We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”
Review of Imperial Bento - CLOSED

Imperial Bento
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations
Description: 01733 849188
Level Contributor
60 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Popped in to bento's for a quick bite with some friends, as always we hit the buffet quite hard. Everything was really good the service was great. The smoked chicken a big hit with all and the duck pancakes were very crisp but not greasy at all, all in all very good

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pointer12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    24
    15
    4
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Do not be put off by the location and appearance of the building, inside it is lovely and the food is amazing”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The food is the best chinese food ever. We had a really lovely meal. You order your starters, as many as you like and your duck course then you select your mains.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank susan t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Value for money, better than appearances”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I have been to this restaurant twice now. While it is value for money (as long as you are hungry), the best part of the meal is the starters which you can have numerous times before the second course. I personally recommend the Chompy Prawns which are a great size and texture. Wwhen I asked the waitress what the Two Winter chicken tasted of, she could not explain what the sauce was. I found out it to be garlicky and not as many mushrooms as hoped compared to how it was advised on the menu.

At time this restaurant can get busy, so you will want to book in advance. Also service may be slower during these times, it took 25 mins to get my mains once order so if you are in it for the long haul also consider the time you want to book your table. Though this was not a problem on the second visit.

The service is generally good, though there is one waitress who never smiles on both occasions I've been (luckily she never served me.)

While it may be viewed as run down looking from the outside and inside the décor is slightly dated. I would say don't let appearances deceive you from a brilliant meal.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank NomNomNomming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
105 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Quantity, not quality”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Ordered a take out, decent size portions, although a few more pancakes with the duck and a bit less sauce would have been nicer. Food was decent enough. A safe Chinese take out, with a broad menu. Would go again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank M A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent
Level Contributor
164 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Better on the inside..”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Thought id try Peterborough's baby sister while in the area. Not so appealing from the outside, and probably done best they can with the building on the inside.
On a wednesday night was no more than a dozen diners but considering its location probably not so bad.
Service was very good and staff were very friendly and attentive. Food was also very nice although menu had a lot of crossed out items. supposedly slightly cheaper than Big sister but i didnt notice it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Imperial Bento also viewed

Guyhirn, Wisbech
Wisbech, Cambridgeshire
 
Wisbech, Cambridgeshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing