We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great golf poor hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Abbotsley Golf Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in St. Neots
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great golf poor hotel”
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Just come back from a weekend away with our golf society. Spent three nights and two days away with three rounds of golf on their two courses.

The golf course was very good and we all enjoyed our rounds of golf.

The hotel is basic but everything you could want or need is there.

The only real thing that let it down was the food.

The first day we were given the menus to choose our meals for that night from. Which was really good a great and wide chioce of dishes. The food that night was excellent we all enjoyed it, it was maybe the best food we have had on our annual weekend away.

But then on the second night the same menu which was ok because of the choice. But the food was terrible, all we could think of was they had changed the chef. Five of our party sent the rack of lamb back because it was raw and bloody. We were not the only society there that weekend who sent their dinner back that night.

The hotel itself is looking a bit dated with stained carpets and our bathroom ceiling had a bad water stain on it. (Room 33)

Such a shame.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 37grb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    45
    39
    11
    9
See reviews for
12
14
5
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Norwich
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

One of the finest golf courses in Cambridgeshire, a real test. The accomodation is good, but now the staff and food are exceptional too. We went on a 2 night 3 day break and everything was great. Definately recommend, look out for an off season deal it is fantastic value and an experience that you will recommend to everyone.

Room Tip: The rooms in the new part of the hotel are very good, and you can park right outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susiefage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for a golfing weekend. The Abbotsley golf course is both tricky and picturesque, as well as perfectly maintained, everything you want for a golf course. It's sister course the Cromwell is good but not of the same standard.
For the hotel, I found the service exceptional, great menu and great food. The rooms are large but basically equipped. Breakfast didn't quite meet the dinner standards. Overall the hotel and it's amenities are a little dated but a pleasant place to stay

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Reds0x0407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Ireland
Level Contributor
129 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

Recommended by a business colleague and certainly good value and off the beaten track!
Received a pleasant welcome and given a double room as the hotel was quiet.Room was spacious and clean but a little basic.
Had a bar meal and a few drinks in The Hayloft - a smart barn-style room - and staff were certainly friendly and helpful.Food too was good.Comfortable nights sleep.
Only took a light breakfast next morning so no real comment there.Golf course certainly looked inviting!Would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morchwestport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2011

We stayed at Abbotsley for 3 nights as part of a Society trip for 8 golfers, the Golf Hotel has two courses the Abbotsley which is a challenging and enjoyable course that needs to be thoughtfully played otherwise you will find yourself struggling for points and the Cromwell which is the easier of the two courses and has the option to open your shoulders with a drive and find a fairway (not always the one your playing!), the clubhouse at the Cromwell looks a bit tired as does the décor in the clubhouse. The Abbotsley side is a much nicer club house and more modern, the staff in general were all very pleasant and easy to talk to you although we did find one person who did seem to have the world on her shoulders and a smile that had long been forgotten!. We found that to use the driving range which was based at the Cromwell Course was a chore if not playing your round there, this meant a 15min walk across the course to get there if you wanted to warm up before playing the Abbotsley.

The food in general was good although a number of the party found that you couldn't request how your meats could be cooked and you tended to receive it as per the chef's choice, the Restaurant were very good when it cam to accommodating one of the younger members of our party who was a little bit harder to please when it came to meals.

The rooms were clean and pleasant although my room mate and myself thought the beds were not very wide and therefore not as comfortable as we would have liked.

This is one of those Hotels's where it was good to visit but not on the short-list to come back soon.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonic145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ampthill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2011

Stayed here with a golf society and it was fantastic, service was superb and friendly, food was excellent and with a quick and friendly service. There was nothing that was any trouble to sort out and it was done with a smile, couldn't fault the stay,service or the golf which I have to say apart from the thunderstorm calling an early stop on Saturday was fantastic. Would stay here again without any hesitation and it's a shame other so called golf and country clubs are not off this standard. well done to all who made this short stay one to remember. Andy Sutch

Room Tip: Have any room because they are all of a high standard, comfortable and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andysutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Neots Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We had our wedding celebration here, we spent some considerable time with the management (which changed during our two visits) outlining our requirements and what they would offer. The second visit was very productive and we thought we had everything under control.

The results were very mixed. The evening went well eventually thanks to our attitude to a number of major communication breakdowns and Mick, the restaurant manager.

The positives were the food was an excellent BBQ, very tasty and good quality and Mick the restaurant manager was fantastic in handling the complaints and who decorated our rooms to a high standard.

The downsides were that the management didn't communicate with each other as when we arrived Mick knew nothing of what had been previously agreed and did everything he could to make it better. The lack of communication meant that a number of things were done incorrectly and specific things we said we didnt want, then happened and made decisions without consultation. Mick did sort out most of them, but it shouldnt take an hour to go back through what had been agreed previously. The management said they would be there on the night but they were not.

Despite 15-20 less guests arriving than we paid for, they ran out of desert choice, I had to get Mick to get my wife a desert of her choice. We were promised that the food that was not eaten would be placed somewhere and be available till 10pm. This didnt happen and as a result some of our guests didnt get food. We were promise the food would be served at the bottom of the putting green and a newly acquired marquee would be put up if it should rain. Neither of these were true. The Marquee was used for golfers and therefore reduced the space for the BBQ which meant time delays for other parts of the party.

The disco man and the distribution of the cake was good and were pleased with that and the magician we brought in was excellent.

The following morning, the staff at the breakfast was particularly poor with myself having to ask for my breakfast again and number of our guests didnt get what they asked for and served by a member of staff who was simply grumpy.

The hotel part of the stay was also mixed with the receptionist booked someone into one of the rooms we had paid for, but didnt know who was in the room, eventually our guest had to go to their room. We paid £125 for a double room, the room was nice, clean and spacey with a large TV but the bathroom and its facilities were poor, the shower was weak and the bathroom door didnt shut unless ya had some brut force. We believed we had booked rooms next to the venue and found they were not, they were in another complex.

An email was sent to the management . The response was poor it has made me very reluctant to recommend or use Abbotsley and no response to a further email made to the managing Director from two days ago.

If you are to use this as a venue then make sure you put what you thought you had in writing with every detail specified and deal with Mick otherwise you end up sorting out the mess with Mick on the night and thinking things would happen but dont.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RichardBourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Neots
2.6 mi away
Wyboston Lakes Hotel
Wyboston Lakes Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wyboston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,510 reviews
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn St. Neots (A1/Wyboston) Hotel
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn St. Neots (Colmworth Park) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
The Lion Hotel
The Lion Hotel
#1 of 2 in Buckden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
10.0 mi away
Huntingdon Marriott Hotel
Huntingdon Marriott Hotel
#4 of 9 in Huntingdon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
14.1 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#9 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbotsley Golf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbotsley Golf Hotel

Property: Abbotsley Golf Hotel
Address: Potton Road, St. Neots E19 6XN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > St. Neots
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in St. Neots
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbotsley Golf Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abbotsley Golf Hotel is located within 250 acres of beautiful parkland. It offers en suite rooms, restaurant, 3 golf courses and excellent leisure facilities. The Abbotsley course is an 18-hole championship course where various national and regional tournaments have been held. It is regarded as one of the finest in the area. All of Abbotsley Golf’s rooms have a TV and tea and coffee making facilities; many have beautiful views over the golf courses and gardens and a bath. Abbotsley has 3 bars, 2 with Sky Sports TV, and guests can enjoy a fitness room, a comfortable lounge area, a pool table and free high-speed internet in the bar area. We speak your language! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Abbotsley Golf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbotsley Golf Hotel St. Neots, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing