We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Review Highlights
Great animal care

Just spent a half day at this lovely little zoo where animals come first and so it should,we... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
peterlV6610NG
,
Debenham, United Kingdom
Tranquil setting

This is a small but varied zoo with lots to amuse children. Starts with bouncy castles in the... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
CambridgeCat
,
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Read all 775 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Linton
from $44.18
More Info
from $22.41
More Info
from $14.08
More Info
from $15.37
More Info
Reviews (775)
Filter reviews
775 results
Traveler rating
514
136
59
36
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
514
136
59
36
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lemur experience big cats snow leopard conservation work giant tortoises endangered species natural environment bouncy castle money goes play area wide variety of animals breeding centre guinea pigs per adult my mum reptile house great afternoon
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 775 reviews
Reviewed October 31, 2018

As the information says:"It a wildlife breeding centre for endangered species not an entertainment centre" It is a great place to visit, the animal details on the cages was concise and very informative. The staff we met were engaging informative and totally at one with the animals. The tropical plants gave the impression of being in the jungle even though the temperature on our visit did not.
On a cold day the well priced lunch was very delicious and warming, the service was likewise. If we lived nearer we would be regular visitors.

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2018

As other reviewers have said, the zoo is run down and some of the poor animals do not have enough space, like the snow leopard and one of the other large cats who were just pacing up and down all the time, it was heartbreaking to see. We visited here as it was cheaper than others but maybe they should charge a bit more and sort the zoo and enclosures etc out. Lunch was not good either, although on first glance the menu looked great with a good choice, but the food itself was a different storey! Toasted sandwich was very greasy tasting, homemade veg soup - watery and hard veg, bacon sandwich had an odd taste and fish finger sandwich was about 2 fish fingers! Sorry, don't think we will be taking the family back there.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank AnnieMHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2018

Linton Zoo is one of my favourite places. i have been here many times over the last 30 years and it never lets me down. It is worth noting that the zoo is focused on breeding endangered animals, where you might go round one zoo that is out to exploit animals for money you can see that the focus here is on the animals and this is even more evident if you speak to any of the zoo keepers. it is not the biggest zoo in the country you do however have a great selection of animals, that seem to be doing very well as evidenced by the amount of young that have been born there over the years.

when i went last week i got to go on the lemur experience which was taken by John who was exceptionally knowledgeable and who came across with a genuine love of the animals in his care. the Lemurs were amazing and being able to get so close was a very unique experience. i would highly recommend the experience but it should be taken into account that these are animals and as such have their own minds, many of the lemurs are very calm and are just interested in the fruit you are given to feed. there are a couple though that are a little more lively so if you are not comfortable being jumped off of or on to then it perhaps is not for yourself.

its also worth thinking about what the weather is like when you are going to visit, many of the paths are quite simple, made from dirt so trying to drag a push chair round when its pouring with rain is going to make your visit a little unpleasant. as the zoo recommends it is best to walk round a couple of times as the animals have their own routines and are not always visible all the time.

I will definitely come back to this zoo and i hope they keep up the excellent work that they do.

Date of experience: October 2018
2  Thank L7617WXjohng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2018

Visited Linton Zoo yesterday with our two granddaughters aged 8 and 5. Great little zoo for younger children and very reasonable entry at £10 per adult and £7.50 per child. The girls loved getting up close to so many of the animals, especially the lions! Not a whole day outing but perfect to spend an hour or two. Liked the fact that you paid as you entered the site (although this did cause tailbacks onto the road with cars queuing to get in) and then you could go back and forward from the enclosures to the car park and toilets as much as you needed to. Only downside to the day was the cafe - any orders for hot food took far too long to be served. Luckily for us our girls were hungry early so we went for lunch just before twelve when it was quiet but even so we had to wait twenty minutes for a cheese toastie and a sausage and bacon sandwich. I'm sure we will visit this lovely zoo again now we have discovered it, but will definitely take a packed lunch next time.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank jillym88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2018 via mobile

We visited for my sons 4th birthday, along with our 2yr old, and loved every second! It’s very well laid out, small enough to be intimate but enough to entertain the kids for half a day. The lions & tiger were simply amazing and SO close!!! Everywhere was incredibly clean albeit very muddy! Facilities, such as the cafe, were not great but perfectly acceptable! Perfect zoo for the smaller children!

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank 976vickyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews