We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mid week break”
Review of Sheene Mill

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sheene Mill
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Melbourn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2014

This was a most charming and pleasant surprise, the relatively new hotel owner ( a year and a half into the ownership) provided the perfect amount of attention to detail, all of the staff were helpful, courteous and pleasant right down to the KP. The food was fabulous - beautifully presented, well cooked and served with pride. The accommodation its self was a great place to relax, chill out and offered an ideal spring board into Cambridge or surrounding countryside for a variety of activities. The best thing for us was that our two Scottish Terriers were most welcomed. All excellent reasons for us to visit again - thank you Sereena for making our break such a good one.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (273)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 273 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2014

I really cannot fault this hotel, apart from that whenever I try to rebook its always fullt booked probably because it's so good!!! ;o) Make time if it's a nice day to just sit out on the decking with a cold one & enjoy the surroundings!!!

Room Tip: The David Emmanuelle suite is lovely, great views!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ado1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

We have been visiting the Sheene Mill for almost twenty years and have seen it through a few ups and downs. However, under the current leadership it is back to its' very best. We eat in the restaurant reasonably often and if is consistently good - good food and wonderful service.

Against this back drop we decided to have our silver wedding party at the hotel - taking over the hotel for the evening. We had the most fabulous time. Emma who organises the events is superb, she works incredibly hard to make sure that your event is just as you would hope it should be. Serena who now runs the hotel is also highly visible and works also to make sure what you feel that they really do care that you have a wonderful time.

We took all the hotel rooms and our experience was good. Yes, they are quirky but then again by his is hardly surprising, it is an old building. Certainly they are clean and very comfortable.

The food for our party was outstanding, as was the service. If you want your guests to feel that they are being well looked after this is really is the place for you.

So I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Sheene Mill, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xxzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

We stayed at The Sheen, as we wanted to be close to Cambridge, yet in a nice quiet rural / village atmosphere. The Sheen exceeded our expectations in most ways.
Our room, the David Emanuel room was very nice. A spacious room with beautiful decor ( designed by David Emanuel). The Food would have to rate as first class with it being such a high standard in both the quality of its cooking and it's presentation.
The staff made us feel very welcome, especially John (from the kitchen) who all helped to make our stay so memorable. Thank you all for such a pleasant stay.
Our only negative comment is due to the Hotel adding an "optional 'Service Fee' of 10% to the Restaurant fee........this has taken the shine off what was an awesome stay.
I found this to be extremely 'cheeky' for the establishment ( any establishment) to assume that I would pay a tip and automatically add this to my bill.
I had these ( one for each nights meals) removed and suggested to the Receptionist ( who was one of the staff who gave us exceptional service during our stay ) that I had intended to tip because we had had such a pleasant stay....and this tip I would have offered to the staff directly, not to be added to an overall bill that may or may not reach those who I actually wanted it to.
I also may have wanted to give more or less than a 10% tip to various members due to the amount of Service / contact we had with each individual.....regardless, it should be for the guest to decide whether or not to tip...not for it to be automatically add / assumed.
I appreciate that adding it to the bill is an easier method to pay....and this should be offered should the customer wish to tip, again not automatically add.
For us, this took the shine off what was otherwise a wonderful stay, in a wonderful Hotel, in a wonderful village......and we will try to book in again when we next visit the UK.

Room Tip: Check your bill for 'optional' fees
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We stayed at Sheen Mill in June 2014. The hotel is a quaint English country style hotel with a stream and ducks/swans. The staff are very friendly and on a lovely summers day it was very picturesque. We are at a wedding (not at Sheen Mill) so had a quick drink there before heading to the wedding. We asked for some bar snacks and crisps and were given 2 small bowls (about 10cm in diameter) of crisps, I am presumed handmade crisps, some were not crunchy but later found out from our bill they were £1.50 a bowl. The crisps were very average and at that price would have preferred a bag of Kettle crisps or similar! The staff leave at 1am so there is no room service or bar opened, plus there are 2 bottles of water/tea coffee in the room and no mini bar. So with no mini bar/hotel closes and no staff then you have to wait till breakfast for any food or additional water. The rooms however need seriously updated, it was like staying in an elderly persons room, tiny bathroom, dark, avocado bathroom suite, slightly fraying carpet, no aircon (however there was a fan in the cupboard. There was a dressing table with mirror and hairdryer which gave put lets watts then the fan. I tried to plug my own hair styling appliances in near the mirror however there was no plug sockets nearby and their hairdryer plug socket was behind a fixed partition. The bed however was very big and comfortable. Would I go back? yes for lunch, no to staying overnight.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank misskh75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Just a note to thank you and your ‘team’ for a very pleasant lunch yesterday, good food and good, friendly service and a delightful ambience.
Just a note to thank you and your ‘team’ for a very pleasant lunch yesterday, good food and good, friendly service and a delightful ambience.
Well it had to be 200 minimum!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Procter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

stayed at Sheene Mill for a wedding celebration, lovely location overlooking a large lake, food was very good, friendly staff. we stayed overnight, as did a lot of the other guests, only thing the room we had at the top of the hotel, which had great view, had no stand up shower only a hand shower head over the bath. But we had a really nice time. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank allyabbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourn
12.5 mi away
Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection
6.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10
9.7 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
Poets House
Poets House
#1 of 4 in Ely
633 reviews
10.0 mi away
The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel
9.4 mi away
Travelodge Cambridge Fourwentways
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheene Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheene Mill

Address: 37-39 Station Road, Melbourn SG8 6DX, England (Formerly The Sheene Mill Restaurant & Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Melbourn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Melbourn
Price Range: $105 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheene Mill 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in an idyllic location, this Grade 2 listed mill is a superb spot to enjoy a Romantic Break, a Wedding, a Birthday Celebration or any event you can think of! Our strong kitchen team use only the finest seasonal produce, sourced locally to create genuinely imaginative modern dishes that delight and inspire. The eloquent food is matched perfectly by the attentive staff. Always on hand to help in any way possible, the Sheene Mill staff pride themselves in offering the highest standard of service throughout the bar and restaurant. Sheene Mill offers its guests the choice of nine bedrooms, each with en-suite facilities. Each room is individually designed and complements the original features of the building, all with views of the hotel grounds and tranquil mill pond, creating an atmosphere of relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sheene Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheene Mill Hotel And Restaurant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing