider looking elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crackerjack827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

very welcoming hosts ,a charming and well equipped room with home comforts, The Old Vicarage we can highly recommend , for a comforting stay,the breakfast was excellent with homemade jams and marmalade,the house itself has been restored to a very high standard

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paul w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisbech hotels
4.2 mi away
Elme Hall Hotel
Elme Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Wisbech
452 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Rose and Crown Hotel
3.0 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 3 in Wisbech
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Oliver Twist Country Inn
4.4 mi away
The Elm Tree Inn
The Elm Tree Inn
#1 of 12 in Wisbech
111 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Secret Garden Touring Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Vicarage Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Vicarage Bed and Breakfast

Address: Old Vicarage Gote Lane | Gorefield, Wisbech PE13 4NJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Wisbech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Wisbech
Price Range: $117 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Vicarage Bed and Breakfast is luxurious accommodation nearby to the market town of Wisbech. This 1872 Victorian Gothic Vicarage is set in a secluded garden with majestic oak, lime and yew trees surrounding the imposing property.The property has been lovingly restored with great care and attention to detail, blending together the Victorian period with the comfort and elegance of the modern day. Entering the vicarage through the original oak doors you are at once charmed by the grand space of the hall with its wide staircase and galleried landing. Fresh flowers and paintings adorn the house along with lovely antique furniture lending to the atmosphere of peace and tranquility.Tea or coffee together with homemade cake or biscuits is served in the library on your arrival in front of a cosy log fire. Throughout the house is a wealth of books for bedtime reading or for bookworms to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Old Vicarage Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Vicarage Bed And Breakfast Wisbech, Cambridgeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing