We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sheene Mill
Nearby Hotels
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Helen Hotel(Cambridge)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$65
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$131
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Sorrento Hotel(Cambridge)
$155
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Centennial Hotel(Cambridge)
$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lensfield(Cambridge)
$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$251
$241
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$205
$195
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Tamburlaine(Cambridge)
$198
$155
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (287)
Filter reviews
287 results
Traveler rating
172
52
32
18
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
172
52
32
18
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmagical weddingwedding coordinatorstunning venuewedding venuebirthday lunchbridal suitecooked to perfectionafternoon teathe riverreception areacomfy bedsingle roomemmaserenamillpondconservatoryroyston
Filter
Updating list...
251 - 256 of 287 reviews
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Firstly my Sat Nav took me to the next Village and I used the Post Code!, I blame BMW for that and not the hotel. Incidentally the receptionist was brilliant as she talked me through on the phone and I finally found the hotel.
Checked in about 11:30am and the Receptionist showed us to our room. First impressions, not good, the room was very dated and the bed was hard as nails. The bathroom was very small, the shower didn't have a great deal of power but this is an old property so it wasn't the end of the world. Anyway quick change and down to the bar to meet all our other friends who had booked the other 8 rooms. First pint was poor so swapped to bottles, Stella was 6 months out of date. We advised the Bar Manager who kindly offered us a Peroni as an alternative and said he wouldn't charge us for the Peroni, we did laugh, did he think we'd pay for it?

Didn't sleep too well in hard bed, pillows were also very hard. The radiators made a lot of noise about 6am but at least we were warm.

Breakfast was very good so can't complain here and the general service at the hotel was good. To be honest all our party had similar thoughts to mine, although 1 room had a water bed, that could have been fun.

So in summary, not worth the £100 a night, more like £60.

Room Tip: Ask for the water bed room
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Essexbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheenemillreception, Owner at Sheene Mill, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

We are the new owners of The Sheene Mill since 2/1/2013 and we are dedicated to transforming the building back to its former glory.

We are really sorry to hear that your stay wasn't as fantastic as we would expect. We have watched the building decline over the years as we live locally. Now we have the opportunity to fix all the things that were done wrong in the past... and we have already done a great deal in a short space.

I really hope that you can come and try us again.

Regards

Serena & Jordan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We got married on 21 April 2012 at the Sheene Mill, I cannot begin to tell you how perfect it was. From the moment we looked round, the Mill's wedding co-ordinators, Emma and Hope, were there to take care of every detail. Absolutely nothing was overlooked and the staff could not have been more accommodating to make sure we had the most special wedding day that was exactly as we wanted it.

Their help and experience was absolutely invaluable and made it so enjoyable to plan our wedding with them. Despite having a baby between when we booked and our wedding day, Emma was on the end of our every email and didn't give us the chance to get stressed about anything.

Unfortunately we are in a drought and the river is almost completely dry but the setting, despite this, is absolutely beautiful, this is just one of its many fantastic features which include, but are not limited to, the garden, the conservatory, the beautiful fireplace off the reception area, and the stunning individually designed rooms (the bridal suit was designed by Princess Diana's wedding dress designer and is beautiful). Please believe me when I say letting the temporary drying of the river impact your decision of whether or not to stay or book a wedding here is really a loss for you. Lets face it the river drying up is as a result of weather, and if such a superficial thing as not having the right whether is going to spoil the best day of your life perhaps your reasons for getting married are all wrong!

I must also say that the food is outstanding and for exclusive use of the hotel the price per head is definitely worth the money. Our guests commented on so many occasions about how fantastic it was and the fact that they had a choice for every course.

We, the new Mr and Mrs Porter, would like once again to thank everyone at Sheene Mill for helping us to enjoy the most special day of our lives with our friends and family.

Daniel and Rebecca Porter.

xxxxx

ps we will be back for our anniversary.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Daniel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Its not the special place it could be, but its really friendly, the food is good (but not brilliant) and the rooms are acceptable. I agree with other reviewers that some investment here could pay dividends. I've stayed twice and would go back, but would like a nicer bathroom (in both rooms have felt small and dated). Location is a little away from Cambridge but quiet and fine if you have a car with you.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edw0rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2012

the hotel's website photos looked fabulous but the reality was a a hotel looking a little run down and tired, although nothing that some thought and a lick of paint with attention to the finish couldn't fix. Plus points: the staff were lovely and friendly, the lit open fires were in the bar and restaurant were fantastic, the food was inventive and interesting, dinner service was superb, fresh fruit salad at breakfast is always great. Unfortunately, due to water shortages, the Mill's river water supply has been diverted away from them, hence the lack of a beautiful stretch of water as in the photos. On the downsides - we always ask for a a room in a "quiet part of the hotel" explaining that one of the joys of staying away from London is to be away from as much noise as possible. It's interesting what you get. On this occasion, we were put up in the eaves out of the way but the noise from the kitchen extractor fan, which was on all evening and from 7.30am the next day was incredibly loud and disturbing, the stairwell up to our room was vibrating from the noise. The room itself was small but functional, although we had to move furniture out of the way in order to plug the kettle in on the floor and the shower cubicle (no bath) was tiny.

Room Tip: Avoid room 5 unless you like the sound of kitchen extractor fans.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny19620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheenemillreception, Owner at Sheene Mill, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

We are the new owners of The Sheene Mill since 2/1/2013 and we are dedicated to transforming the building back to its former glory.

We are really sorry to hear that your stay wasn't as fantastic as we would expect. We have watched the building decline over the years as we live locally. Now we have the opportunity to fix all the things that were done wrong in the past... and we have already done a great deal in a short space.

I really hope that you can come and try us again.

Regards

Serena & Jordan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2012

This was our first romantic night away since our second child, so my Wife booked this romantic night away via their web-site. What a disappointmen!! The beautiful river at the back of the hotel has gone,, but no mention of this when we booked. Staff were disinterested. Room was poor quality. Food over-priced. Whole place lacked atmosphere. Best thing was my Wife still looks hot after 2 children & knows how to have a good time. Will not recommend to others.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Degsy31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews